2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT Spyder 3.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16316 miles
Most recent distance28972 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Sexy, stylish, fun, easy to drive!

Faults:

Has common problems with the headlight wiring harnesses melting, rattles among the convertible top, leakage from weather-stripping, and when coolant hoses get too old watch out for the return hose not getting hot... It means there is no coolant getting to the T-stat. This can result in a seized engine!

General Comments:

I like the overall feeling of the car. The problem is the feeling can get you in trouble, I was on the highway and screamed up to 120mph and didn't know I was going so fast until I was pulled over by a state trooper. Oops!

I would also like the car more if it had a little more power off the line. (going from a dead stop to pedal to the floor)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GTS from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Great to drive, but not sealed properly

Faults:

Leak in the floor due to a grommet. It took 2 dealers to find the leak after I gave them the full details. The car was musty after 2 months; first dealer could not find the problem. Now, my truck has a small leak.

Lighting in the car is poor. Only 2 small map lights.

Great to drive though. Fun with spectacular pickup.

General Comments:

Make sure you test your car after the first car wash and make sure it is dry under driver and passenger seats and in the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good performance bang for the buck

Faults:

Nothing, except my CD player skips during very hard cornering.

General Comments:

I use this car as a commuter, traveling 100 miles per day.

It is still fun to drive and the gas mileage is OK at reasonable speeds, but I usually drive 85-90 mph so it tends to get around 23-25 mpg.

The vehicle is relatively fast, but I have boosted performance by adding a cold air induction kit and a different muffler.

I think Mitsubishi should have designed the engine with more than 200 hp, it is a little low considering the aggressive look of the vehicle.

The car still gets looks, especially when I pass someone on the highway in excess of 120 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

30th Jul 2004, 13:37

I beg to differ with the previous comment. I've had my own Spyder Eclipse GT past 130 mph with no ill effects.

6th Aug 2004, 16:47

I beg to differ with the previous comment.. eclipses will never go 130 man.. dream on..

10th Aug 2004, 12:48

I've never had my Eclipse GT up to 120 or 130 but it can easily reach 110 with out any problems. That's also with out any type of modification just factory parts. So an Eclipse that's been enhanced for more performance could reach those speeds easily.

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Don't buy an RSX until you drive an Eclipse GT.

Faults:

Sunroof switch kept coming unhooked from the roof, but the dealer fixed it. It's perfect now.

Sloshing sound from the gas tank can be heard with full tank if it is quiet out and the stereo is off. Dealer said it is a recurring problem in the car that cannot b fixed, but there is nothing to worry about. It rarely bugs me.

General Comments:

Quite quick. Very solid. A bit light on the steering for my taste. Excellent ride quality, which costs a little in the handling. Great styling on my all black GT. Get the Mitsubishi paint protector thing; my car looks permawaxed; it's awesome!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT Premium 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34 kilometres
Most recent distance6100 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Great Fun to Drive

Faults:

The right mirror was scratched on delivery.

Wrong tire inflation sticker attached to door.

Speedo might be out (have been told its not)

General Comments:

The car so far has been excellent. It is a little pricey to run inside the city as they recommend premium gasoline for it and the gas mileage is not all that great.

Highway Mileage is similar to most V6's out there although the car should have been designed with a 6th gear for cruising as the RPM's sit around 2750 at 110 KM/H.

The Cars handling is feels a little heavy into the corners, but still seems to remain attached to the pavement. The suspension is a little limp at first, but in heavy cornering seems to stiffen up.

The interior comforts I found were designed around passenger and driver. The CD changer is easy to control and pretty basic. The rear seating is designed for small children/car seats as anyone that is over 5 feet will feel cramped. Road noise is relatively loud in the rear seat.

The stereo is very well designed and trunk space will hold three peoples camping gear (including coolers). I was thoroughly amazed at this aspect of the car.

Performance wise this car with the K&N filter will eat an Acura RSX for breakfast. (tested 4 times on a drag strip with 2 different RSX's). Having 90% of your torque at 2000 rpm also makes it very easy to spin your tires on painted lines and wet roads (traction control on a standard would have been nice).

My car has been excellent to drive. I have included some recommended upgrades below.

Recommended upgrades:

K&n Filter (the stock filter is like trying to pass air through a pillow)

18" Rims or Wider 17" rims for wider tires to help handling.

Stiffer springs/shocks (possible lowering kit)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews