1999 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1999 Mitsubishi Galant 2.0 from United Arab Emirates

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice car, just wish the spares where a little cheaper

Faults:

The problems started with a few vibrations, the source of which could not be determined. The switch console on the drivers side door started vibrating, followed by some vibration from the cassette player. The front axle broke down at 140,000 km and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Car is fun and comfortable to drive.

Love the shape.

Boot is quite spacious for a car of its size.

Spare parts are significantly higher compared to rivals and this gives it a bad resale value.

Love the looks of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES 2.4 four from Nigeria

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 four Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

A solid value family car, but with a real executive feel, and a good drive too

Faults:

Front brake discs were warped when bought; since replaced, but reading other reports I'll keep an eye on them.

Indicator stalk broke requiring replacement.

General Comments:

The Galant goes for around half the price of an equivalent Accord or Camry, yet this model at least (1999 on) seems to be at least as strong. (previous models are perceived as being somewhat flimsy ion the body department)

Styling is a strong point, hints of BMW 3 -series in the sharp boot lid and the squared, shallow front end/ grille. Chrome is minimal, but tastefully done, and the headlight assemblies are a delightful design detail. This above average classiness is repeated with the leather interior, which is nicely done. Given the high miles the interior has worn stunningly well, the leather is still soft and scuffing is minimal.

The 2.4 engine gives plenty of urge though economy is slightly disappointing- the high mileage and attendant engine wear may contribute to this. With the brakes fixed the car stops well too, whilst handling is undoubtedly compromised by the high profile tyres required to handle the potholes, but is still well above average for a family car with little sporting aspirations.

Overall this is a definite keeper, and makes upgrade to a true executive marque tough to justify unless you have money to burn or really do need that premium brand badge on the bonnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2005

23rd May 2008, 14:37

Still have the Galant, with around 152,000 on the clock now. The interior is holding up fine, except the steering wheel which is showing wear.

The car has taken two pretty big blows with minimal damage, the first hitting a block of concrete in the road which smashed the oil filter off & broke an engine mount, all repaired. the second was hitting a kerb full on at about 60 mph, enough to blow the tyre clean apart. No suspension damage.

The replacement disks have been fine.

Strong, strong car.

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance100250 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

I love my Mitsubishi more than any other vehicle that I have had

Faults:

Engine is ticking.

It is not due to needing an oil change or lack of oil.

Transmission slipping from 2nd to 3rd gear sometimes.

General Comments:

Has anyone else had these problems?

I would appreciate some feed back before I take this to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

25th Apr 2006, 11:51

I have a 1998 Galant that ticks as well. She also kicks hard going into 2. If I play with the gas a bit it shifts smooth.

12th May 2006, 07:27

The "tick", as a previous reader pointed out is probably the hydraulic lifters. This is a common problem in galants. Has affected mine for a couple of years. A few mechanics have checked it and advised not to fix it (cost about €20 plus labour for each of the 24 valves), but just turn up the radio! Change oil every 4k miles should dampen it enough.

21st May 2006, 13:17

I have a 98 Mitsubishi Galant ES. It always makes a kick when I hit the gas too. Does that mean there's a problem with the transmission, or the engine?

1999 Mitsubishi Galant GTZ 3.0 SOHC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

The reliability of the car is not so great

Faults:

All of my speakers went out. I needed new wiring.

My breaks squeek all the time even when I'm driving on the highway.

My tail lights sometimes work.

My valve cover gasket is leaking for the second time.

My heater and A/C sometimes work.

General Comments:

This cars handling is vary good the acceleration and power is not the best.

However the car looks sporty, but I don't think the car match's what it really is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 17 reviews