2000 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2000 Mitsubishi Magna Advance Wagon 3.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

It won't last as long as a Ford or Toyota, but OK if you can get one at the right price

Faults:

Steering rack was replaced under warranty, brakes have been skimmed and new pads front and back.

General Comments:

We also have an AU Ford Falcon which is quieter, smoother and just as economical as the Magna, and with the relatively modest difference in price I would pick the Ford every time.

To its credit, the Magna does run well and is relaxing to drive both round town and on long trips.

Seats are not as comfortable as the Ford or Toyota Camry (which the Magna replaced), but acceptable.

The auto transmission is quite jerky compared to the Ford & Toyota, and not nearly as responsive as the Ford when you need to grab a hole in the traffic by accelerating hard after standing still for a few minutes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

17th Mar 2008, 19:44

Most new Fords are falling apart after just the first 5,000km's with steering problems, rack and pinions and a lot of engineering fates not well thought out. I know 3 people with TH Magnas and nothing has ever gone wrong. So just a bit confused about this review.

2nd Oct 2009, 08:06

You must have had a bad one, not that it really happens with these cars, I have owned a few of them some with below 50000km, and some with 300000km, and they all went like rockets. Flatten them from the lights and the front wheels will spin.

One smooth, quiet and fuel efficient car.

26th Apr 2011, 22:33

I've had a Magna Advance, and I believe the V6 has a good amount of power and is as smooth as silk. I've never had a problem with the Magna Advance when I had it.

I've also got a 2000 Ford Fairlane Ghia, and it's a good car for travelling, but for "off the line performance", the Magna is better in regards to this, because it's a lighter car.

When I drove to Townsville from Darwin, it just went like a shot out of a cannon!, sits comfortably at 150km/h, love the way that when you really sink the boot into it, it just takes off like a jet! Especially when you're overtaking a road train. Also I like the way that as you get faster, it feels like it's getting lower to the road!

I think Mitsubishi got this one right, as it's a lighter car with a very powerful engine that probably has the ability to just about "take off like a jet!".

2000 Mitsubishi Magna Executive V6 3.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance23689 kilometres

Summary:

A beautiful car to drive to the coast in!

Faults:

Nothing except the steering wheel lock was tight which made the turning horrible compared to my mum's Holden.

General Comments:

It is very roomy inside with comfortable seats and furnishings.

The good brakes make up for the poor turning.

I've had my car for 7 months and it is very reliable and pleasing. My friends fight over who is going to drive the rest of 3 hours to the coast when I offer the keys to them, even though it's very comfortable on long journeys.

It's a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

9th Feb 2006, 03:50

Agreed!! I used one for 2 months on hire when I was over from UK and was in tears when I had to hand the keys back. As consolation I was put into a draw for one bit sadly didn't win, would have given it to my sister to look after for me.

I also found it surprisingly economical (3.5ltr - am used to a 2.9 Ford Scorpio back home which is fairly juicy) compared to a smaller car I used on a later trip which always needed filling up. Am hoping for another Magna for my trip later this year.

Wish they sold them in UK - I would certainly buy one.

2000 Mitsubishi Magna V6 Executive 3.0 litre unleaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1549 kilometres
Most recent distance12630 kilometres

Summary:

A very classy, modern and sleek car

Faults:

Nothing, except for the bad turning in it which caused me to have really turn the wheel as far as it could go, to park and do a U-Turn.

General Comments:

This car is very quiet inside.

The seats and the driving is very comfortable and the boot is huge!

It's very classy and I am in love with my car so much. I recommend it to everyone who loves luxury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 02:18

Whoever wrote this survey is 100% right. My Magna is a bit tight on the turns, but is still very comfortable. I also love the HUGE boot space as well. I think whoever wrote this survey is in my good books!

2000 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 3.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

A real sleeper in the performance stakes

Faults:

The lever for the air vent keeps moving off position when set to recirculating.

General Comments:

The 3.5 V6 is a real performance bargain, with excellent fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

8th Dec 2001, 20:45

Yes, the Magna 3.5 in manual guise is a good performing car. The handling is predictable, it rides compliantly, with acceptable interior space, not to mention high levels of refinement & build quality.

I know, mate. I own one too, but in a 1998 Advance model, with 3 litre engine & 5 speed manual powertrain combination. Yes, I have driven the 3.5 auto & manual versions, & I would have to say that for anyone wanting the ideal solution in quasi-performance would be best off choosing either the 3.0 or the 3.5 litre, in manual forms. Just get a look at the Falcon or Commodore drivers face as you reach 0-100km/h in 7.59seconds! In the rear vision mirror, that is!

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews