1991 Mitsubishi Lancer 5d GLXi 1.5i petrol 66kW from Finland

Summary:

For city driving

Faults:

Rust all over the body and bottom (some holes had to be welded).

ECU broke around 260000km.

Alternator broke twice, around 265000km and 280000km.

Humidity getting inside distributor, causing oxidation and failures to start in wet weather.

Timing belt clamp-wheel did split around 290000km, almost causing engine destruction (luckily discovered because of weird noise from engine, before more serious damage occurred: belt was still running around half of the clamp-wheel)

General Comments:

Nice to drive in city because of decent mid rpm torque (peaks around 3000rpm), small turning radius, good visibility and short gear ratios.

Liftback body is capable of transporting large objects when rear seats are folded.

Lights are weak.

Short gear ratios hurt fuel consumption.

Noisy and not very stable at high speeds - requires constant steering.

Low body and short seat are not suitable for tall drivers.

Cabin warms up fast during winter.

GLX-level equipment is quite good, considering the year and cost of the car (includes heated & power adjustable mirrors, heated seats, seat height & steering wheel distance adjustments)

Engine is still rock solid, despite 300 megameters, and consumes no oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2010

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Good

Faults:

The clutch has gone, and there is rust on the roof.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable car until things start to go wrong with it; for instance the rust on the roof is going to be a costly long period of fixing it.

The performance is exceptional for such a small engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

11th Dec 2007, 06:43

Power Windows are damaged.

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.5L SOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Well worth it

Faults:

Nothing too bad has gone wrong with the car since I've owned it.

Only thing is to watch out for the rust that begins to appear in the roof; doesn't cost much to fix when found early!

Not so good on cold starts.

General Comments:

Very reliable car.

Stylish interior.

Great car to modify.

Check out: http://gsrcyborgclub.org/

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Reliable to the max

Faults:

This car has been very Reliable - I don't think it has ever really let me down in the last 9 years (I have always managed to get home)

CV Joints were replaced at about 250000.

Starter motor was re-built at 280000.

Alternator was re- built at 190000.

General Comments:

This car was one of the best cars I have ever owned - I only traded it in because I thought I was pushing my luck a bit, the gearbox had started to get a bit noisy and the clutch was starting to squeak.

I changed the oil every 5 - 10 thousand kms and kept it looking good - It still drove very well.

This car did not have air con or power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2005

9th Nov 2006, 23:40

I bought this car last year from a friend of my parent's who had it as a spare car and never used it, thus not maintaining it either.

I picked it up for $1400.00AU, and had to spend about $400.00 on it straight away getting it serviced, replacing the tires and fixing the electric board etc.

There was also a lot of weathering to the car which was a real shame, the paint had weathered and the dash and the seats had become cracked from UV exposure... it's a pity the previous owners didn't give the car a wash and a coat of UV protectant sometimes.

I had to replace the CV joints at 250000kms as well, costing me about $600.00. I recently had to replace the head-gasket because the previous owners didn't flush the coolant and so the internals had corroded, costing me $1400.00. I have also, last week, had to replace all the oil rings and had the pistons re-calibrated, which stopped the engine blowing blue smoke, which cost me another $700.00.

I will also have to re-paint the entire car, which I will do myself, and apply anti-rust, as there are some rust spots showing on the roof as it is exposed. This will cost me about $200.00.

Overall, it has been a very expensive lesson to be learnt. The thing is, I think it is a good car.

It is small, but roomy, economical, but still has enough power to drive on open roads and in cut-throat traffic... and hopefully, after I have done so much work to it in the past few months, it will run without a hassle.

My main advice is: it doesn't matter what car it is, make sure it is in good condition when you buy it, and try to make sure it has been properly serviced and looked after in the past.. this makes life a lot easier and cheaper later on.

14th May 2010, 01:09

I bought a 1991 auto Lancer 4 months ago from the second owner who had bought the vehicle in 1992. It has 145000ks genuine as all checked out. Initially I had to spend $500 to replace master cylinder and brake cylinders to pass a road worthy. I have had trouble free motoring except sometimes after I come to a complete stop usually when engine is cold, the auto takes a few seconds to drop back to 1st gear. I really like this car.