1991 Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer Cb 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres

Summary:

A comfortable, economical beast

Faults:

Whats gone wrong with the car? Nothing major, I had a voltage leak, causing the battery to die, but that's because of an amateur car radio installer who shall remain anonymous.

I've kept this car in good condition, serviced it every 5000k's, and I've only been putting premium unleaded fuel, and always checking fluid levels.

The CV joints were on they're way out a while ago, making a noise every time I turned a corner, but when I got mags put on the wheels were rebalanced and I haven't had any problems with the CV joints.

I had a problem with oil leaks, but that's just because the pipes had eroded, most probably due to lack of maintenance the previous owner should have done.

General Comments:

This car is a great first car. It's not fast, but it can still go if needed. It's not too great in cold weather, but after the engine warms up a bit its fine.

Handling in this car is great, I've been around corners fast enough to take a rear wheel drive car off the road and it's taken care of me.

The body work isn't in the best of condition, the previous owner rally drove her kids back and forth to soccer practice or something, there were chocolate milk stains on the ceiling of the car for god sakes! :)

I had a problem with water coming through the door seals, but since then I replaced the carpets with a nice Burgundy, to match the exterior paint (the paint on these cars are suprisingly good!)

I plan to upgrade the engine to a J-spec Lancer GSR, but until the engine comes into the market I'm going to work on the body, hopefully I'll be able to post a link to my car when it's done. Until then, I'd recommend looking into this car for yourself!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

21st Jan 2007, 08:57

I have a 1991 Mitsubishi Lancer CB GSR and I agree that they are a cery reliable car. My particular one has been modified and looks really good, exhaust system has its own unique sound.

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Rust problem in roof

Faults:

Has a problem with the roof rusting on the underneath side around the rib supports.

I have seen four of this model with the same problem. The only way to fix it is to cut the roof off and replace it.

General Comments:

Mechanically sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

7th Mar 2004, 17:23

Bought the car on feb04. had done 200000km 1990. roof had rust on ribs. sand it down and found its from inside. sealed it and resprayed it.

21st Jun 2005, 00:50

The windshield is too close to the drivers face, that's why it's still hot even if the a. con is open. suspensions and shocks doesn't work that much and there is no strut bar underneath the engine so I always have to do the camber allignment.

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GSR 1.6 DOHC petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 kilometres
Most recent distance208000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Performance, reliability, budget, fun

Faults:

The bucket seats wear badly on the side where you get in and out.

C.V. joint boot split.

General Comments:

This car represents fantastic value for money, with a good, strong engine, comfortable seats, 4 wheel disk brakes, alloys, spoiler, skirts, and more.

It is quite quick, but would benefit tremendously with a 1.8 of the same technological standard.

The engine produces 90Kw, and 144 Nm, a nice design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

5th Jul 2003, 04:39

I have a 92 GSR 1.6 16v and am a little disapointed by the low acceleration. This car with its 4g61 engine should have had the 4g61t (turbo) as it did in many other countries, I am now looking to modify or transplant the engine. the car itself if a gem.

18th Jun 2004, 23:19

Have owned a 91' GSR for 5 years now!! Great car although timing belt recently went after only 40,000 KM since last change. I have heard this may be a problem with oil leaking onto belt. Engine consequently damaged beyond realistic repair. Need new engine now!!

Lesson for young players!!

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.5 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A nice reliable ride, but watch out for the costs when something goes wrong with it

Faults:

The computer unit failed once which costs a lot of money.

This car sure rusts. When you want one be sure to check for rust in the places you least expect.

The car is expensive when something goes wrong with it.

General Comments:

Quite a comfortable ride for its age, but the interior bits rattle a bit when cornering.

It handles quite nice, but the major drawback is the lack of performance in combination with the automatic transmission...

The lack of power steering is not nice at all. My next car will have power steering.

The fuel consumption is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

1991 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.5 injection from Sweden

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta '86

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable and easy to drive

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought it from an auto mechanic. He changed the thermostat and exhaust system before selling it to me.

I can complain only about too low suspension when driving with 4 people, and baggage in the back is too low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews