1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75983 miles
Most recent distance81153 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Clutch plate wore out at 76100 miles.

Fuel Pump disintegrated around 77000 miles a long with the timing belt.

Roof lining fabric glue dissolved.

I had to replace the driver's door handle because the plastic cracked during the winter.

General Comments:

This car was one of the best I've ever driven. It is quick and handles extremely well. The gearing was also very good. First could hit 45 and second could hit 75! Not your typical import.

This car was very reliably and never left me hoping that it would stop. I picked it up for $1300 pretty much a steal in my opinion. I knew the timing belt and clutch needed to be replaced when I purchased it.

The interior and exterior were flawless and there was no rust. For being a Michigan car that's quite an accomplishment.

The only reason I stopped driving the car was because I got rear ended by a Buick going 40mph on ice. The whole back end crushed in and it's pretty much totaled. Nothing happened to the Buick, GM designed those like tanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

24th Jan 2006, 20:05

"First could hit 45 and second could hit 75!"

YEAH RIGHT! I Don't THINK SO.

26th Jan 2006, 11:25

Sorry I overexagerated it was more like 40 and 70.

18th Apr 2006, 12:44

I still think you might be lying a bit...I'd give it 35 ish for 1st gear. They are really nice little cars though.

25th Jul 2009, 02:29

It does do 40ish in first, and second at least 70, but in third I maxed mine out at 102, so yeah definitely can do it... bad ass car.

I am running 17psi on a stock 4g63 90 Eclipse no upgrades... if you need any help email me at chipfsf11@yahoo.com

11th Jan 2010, 07:15

Damn, man 17 PSI. Stock? Must have good internals.

1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 1.8 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

Good car if you want to put the money into it

Faults:

Computer and Distributor both went out at the same time $580.

Lash Adjusters went bad $180.

Valve Guides and seals went bad.

Timing and Balance Shaft Belt broke $80.

Fuel Pump Relay went bad $100.

CV Joints $250.

General Comments:

After the $1200 I put into the car to fix all the things that went wrong I really have no complaints. The car is pretty fast for only having 98 horsepower. I have had it at 135mph and the front end started shaking real bad. The car gets awesome gas mileage 27-36 depending on how you drive it.

My only complaint with the 1.8L is that there isn't much that you can do to the engine other than exhaust and things like that.

The 2.0L have plenty more room to work with as in turbos and all wheel drive. I got the car for free so the 1200 I put into it can be considered at payment for Price.

All in all if you are going to buy the car be weary of the 1.8L have the computer and the emissions checked before you get serious about buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

This car is awesome

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with this car is the transmission doesn't seem to like you to shift into first when coming to a stop sign or such. You have to come to a complete stop then shift, which is kind of a pain when soon as your slowing down and their taking off at a green light you have to start in second, or stop and shift to first.

General Comments:

This car is a great car for speed and style.. This car can look like a crazy drag car and its handling is perfect. I was doing 115 down my road and a deer ran in front of me and I was able to slide around, but under complete control with that all wheel drive on it (i don't recommend doing those speeds though).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

26th Jan 2006, 11:33

Mine had the same problem with not likeing to shift into first. I still haven't been able to figure it out, the best I do is just put it in Neutral for a bit and repress the clutch, this has worked for me. I also liked your deer story.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 20 reviews