1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance60365 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A high-matiance great-potential traction-addicting speed-pleasing wallet-busting beauty.. GO 1997+

Faults:

Thought I bought a great car, it was a true gem when purchased and I treat my cars like gold.

57000 miles - passenger wheel bearing

57000 miles - drivers axle

57000 miles - clutch pedal

59000 miles - clutch slave cylinder

60000 miles - AWD transmission clicking (needs rebuild - but still drives OK)

60000 miles - new rear rotors and pads (brakes squeak loud, constantly)

60000 miles - sunroof rattles and would need new tracks to fix, but still works OK.

General Comments:

Little odds and ends over my 97' Honda Civic EX coupe...

Eclipse windows rattle

Eclipse sunroof rattles

Long trips not easy on the body

Seats wear easily

Rattles all over the car in general

EATS OIL

EATS GAS.

The only good thing about this car is the ability to attract attention and go fast (even in the rain the traction is great)

Would I buy again?

I would only if I could have been the first owner back in 1998 when the car came off the lot...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

24th Mar 2008, 13:33

I fully agree!

Owned a 98 GST and the thing was a piece of...

Looked great/ran fast/chick magnet When it wasn't in the shop busting the wallet or sitting dead in the driveway.

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Best car in the world

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, the car is amazingly reliable.

General Comments:

I love every thing about this car, it handles great, it has power, it looks really sporty and its pretty inexpensive, too. I love this car. This is my second eclipse and this will most likely be the only kind of car I will ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Spyder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired107 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Looks and feels great, but you'll pay for it..

Faults:

My side mirror fell off 3 times.

My convertible top leaks, seems to be common problem.

My factory radio died at 30,000miles.

My tweeters never worked.

My power antenna stopped working at 31000 miles.

My convertible top frame broke at 38000miles.

My clutch feels sticky when cold and recently it begun to get completely stuck in certain gears.

My power window/lock control panel fell into the door.

There's a bubble in my dash board.

General Comments:

The car looks great, feels great. I've never had any trouble with the power train.

But all other little things keeps breaking. It's a pain to get a dealer to fix things under warranty.

Many things broke right after bumper to bumper warranty ran out, almost like clock work.

Don't buy this car, if you want it lease the thing for less than 3 years (length of bumper to bumper warranty.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

24th Feb 2005, 23:34

Check the clutch line for the problem with getting stuck in 1st gear, and cheak the break fluid.

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Spyder 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

All looks with minimal power

Faults:

Roof leaks excessively when raining even though I have filled a lot of it with weatherstripping.

Rotors have warped twice now.

Door handle broke.

General Comments:

The car is beautiful to look at, but constructed very cheaply.

The 2.4 engine is highly underpowered.

Do not race anyone with this vehicle, you will lose!

If you're into performance definitely go with the turbo model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

7th Mar 2004, 16:20

Dude, you said not to race anybody because you will loose... you bought an automatic eclipse! what do you expect. I bought a 5spd and I've beaten civics, probes, V6 mustangs and so on. Either it's the fact you got an automatic or you just can't drive.

6th Sep 2004, 17:32

I agree with the last comment!! I just bought a 5 spd standard also and it has great punch. Its not a Ferrari, but you didn't pay for one either.

12th Mar 2005, 02:29

I recently bought a 1998 eclipse spyder. It just had a cold air intake put in, upgraded computer chip, 2 inch lowering springs, sway bar, and a sport clutch. The car is slow? I think not!

30th Oct 2011, 21:24

I'd agree, don't race anyone! I tried racing a 91 Civic; ouch, I got spanked!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews