2004 Mitsubishi Colt RG 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Too expensive to fix

Faults:

Automatic CVT transmission is gone just outside warranty. $5430 for a new transmission only + fitting.

General Comments:

A great car. Maybe the manual is better. Stay away from CVT and Mitsubishi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2011

2004 Mitsubishi Colt 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Really disappointing

Faults:

Had Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) replaced by dealer under warranty. Now the car is out of warranty and it needs replacing again.

Drivers seat has hole in fabric where the cushioning did not meet the plastic frame. Seats are extremely uncomfortable.

Suspension is not very robust, on second set of shock absorbers and needs another set already.

Design and positioning of front headlamp bulbs is terrible, you have to reach under the front wheels into a cavity inside the wheel well to gain access.

Gear box makes loud whining noise in 2nd and 3rd gear.

General Comments:

On the plus side, the 1.1 engine is amazing and loves to be revved up. Unfortunately you have to stop and the brakes are a big let down.

The quality of the plastics is a bit on the cheap side, with the dash dot pattern that drives you crazy. That's if you can cope with the buzzing and creaking noise coming from the areas where the dash meets the windshield pillars.

The dash audio/trip info console is extremely faint, and impossible to see in any daylight driving conditions.

The car is extremely uncomfortable to drive, and I can barely walk when I get out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2009

12th Jan 2012, 19:28

I agree 100% about the Mitsubishi Colt.

I have the same car, same year, and the downside of the car you mentioned is similarly bad; it's the same in my car.

Amazing is the fact the throttle position sensor and the crappy suspension seem to be Achilles heels of this car.

If I could get rid of the car, I would...

13th Jul 2012, 20:00

I also own a 2004 Mitsubishi Colt, and have identical problems.

I find it amazing that a car can be so poorly designed that it needs a throttle position sensor every 2-3 years.

I also find it amazing that common sense areas that should of been discovered in the car's design, did not get sorted before production, like the faint, barely readable radio controls, and the seats with tissue thin fabric and little or no padding, covering sharp pieces of plastic and metal.

2004 Mitsubishi Colt Inform Extra Pack AMT allshift 1.3 from Greece

Summary:

Very Good

Faults:

No problems yet.

General Comments:

Very nice car. It feels like you drive a bigger car, you cannot possibly imagine it is 3.87 meters long.

Also it gives you the impression of being a well built car - made to last.

The engine gives enough power while the consumption is OK. Haven't test it with the air condition on yet.

It came with CD and 4 speakers - very nice indeed.

Best thing is the Allshift serial gearbox - with a cost of 800 extra euro, the easiest car to drive.

The only problem is the engine noise, which should be less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

2004 Mitsubishi Colt Equippe 1.17 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent 2 adult car with some space for others if required

Faults:

Front wheels required adjustment on delivery as the car pulled to the left, a fault quickly fixed by the dealer, although it did require booking a maintenance appointment.

General Comments:

Mitsubishi Colt 'Equippe' 1.17, three cylinders, it's a big car inside, plenty of room for 2 adults and two teenagers. The car appears bigger than some other small cars due to the higher roof line.

For a small engine it has a distinctive roaring when revving, 3000 to 4000revs and the car will zip along nicely however it does not like to be pushed.

The seats are harder than average they seem to exacerbate the bumps from the road surface. Rear seat passengers can complain of an uncomfortable ride with noticeable side to side leaning on country roads.

Fuel consumption average over 2500 miles so far is 46 miles per gallon, which includes some distance driving, being careful with the throttle can give amazingly frugal consumption.

Large front windscreen pillars cause some difficulty when turning and exiting a junction, looking to the drivers offside can be really annoying.

The small boot holds quite a lot with a bit of care in item placement, even took a vacuum cleaner box without adjusting the rear seats.

Additional non standard parts accessories can be expensive.

Overall the build quality is good for a small car, it has presence on the road and can be easily seen in a car park as it sits higher than most saloons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

17th Aug 2006, 14:17

Excellent review. I've been looking at the Honda Jazz, and the Colt had eluded me. I have a Corsa which has been a reasonable workhorse, but not quite big enough for the odd trip when I have to ferry fussy aged old ladies around. I may well give the Colt a look after reading your review.

25th Nov 2009, 16:18

Please... Please don't include the Colt on your short list of cars. Your initial thought to get a Honda Jazz is your vastly superior best bet. I own a Colt and I wish I had got the Honda Jazz... I can't think of a better way to hear the truth than from a owner of a car you're considering. Steer Clear!!

13th Jul 2012, 20:05

I couldn't agree more... This "Japanese" car (actually produced in the Netherlands) is vastly inferior to the likes of Honda and Toyota.

Do yourself a big favor and steer clear of all Mitsubishi's... Honda and Toyota's are by far the best designed and built cars in the world.

Period.