1999 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carHyundai Scoupe

Summary:

Bad brakes, but a decent deal for the money

Faults:

Like many (nearly all?) others have reported, I have had the front brakes worked on more times than I can remember. I just had the fourth set of rotors installed. Each set of rotors has had to have been machined at least once because of warping. Pad wear hasn't been much better - I think I'm on the third or fourth set.

The paint seems to chip more easily than previous cars I've owned. It isn't a terribly dramatic difference - just more chips on the hood and rocker panels than I've seen before.

General Comments:

The drive-train has worked perfectly. The V-6 is smooth and has decent power. The transmission still shifts briskly, but not harshly.

The car handles competently considering it's a family sedan. Driving it won't excite you - but it won't frighten you by wallowing about the road either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2005

1999 Mitsubishi Galant V6 24 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Discrete cruiser..

Faults:

Front disc's giving trouble - possibly warped, but to be replaced soon.

Had a traction control problem (TCL OFF light flashing) - engine closing down entirely or down to idle - seems a rub of the ABS sensors with some light sand paper and a properly connected battery has sorted this...

General Comments:

Comfortable cruiser with acceptable mpg (high 30's on a long drive, 20 around town, 25 day-in, day-out driving to work).

Everything hushed except for road noise (rough Irish roads?). Soft suspension leads to some rolly-polly cornering if you are that way inclined, but also gives good comfort. Well equipped and everything still working.

Still think this shape looks good (red with tan leather gives it a slight four-door Ferrari look...).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance900000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

Bad Brakes Bug this Buyer

Faults:

I have had my brake rotors and pads machined, serviced and replaced about so many times I've lost count!

Now, all my dash lights are out; my radio, windshield wipers and cruise control only work if I jiggle the ignition after I start the car.

When my car was two years old, I lost all power on the middle of rush hour traffic and was stuck in the middle of the road due to a recall no one had informed me of.

Now, if I idle in the car for a while, it just shuts off!

My fuel tank has never read as "Full" even though it was replaced twice.

General Comments:

No more Mitsubishi's for me, sorry to say. I'm wondering what ever happened on the settlement for the brakes lawsuit, as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

20th Sep 2004, 14:25

I, too, have wondered the same thing about the status of the lawsuit with the brakes. I own a 1999 Galant ES. Just like most of the owners, I have had my share of brake problems. My rotor has been turned, rotated, whatever.. to try to correct the "shakes". Recently, from nowhere, the brake and battery symbols on the dashboard light up whenever I touch the brakes. It disappears when I accelerate above 50 MPH, but that's mainly highway driving. I have about 70,000 miles on my car. Anyone experienced that before?

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance72500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Sometimes you get lucky!!

Faults:

I have had to replace the brake pads three times. The rotors did not have to be changed.

The fuel door broke at 65000 miles or so.

Fuel leaks when I fill the tank up. I do not add fuel when the pump auto shut-off stops. But the next morning, fuel leaked. Don't know the cost yet, I am taking it to a mechanic today.

General Comments:

The car has been pretty reliable so far. I don't do a lot of driving (To work and home) approx. 15-20 miles a day.

This was my first Mitsubishi. When this one dies, I will go back to Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1999 Mitsubishi Galant EX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Buy something else. Mitsubishi service stinks

Faults:

I also experienced the brake vibration problem. The dealer was no help at all. After three attempts to service, nothing was resolved. I eventually took the vehicle to a couple of different 3rd parties before finding out the real story. Mitsubishi uses poor quality brake calipers. The rust after about 20-30K miles. This causes them to constantly keep the brakes engaged. The heat from this activity warps the rotors. So, no matter how many times you replace the rotors, the problem comes back unless you change the calipers.

My $120 dashboard lights also went out and the $150 fuel door broke off.

General Comments:

This car is very average. My wife bought a 2000 Altima. The Altima isn't a perfect vehicle, but it is much better than our Galant... and the dealer service is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2003

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Japanese reliability in an aggressively designed package

Faults:

The only problem has been 3 manufacturer recalls which were quickly dealt with by the dealership.

Brake pads changed at 8500 miles. I believe this was too soon. This was the last major service I will have done by dealership.

General Comments:

As much as I would like to purchase a european auto, I can't get myself to sell this car because it has been so reliable.

One of the better designs to come out of Japan.

The cloth interior is very comfortable and well built. After two years, the interior still looks new.

A fairly sporty 4 cylinder engine and transmission combination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1999 Mitsubishi Galant ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17700 miles
Previous carCheverolet Camaro

Summary:

A dangerous ball of fire

Faults:

The wiring caught on fire!!! If my child had been in the car seat in the back, she would have been killed or severely burned. Don't buy this car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 20:00

In all fairness, you don't know if your child would have been killed or burned.

I have a Renault, it's engine caught fire! Right next to the fuel line! And I'm not saying "If my family were in the car they would have been burned or killed"

With all due respect. I think yours is the Only Mitsubishi that has ever had it's wires catch fire. Perhaps you didn't maintain it correctly, or if you are not the first owner, perhaps the previous one didn't.

It is not fair to blacken the name a world wide acclaimed car for one that went wrong.

S Richardson

Scotland

Former and soon to be Galant owner.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 17 reviews