2003 Mitsubishi L200 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2003 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi L200

Summary:

Complete crap

Faults:

The head gasket, the bottom pulley, gearbox (layshaft), leaf spring, back windows go back down when trying to put them up.

Engine light on, very flat acceleration.

Basically the truck is a sack of s**te. The new model is no better. Avoid like a fatal illness.

General Comments:

So many common problems, it's unbelievable

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2010

2003 Mitsubishi L200 4 Life 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

Exceptional value for money

Faults:

I've had my L200 7 years now, and haven't had a fault yet.

I've noticed the clutch starting to slip, which I think is acceptable, since this vehicle tows over 3 tonne regularly.

General Comments:

I'm thinking of changing to a newer vehicle, but am reluctant due to the service this pick-up has given me.

The only downside I have is the fuel economy, which can be as little as 23 miles to the gallon on short runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2010

2003 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior 2.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel Manual
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

Threw a con rod with no warning, lucky it was the last week of the warranty so the garage I had bought it from said they were going to replace the engine.

4 months later, after being fobbed off day after day, they had given up on repairing it and gave me a replacement one with 20000 less on the clock and better nick. Went straight on eBay and looking for an alternative. Wouldn't buy another one or any car from that dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th December, 2008

2003 Mitsubishi L200 2.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel Manual
Distance when acquired50894 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

This model must have serious faults, otherwise it should be able to cope with the mileage

Faults:

Head gasket blew a week after I purchased it from a dealer at 50,000 miles.

A year later head gasket has gone again at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Will get rid of this truck as soon as it is repaired.

Wish I had my old Hi-Lux Surf again.

Did similar mileage on it and never had any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

2003 Mitsubishi L200 2.5 turbo diesel from Costa Rica

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Reliable, fun and powerful

Faults:

Sometimes it's difficult to start the engine in cold weather.

General Comments:

The L200 pick up is very reliable. It`s quite a simple car (at least compared to my previous one), but rides OK and never fails.

Love the driver position and height.

Feels almost the same with no load or with 200Kgs of load.

Seems it will never break; it has a very strong chassis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

2003 Mitsubishi L200 Animal 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22500 miles
Most recent distance24500 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

A great go anywhere vehicle be it to the shops or to the mountains and hills!

Faults:

A couple of times the vehicle would not start! The main dealer could not find a fault, but when I went to get another spare key coded and a spare Mitsubishi remote for the alarm, the dealer could not get the new remote to work with the alarm. They changed the alarm and I have had no problems since with the starting.

The only other thing that has caused a glitch in the perfect running of the vehicle was when it went into safe mode. This is where the engine management system detects a potential fault and reduces the power of the vehicle so that you can`limp` to the dealer. That cured itself. I think in could have been due to the outside temp being 33 C and the air going into the turbo being too hot!

Oh and the alloys needed to be replaced under warranty due to the lacquer corroding!

General Comments:

I was looking to replace my old Rav 4 and I liked the size and shape of the L200. I needed plenty of room to put our four dogs in the back.

I bought the Animal version just because I was buying secondhand and the dealer had a mint one in stock!

The vehicle has some good `Toys` such as A/C, 10 disc Cd changer, leather seats and other things such as alloys.

The truck handles well, but is no hot hatch.

The fuel economy is OK at 31 mpg.

The size of the truck can make parking it a real problem in the towns and cities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

11th Jan 2007, 20:54

Good point about the size and parking problems.

4th Mar 2008, 16:01

How did you get the MPG figure?

I have an old shape L200 Trojan 2007 model. It is averaging 22-24MPG.

Has anyone else got their MPG figures?

21st Dec 2008, 11:58

I have l200 warrior 2.5 tdi I get 160 miles to 35L.

29th Jul 2009, 04:27

Hi.

I had 2002 L200 2.5 TDI.

Fitted leader seats from Pajero Sport after crash for few euros. Quite a messy job, but a few hours work and the effect is really nice. Cream leather and red/ silver L200, the only one on market heheh.

Fuel consumption is in city, full tank 60 liters, around 300, out the city 380 miles, so not bad like for that kind of monster.

Darius.

25th Jul 2013, 16:18

Yes, I have a 07 plate Mitsubishi L200 Trojan old shape, and I get about 25 MPG, seems about right, great trucks.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews