2000 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2000 Mitsubishi Magna Sports V6 3.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

A bit of squeaking noise is starting to be heard when the car is put under mild acceleration. This will be looked into on the next service.

General Comments:

The car is lighter than the VRX and handles beautifully.

A bit worrying on the corners when I take as much advantage of the traction control as I can, but it does very well.

It sure beat those Holden Commodore S/SS and the Ford Falcon V6s, except for the V8's.

Am very happy, but really looking forward to the Ralliart or 4WD version of the Magna.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

18th Feb 2003, 10:16

Yes, your car is quicker than a Falcon V6, any car is quicker compared to a car that doesn't exist.

The Magna cannot even touch the BA Falcon. Somehow I don't think it would keep up with the BA XR-6/8 models, let alone the XR6T.

2nd May 2003, 02:06

Whilst I agree that a Magna is certainly not a tearaway performer, I think the writer of the original review should be forgiven as he has clearly written with passion due a great love for his automobile. Everyone thinks their car is the best and fastest - I am sure the commentators think likewise so lets just be happy with the status quo and not compare apples with oranges.

18th Jul 2003, 06:48

I just signed up a purchase agreement on a near new 02 VR-X, and am trading in my GT forester, I thought the VR-X was a beautiful car to drive, and agreed to buy it in under 2 minutes of the test drive.

23rd Nov 2004, 02:55

I own a 2002 VR-X and yes it leaves the BA (in-line 6) for dead. 14.7 sec on the 1/4 so I agree with the writer of the article. Beautiful cars. Enjoy your new purchase to the other guy. Although the subaru forester are nice car too.

12th Nov 2007, 18:55

I own a Magna Sports as well, and it leaves all my mates' Falcons and Commodores for dead LOL... It beats my mate's XR8 2000 Falcon Ute and doesn't sit far behind my brother's BA Falcon 2005 XR8... 4 years difference and a lot of horsepower...I'm very happy... VRXs are also nice.

8th Jun 2009, 03:02

I don't agree with the first comment. As a previous owner of a standard Magna TJ Executive V6 auto, I was constantly told by a friend who owns a BA XR6 (Non Turbo) manual that his car would "blow the Magna away". Testing his theory on a lonely stretch of road, the Magna wasn't embarrassed. 0-60kmh the falcon got 1/2 a car length in front, but then it was all Magna V6. By the time both cars got to 100kmh both cars were door to door and remained so until 120kmh (the agreed speed).

The friend was very red faced and said that I must have modified my car. The Magna was a stock standard car with 148,000km, the Falcon with 42,000km. Considering it was only a Executive and the VRX is quicker again, I don't think any 6 cylinder Falcon (non turbo) stands any chance.

2000 Mitsubishi Magna TJ 3.5 litre V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

The best big 6 Aussie wagon

Faults:

I have only owned the car for a short period of time so am yet to have any major problems. Though a door seal was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Compared to the Commodore and Falcon wagons, the Magna is very quiet.

Good performance, excellent fuel economy.

Comfortable ride and predictable handling.

Good level of appointments for the price.

Good front legroom, but not so great in the back, though enough for children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

2000 Mitsubishi Magna VR-X 3.5 V^ 163kw from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 V^ 163kw Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35200 kilometres
Most recent distance38500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

The best of the Aussie Built Sixes

Faults:

The remote central locking keypad had a flat battery. Dealer gave a new one free.

Got pulled over by cops when trying out traction control - still manages to break traction on dry asphalt. Coppa's luckily saw the humour in it.

General Comments:

This thing is so supremely smooth and quiet - even with the VR-X exhaust.

If anything you may get a mild throaty hum at full noise. I have had my old Commodore to the limit and back, and this thing just storms away from standstill I've never fully been able to find anywhere to really give it a bootful. It has the 5 speed seqeuntial auto, and overtaking in 4th is a breeze.

The only thing I didn't like, is the back seat doesn't have as much room as Commoodore - and no rear aircon vents.

Absoloutely everything else beats the other 2 main Aussie contenders in every department. This thing is capable of keeping up with an HSV!!! :) Not a GTS though : (

One last thing - I'm one of those "it is either rear wheel drive or it doesn't handle" type people, but this thing just blows that principal out of the water. Traction control helps no end in keeping corners tight, and that sequential shift, bang it back into second and fly around almost any corner, and you get perfect down changes making you look like a pro driving a manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

30th Jul 2002, 14:06

Nice to see you going toe-to-toe with the opposition ;)

If you think the VR-X is great, try getting a test-pilot ride on the RalliArt version... it's brilliant! Although you're right, you can't go wrong with the VR-X.

19th Nov 2002, 05:53

I purchased a Magna VR-X in June 2002 (brand new) and I'm considering having the following modifications made to the vehicle...

- Extractors (3 into 1 system)

- Freer flowing stainless steel muffler with 2.5" tip.

- K&N Pod Filter compatible with the MAS sensor.

I would be interested to know if other Magna VR-X owners have implemented similar modifications and whether there was a noticeable improvement in vehicle performance? (eg. was the vehicle dyno'ed before and after modifications? Kilowatt improvement???)

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews