2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44400 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Beautiful and fast sports car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car as of yet.

General Comments:

Beautiful sports car and extremely fast. Very fun to drive in any kind of weather-however the interior can be very easily scratched. I traded in my 99 spyder (Which was an absolute nightmare) for this car and am very happy with my choice so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.4L Inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

Lance Armstrong riding a 500 pound bicycle

Faults:

Fowl stench from the catalytic converter is emitted once the engine is stressed.

Gas mileage keeps dropping.

The dashboard and console will rattled from lack of solid build and insulation.

General Comments:

Poor engine performance and very heavy curb weight as compared to Acura RSX, Toyota Celica, Honda Civic.

This car will get smoked by any sport compact car.

Very poor gas mileage for a four cylinder engine (20 mpg).

The exterior and interior are Ferrari F40 inspired, which is very good.

Due to the heavy built of the exterior, the car is virtually untouchable in fender-benders.

Very good safety rating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

17th Jul 2007, 12:05

This car gets 29 highway..

4th Jun 2008, 10:47

If you wanted better performance you should've gone with the GT. Gas mileage is gonna suck if you're constantly thrashing it.

23rd Mar 2009, 19:44

Your cataletic converter is going out, hence the foul smell and bad gas mileage. Gas mileage is great in the 4 banger of 2002. Get her changed and watch her go!

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance54500 miles

Summary:

A sleek sleeper

Faults:

I tried to install a push button starter and I engaged the starter kill switch. It cost $250 to get it fixed.

General Comments:

This car has great throtle response.

My friends complain about the minimal space in the rear seats.

I dislike the fact that it is front wheel drive.

Too many people think the new eclipse is a girl's car.

The Cockpit was designed very well.

I like the 7 speaker 210 watt sound system.

It can run with a Naturally Aspirated Toyota Supra.

It has the capability of running a 75 shot of nitrous oxide without any engine problems occurring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 11:14

I'm also trying to install a push button starter, did you ever get it installed? If so I need pointers on the wiring if you can help.. thanks in advance.

22nd Jul 2005, 00:15

Hey, don't be dissing the eclipse. Against a N/A supra he might be able to compete with it. Chances are that he'll stick with it to about 100 mph, after that the supra will pull away. Then again, sometimes it depends on the driver, if you have a sixteen year old kid who purchased a supra for his first car against someone that is around thirty years old, has lots of driving experience and knows some tricks, it can be a whole different ball game.

10th Aug 2005, 23:27

Uh Shifting cleanly and timing.

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Looks awesome, rides sweet, has enough power to work with

Faults:

Not a thing on this one, yet. Have a 2001 also and had some breaking problems with it, that plus the 2001 had been damaged underneath. But the 2002 is in perfect shape.

General Comments:

The 2002 GT I have is fully loaded to the max. In fact I'm taking stuff off the darn thing it has so many gadgets. Like the rear wind shield Wiper "which I don like the look of."

Compared to the 2001 they're almost look identical in looks. I'm not sure if it's standard, but on my 2001 I did not get Good Year tires. On my 2002 I did.

Also to compare the 2002 improves by being way more smooth. It may feel just a tad heavier than the 2001. But the 2002 GT also feels that much more comfortable and plush. Power wise they're about the same. Although the 2001 seems to have a more wicked hit in the upper RPMS the 2002 rolls stronger all the way threw the rpm range. Both Manual Transmissions can do about a 17 to as low as low 16's in a Quarter mile "depends on the day I guess???" And can get to speeds close to 170mph "some say over." So its NOT outlandish fast of the start. But can just keep on moving up the ladder while other competitors in its class fade off in the higher speeds. Its still fastest from about 40mph to 100mph. My 2001 one is faster now thou it is a tad tricked up, a tad :P. But were talking stock so. The 2002 Infinitie Stereo is just as great as ever, but now I have a 4 CD changer instead of a standard one "in the 2001" Its the best stock radio system I have ever herd. And will compete with most customized average kids pounding down the street LOL. Its comfortable sweet looking, and is a Honda beater, or will beat most cars in its class. And looks better doing it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23586 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

A real bang for your buck

Faults:

Until now nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car delivers a high dose of adrenalin and it's a thrill to drive. However there is little leg room for the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance6575 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A high performance import vehicle

Faults:

The sunroof kept shuttering every time I opened it.

General Comments:

This car is pretty fast, a Honda doesn't stand a chance against this car. I've taken the car at 135 miles an hour and its steady all the way. I got the premium package and there's only one way to describe it "comfortable".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2002

2002 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 6 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. It is perfect.

General Comments:

I love the car. I mean, I really LOVE this car. It delivers power smoothly, shifts like silk. The seats are the most comfortable I've ever experienced. The cockpit is very well designed, with functions and features located where they are easy to reach.

And...she's fast... pin you against the seat fast. The power seems completely effortless. No matter what the speed, the car just glides along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

17th Apr 2004, 23:32

I noticed you only have a few thousand miles on your 5 speed. Do you have the ticking, rattling sound by your left front tire?

19th Jul 2005, 13:28

Have you experienced any rattling, or any noises, for that matter coming from the vehicle? If so, what kind of noises and from where. Also, if you 'love' your vehicle so much, why is there a :| face as the rating... I'm not meaning to sound rude, just wondering.

29th Dec 2006, 15:37

Is the automatic as good as the manual? I can't drive a manual and I'm thinking of getting the automatic version. just curious, I guess.

22nd Apr 2007, 12:44

Does anyone know if this car is expensive to maintain?

11th May 2011, 11:50

I have one too. I love it. I couldn't drive a stick, but I still got it. The first owner turned it into a race car. It's really fun to drive.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews