1992 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired122333 miles
Most recent distance122353 miles

Summary:

High performance great buy

Faults:

I haven't owned it long enough, but the a/c is not working.

General Comments:

This car handles awesome, extremly fun to drive, fast, and a very good looker. The factory speakers are not bad at all, but I plan on buying a great sound system for it, and some nice rims.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

1992 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Low priced, sporty, fast and a bargain for those with a tight wallet

Faults:

I had to replace the radiator a month after I bought the car.

General Comments:

I got the car from my uncle who kept the car in really nice shape. He made it a habit to change the oil every 3K miles. The only money put into it besides the radiator was for oil. This car is fast too. The exhaust is loud and deep around 3,000 RPM and chicks love it. The car corners like no other I've owned and is excellent on gas milage. I wish my car didn't have so many miles on it but the cars looks and speed make it worth it.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a sporty car for not a whole lot of money. I am in the process of fixing it up with after-market goodies to add some more value to it and keep me glued to the seat when I race on the street.

I would take this car over a V6 mustang any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

27th Jun 2004, 17:58

Hell yeah dude it will kill a mustang any day.

1992 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Turbo 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Really quick, worth every dime!

Faults:

About the only problem that I have had with this car is that it can be so much fun to drive sometimes!

General Comments:

This car is the bomb, it's quick and can beat pretty much anything on the road. With all the miles that it has it is still running like a beast and is really quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

9th Sep 2001, 23:09

Eclipses are the fastest cars, I have one that beats v8 mustangs and all z'cars.

25th Sep 2001, 16:55

There will always be something faster.

3rd Oct 2001, 19:39

How can a car with ~200 flywheel h.p. beat a z-28, with over 300 hp at the rear wheels? Please don't start with the weight issue, because the Mustangs and Camaros WILL still toast an Eclipse.

1992 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 DOHC (non-turbo) from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC (non-turbo) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Only a matter of time before you MUST rebuild the engine

Faults:

Burns oil. Massive oil smoke clouds when taking off from a start. Seals are almost guaranteed to go bad on these cars. Every other one I've seen on the road also burns oil. This means major engine work.

The sun visor has snapped off, another common thing.

Shifter is terrible when cold. Reverse is impossible to find.

Clutch grabs instantly, causes grindage unless slammed against the fire wall.

Antenna jammed.

Paint fading.

General Comments:

The stock stereo is garbage.

All the problems I listed seem to be common as I've researched them and this car.

I'd never think a Japanese company like Mitsubishi would make something so determined to go bad under 100K miles. Maybe the new Eclipse engines are better. I won't take my chances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2000

12th Dec 2000, 15:27

That's odd. You had to rebuild the engine? And, every other one on the road burns oil? How do you know that they burn oil? If you see black-gray smoke coming from them, that's normal for a turbo charged car.

I'm not sure how you blew the engine in yours. I had a 90 Laser (Turbo, but same engine) and beat on it EVERY day and never had an oil consumption problem. I now have a 95 Eclipse GSX with the same motor. No problems - and I beat on it as well. Considering the engines from the turbo and non-turbo cars are the same, I'm not sure how you could break it. Perhaps it was poor maintenance. Oil does need to be changed.

These engines are rock solid and other causes for your problems should be looked at.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews