2000 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2000 Mitsubishi Magna VR-X 3.5 litre V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Great looks, great handling, cheap to run

Faults:

Nothing has actually gone wrong. I do my own services every 5000kms, and outside of that and other general maintenance, nothing has ever had to be replaced or repaired while I've owned it.

General Comments:

At purchase the car did have suspension modifications to improve the handling, so can't say what the stock car is like, but my one has been an incredible car to drive.

I push my cars fairly hard and often through twisty roads, and the VRX has been brilliant. Power has been great, and it rarely lets me down.

Only trouble I've had is that the lifters in the engine make a tapping noise on cold start up, but I've read this is a common Magna issue and doesn't cause any actual damage. I highly recommend them to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2010

9th Jul 2012, 01:50

Hi, I have a 2000 3.5 Advance. My engine makes a tapping start as well. Any idea what could be causing it? You can contact me at kschanna (at) gmail.com

2nd Jul 2014, 11:44

Hi mate, if I could offer you some advice, take your rocker cover off, buy a new gasket, use a torque wrench to the right setting in your owner's manual, and that should fix your problem, as it will only get worse. Good luck.

2000 Mitsubishi Magna T.J. vrx 3.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Not a worthwhile sports car, looks good only

Faults:

Too numerous to mention, but, no major faults.

General Comments:

The under-steer is something a front drive car is renowned for, but, the traction control is absolutely disgusting and dangerous, coming on then staying on way too long.

During hard cornering the fuel seems to disapear for a few seconds causing the car to almost stall, (dangerous).

The braking ability of this car from high speeds is also atrocious, sounding like something is about to disintegrate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

16th Mar 2005, 06:32

I don't think the review warrants much credibility as the reviewer fails to be specific about the faults, also fails to tell us from what speed he was breaking from in what distance he stopped, having owned several VRX Magnas and SS Commodores I fail to understand what he is talking about in relation to the Trace Control staying on to long, what was he doing at the time? Try getting a SS commodore going up a gravel road quickly with Traction Control engaged then you'll really know what it is like to have the thing stay on to long!

22nd Aug 2010, 19:57

Hard cornering: Dangerous in its own right.

You appear to be commenting on its race characteristics rather than its running costs/performance.

27th Oct 2010, 22:29

As a 2001 VR-X owner, I question the merit of this review also.

Absolutely nothing wrong with the traction control. It comes on as it should, and remains for as long as necessary. There is a warning light, and it generally activates when you have gone too far anyway.

Have previously tried to spin a VT Commodore with traction control. Maybe it's its greater weight and pendulum effect of RWD, but its traction control is far more assertive than the Magna's.

No issue with brakes either - and my car was pushed at close to 210km/h on one occasion.

Fuel starvation is the only worthy point, if at all, but I experienced this only at low fuel levels and going up steep car park ramps. Therefore, negligible.

2000 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 3.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Understated sports sedan

Faults:

So far, it's been fairly reliable. There's only been a couple of fiddly little things like a loose door winder and the ventilation knob which refuses to stay on the recirculation position at 100km/hr for any length of time.

General Comments:

I'm pleased with the car so far. Still a bit early to judge though, especially after my previous Magna ran an almost faultless 336,000 km before being written off.

The addition of a proper exhaust system (extractors, 2 1/4 sports exhaust, K&N filter) and a UNICHIP has made an already brisk car a real "sleeper". The Unichip has made the car especially tractable around town, and it can now easily cruise in 5th gear (and pull away without protest) from around 60-65 km/hr.

In my mind, Magnas have always had a little "something" missing in the Commodore, Camry and Falcon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews