2004 Mitsubishi Lancer ES from North America

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

Two wheel bearings, one at 210000kms, another at 290000kms, otherwise all original.

General Comments:

Paid $14,000can. Brand new, great all round transportation, starting to burn a bit of oil about a litre every 5000kms, but it has over 300000kms, and still runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2011

28th Oct 2012, 01:53

Original poster. Update; now has 351000 kms, replaced front brake rotors 3 times, and a wheel bearing and alternator. Still runs great.

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer ES 2.0 from North America

Faults:

Nothing wrong with it at all.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned in my lifetime. It has lots of power, and it's at 242000km, and this car will not give you any headache at all. I bought it in 2008, and not one repair to it so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2010

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 2.0 turbo petrol from North America

Summary:

If I keep it serviced as I am doing now, I think it will run forever

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Fast! This car is a rocket. The boost sounds amazing. Best handling road car, period!

The car's an everyday driver for me. It's a good reliable rocket, although it is thirsty, the interior is very cheap, and the ride is very harsh and bumpy. I still love this car! Best car I've owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2010

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Sport Wagon 1.6 petrol from Slovakia

Summary:

Very reliable and charming car

General Comments:

Rather loud engine above 3400 RPM, which should not be any problem if these revs aren't the highway standard at 130km/h in 5th gear.

The paint peels off relatively easy as if no zincing is there under the outer layer of paint.

Acceleration and general engine power is slightly bellow average of today 1.6L engines.

Suspension a little bit too bumpy if you use it mainly in the city.

100% reliable up to now (40K).

Simple but solid interior.

Unexpectedly a lot of space, especially in the rear seats.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2009

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback LS 2.4L MIVEC from North America

Summary:

A true sports wagon

Faults:

Brakes had to be serviced 69 000 km. The front brake pads were not installed properly.

Link kit and sway bar changed 70 000 km. This is not a life and death issue, but the sound of the squeaking is very annoying.

The alternator belt at 75 000 km.

Front left tye rod 75000 km.

General Comments:

I bought this car used, so I put some little repairs to make it go like new. All the repairs I put on the car were mostly preventive.

This car is very reliable and fast. The motor is a 2.4L, which provides 160HP so you get a fun ride and can load the car without any troubles. The handling is very sharp and precise.

Inside you have a good visibility. The interior design is nice and up to date. You have lots of cargo room when the rear seat are folded.

The gas mileage is OK, but not as economical as a Toyota Corolla. The paint is not very resistant compared to Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer OZ Rally Edition 2.0 4G94 from North America

Summary:

Sporty, Fun, Cheap Transportation

General Comments:

This is a great car, reliable and sporty. I have only owned mine for 11,000 miles but we have one in the family that's at 112K miles and still running like the day we bought it with 9miles and I expect the same from mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2008

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer VRX 2.0L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great reliable car with good performance

Faults:

Minor leak from the rear main seal on the manual gearbox at around 40,000km.

General Comments:

After my previous car experience, this one is a joy to drive and own. The price was quite good and ongoing running costs are low. It's burning 7.9L/100km in real world driving (stats kept for every refill since purchase). Runs very well on E10 (10% ethanol) fuel with a drop in economy of 2% on average.

The engine performance is pleasing, and strong enough to comfortably drive the car on a hot day without the air conditioning affecting performance too much. Air conditioner is strong enough to cope with 40C Australian weather. Cornering capability is very good with limited body roll. Traction on the VRX model is excellent due to the wide tires and lower, stiffer suspension.

Interior plastic quality is pretty good with no rattles or squeaks. The seats could have more lateral support. Everyone who is a passenger in my car comments about how much room is available in this medium size car. Boot space is very good. Mitsubishi provide a full tire with alloy for the spare, which is refreshing to see.

The only mechanical issue to go wrong is a seal leaking on the manual gearbox. This was noticed by the dealer just outside of warranty, but Mitsubishi offered to pick up the parts costs and half the labour. Cost me AU$230 to replace the seal which I think is quite reasonable.

The car was involved in a relatively minor accident where it was sandwiched between two other cars. Crash repairs appear to be quite expensive. AU$10,000 in my case (covered by insurance). Car was restored to as-new condition by the Mitsubishi repairer.

I think the car looks great in bright yellow and I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2008

10th Mar 2010, 05:17

Really fantastic review, my driving instructor had one of these cars and I can't agree with you more on all of this review.

13th Oct 2010, 21:50

Original poster here. Slight engine oil leak at 60,000km, caused by dealer overfilling engine with oil. Dealer has now overfilled by more than 0.5L of oil twice.

Converted the Lancer to run on LPG at 60,000km (vapour injection). Very few Lancers being converted here in Australia. Currently at 80,000km with no signs of valve seat recession. I'm using a Flashlube drip kit to protect the exhaust valves, as Mitsubishi do not recommend the 4G94 engine for LPG conversion. Also using a high end dedicated LPG specific engine oil.

Car burns about 9.2L/100km of LPG. 63L LPG tank sits in the boot, and still leaves plenty of room for luggage.

Fitting high quality silica compound tyres (Hankook) to the car has significantly reduced road noise when compared to the standard Yokohama tyres.