1995 Mitsubishi FTO Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1995 Mitsubishi FTO GPX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A handsome black stallion with a throaty mivec engine

General Comments:

The GPX is faster than my 1994 Prelude Vtec 2.2 and corners on rails, but the Prelude is a high speed cruiser.

The GPX is a bit skittish in the wet.

The interior is so stripped out that it vibrates too much at high speed.

Boot space is excellent.

Unfortunately the importer performed a cheap conversion of mph fascia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

1995 Mitsubishi FTO GR 2.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Exclusive, reliable and fun... Try one

Faults:

Warped disks... My fault for trying too hard!

General Comments:

Head turner, I was looking for something unusual... I did not want the same as everyone else!

Front end lifts when you accelerate hard.

Looks fantastic, handles well particularly in the dry!

Headlights are not too bright.

If you want something exclusive, fun and reliable, get one!

The feedback from the owners club (www.ftooc.org) is fantastic, lots of help... Come and join us!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

1995 Mitsubishi FTO GPX Tiptronic 2.0 V6 24v Mivec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 24v Mivec Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX-7 Turbo II

Faults:

Rear anti-roll bar bushes (common fault).

Window rattles when down (common fault).

Aircon pump inoperable (must be run every week to keep lubricated).

General Comments:

Not as quick as the Evo's, but one of the best looking cars on the road today.

A real head turner with the balls to see off cars well out of it's league.

Apart from the Integra-R, the FTO must be the best front wheel drive performance car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

19th Jan 2006, 12:38

So you mean its the second best front wheel drive car in the world? Probably third after the Prelude, but the FTO is a hot performer.

9th Mar 2006, 04:19

Probably the forth best FWD really ;) we're overlooking the Puma Racing here. For my money it's arguably one of the two best FWD cars in the world, along with the Integra R. Couldn't say which is the best as I've only had a brief go in an Integra R, but people in the know rave about it alright! I'd rate the Prelude after those two, then the FTO. There's a couple of reviews on this site where a last revision Prelude owner says it doesn't corner as well as his old Puma did, and I'm guessing that was a standard spec Puma and not the ballz out Racing one. I've know a good few racing Puma owners and the Integra R keeps coming up as car they'd like to try one day ;)

8th Apr 2006, 03:04

Go the fto's expecially the GP X's engine. blows holes in anything including the Integra-R

FTO's all the way.

1995 Mitsubishi FTO GR 2.0 V6 24V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 24V Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica 2.0GR

Summary:

A car with stunning looks with performance to match, the Japanese do it again!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far.

I have added 17" wheels, new steering wheel, lowering springs, security arrangements(!), headlamp upgrades, de-badged.

General Comments:

The car looks twice as expensive than it actually is. Interior looks great too although it is built cheaply. The driver's seat does not even have a tilt mechanism to enable someone to get in the back - very annoying for even throwing the odd bag of shopping on the back seat!

Steering wheel adjusts up/down but not for reach.

My car, like many, is not fitted with ABS, in hindsight, I should have spent more time searching for one that did.

The handling is superb and the chassis is beautifully balanced. I have fitted lowering springs and 17" wheels to mine, and although the ride suffered slightly, the cornering is even sharper.

If buying one, look for as many 'extras' as possible. They were sold as a basic sports car with a very long options list. Look out for ABS, traction control, sunroof (very rare), rear windscreen wiper(!).

Choice of gearbox is personal taste - the tiptronic that I own is superb. Automatic for chugging about in town traffic, flick the gear stick over to enjoy clutchless manual changing... great!

Fuel consumption is surprisingly good, 30 mpg should be within reach if you are not a nutter!

You can also get great support, help, and advice from a good owners club and active internet chat forums.

If you are shy, buy another car - people have a tendency to point and stare...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

19th Oct 2002, 17:48

The parts are usually not anymore expensive than 'normal' car parts. e.g. I have just got replacement front brake pads were only £22. As the engine is almost the same as the Gallant, parts are easily obtained. However, many Mitsubishi dealers still won't willingly touch them because of their 'grey import' status. Look around for a decent FTO internet forum (JCars is good), which offers an excellent base of information and friendly advise.

Don't be put off an FTO because of a fear of expensive parts - it's a myth. Just be sure, as with any other car, you check it well before buying and you will be rewarded with something rather special...

Stephen.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews