1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GST turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

A high performance vehicle worth your $

Faults:

It was recalled about a year ago. Other than that nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

It is a quick car. Good handling and has been reliable so far. Don't really like the body style of the new ones though. Back seats could use some lighting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

A speedy sleeper

Faults:

Front Control Arm bushings dried out and needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This truly is a great beginner's sports car with a dependable engine that catapults you down the highway effortlessly.

There is some doubt in its excessive body roll when traveling at high speeds around a corner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Great car if you like to sit in the shop

Faults:

Windows rattle, battery had to be replace twice, water pump, sunroof shade broke at 36200 and they would not cover it.

A/C went out at 50,000, and you have to replace brakes every 20,000 and turn the rotors.

The car has been taken to the shop 4 times for leaking anti-freeze, and they have still failed to fix it.

Other than that, it has been a great car.

General Comments:

Needs a little work on acceleration, but hey, I could have bought the turbo.

It's one of the best handling cars I have ever owned.

I love the looks that I get in this car. I am not sure if they are looking at me or the car; pretty sure it's the car.

I don't think I would buy another one, due to all the repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

3rd Sep 2002, 16:49

I just got be used 98 Eclipse Spyder this past June. So far, I haven't had any problems, other than leaking when I open the door when its raining. That's not a big deal to me though. I am wondering if I should get new brakes.. I kind of get a shaking feeling when I slow down. Is this normal for eclipses or is it a sign that I need some new ones? I took my car when I first got it and the mechanic said I had about 60% left on my brakes. That just worries me that you said you had to have new ones every 20k miles!! email me please!

Asearchingsoul1@hotmail.com.

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 Non- turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Non- turbo Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance54900 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great machine

Faults:

I've had no no problems with this car at all. My shifting knob is a little tough, but I replaced that with a new one any ways.

General Comments:

This is a great as a stock every day car, or with a little performance work, a great show/track car. I love this vehicle, I even named it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.0 420A DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 2.0 420A DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A dream!

Faults:

Really low to the ground... scrapes.

General Comments:

I absolutely think this car was one of the best cars I have ever purchased! I haven't had one problem with this car and if you put a little extra money into this model, it can be a powerful little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

5th Feb 2002, 07:02

Like I always say, pure power, but don't get too comfortable in it=)

27th Feb 2002, 21:24

My parents recently purchased a used 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS. The reason my dad bought it was because it had absolutely no miles on it, and I guess he wanted me to have something to drive (he's got strict rules for it, trust me).

At first we didn't like the the TINY wheels and tires, so we found the 16 inch five spoke wheels at a salvage yard in New York. Let me tell you, the new wheels make the RS look like a new car.

We then got the side skirts from the Mitsubishi dealer (the service there was impeccable, I might add). So we had those installed.

Then came the Euro tail lights. Oh, baby, those things look good. The center piece is crap, so we kept the original center piece. We also installed a chin spoiler to go around the front of the car. Looks real good, I recommend it, just go to MachV.com, and they can hook you up (for 180.00).

The next thing that is coming are new fenders.

All in all, this car gets the looks, and it's become a part of the family now. Sorry for boring you with my life story. Hahaha...

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews