1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73650 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Cars great!, I can beat V6 mustangs stock!

Faults:

Power steering belt snapped at 72,500 miles.

Transmission blew at 72,000 miles.

Brakes squeak, due to water/dirt.

General Comments:

Car is excellent, though I'd rather have the turbo, this car has a lot of modifications you can due at a reasonably cheap price, such as

-Header-$160

-Lowering Springs-$140

-Cool air intake-$130

-Performance muffler-$150.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

An incredible looking, quick, and comfortable car

Faults:

Gasket leak at 50,000 miles.

Windows rattle unless window is all the way up or all the way down.

General Comments:

Extremely quick for being a non-turbo RS model.

Very comfortable.

Runs great, has only been in the shop once.

16 gallon gas tank, gets about 23 miles to the gallon in city miles.

Great looking car, fun and easy to fix up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Spyder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94 miles
Most recent distance126500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Fabulous!

Faults:

The convertible top leaks, but it is my understanding that most soft tops leak over time.

General Comments:

The original brakes lasted for 95,000 miles.

The timing belt lasted for 100,000 miles.

I got 75,000 miles out of the original tires.

If you really know how to drive a stick-shift, you can get quite a performance out of the car, even though it is low on horsepower.

The car handles wonderfully in any weather, especially snow.

As a petite person, the car fits me perfectly and is very comfortable. All of the buttons are well within reach.

The car attracts a lot of attention, especially from guys. Quite a head-turner.

After nearly six years of ownership, numerous rides cross-country, and use for a traveling sales job, the car has only been in the shop twice (brakes and timing belt) and has only cost me about $1000 in maintenance over the years.

This was my first car, after years of using my parent's car, and it was the best investment I've made thus far. The car is dependable, peppy, and fun, especially in the summer when I can put the top down and cruise to the beach.

126,500 miles and going strong!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A fun project car

Faults:

The engine went out of it at 80k miles.

Both of the door handles came off.

The drivers side door hyper-extended and bent the support beam. Now the door sags.

The trunk will not open from inside the car.

General Comments:

All things considered, the car drives well,and after a lot of work, I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GS 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

An enjoyable car with designed in flaws

Faults:

Snapped balance shaft belt took out the crankshaft sensor. Replaced both plus timing and accessory belts. This is the only mechanical difficulty.

Other problems: top jamming causing motors to blow out, door handle broke, front motor mount cracked. Front bumper too low... cracks on parking lot dividers. Seats hard to clean.

General Comments:

I'm happy with 30K miles with no mechanical breakdown until now, but problems with top and body parts are constant annoyances. I'll keep the car, but would not buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

4th Feb 2004, 07:36

I purchased an Eclipse Spyder myself, and I think this car owner gives the car a bit of a bad name! The car is designed to be a "low rider", and the front bumper will not crack unless you continue to drive onto the parking lot dividers and curbs continuously. I myself think these cars are great, and the upkeep is low in cost. There is very little mechanical failure, and I haven't experienced any problems with the body. You just have to know how to be careful of such an extremely low car. These cars are excellent, and I would recommend them to anyone. I give Mitsubishi an "A".

20th Jul 2004, 10:01

I owned a 1999 eclipse gs (it got totaled by a drunk driver on July 4th 2004). The car was lowered 2 3/4 inches and I had some problems with steep inclines, but even with all the abuse the front bumper took it never cracked. I am now looking into buying a 1999 eclipse gs spyder, simply because my first eclipse put such a good impression on me with the great performance in all conditions. This is truly a car for enthusiasts only (clearly not a grocery getter like some Honda cars).

2nd Sep 2004, 10:03

I own a 1999 Spyder GS, I was happy with it until last year, the ground effects on the passenger side cracked and then the clips started to fall out, the door handle broke when I pulled it to open the door, the convertible top leaks on driver's side when it rains.

This car is slowly falling apart. I will never buy another Mitsubishi again!!

22nd Nov 2004, 09:24

Top of the car leaks when it rains creating a swimming pool in the car. This is the only problem I have with my car, but it is SUPPOSED to get fixed today. We will see, in general though I like the car.

7th Mar 2005, 10:38

I own a 1998 Eclipse Spyder and with 148k on it its still going as strong as day 1. Very few issues with it. For some reason I go through front brake rotors yet even after having the calipers checked 3 times with no issues found it still seems to wear them down. No leaks and the engine and tranny are VERY strong still. I would DEFINITELY recommend this car!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews