2000 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I will drive this car until the wheels fall off, then I'll put them back on and keep going

Faults:

Door fabric separated.

Paint lost all gloss within about the first year.

Transmission solenoid wiring plug recently started, causing shift issues. Must be bad connection because I can pull the plug and re-seat it to fix. Took pulling the pan and checking solenoids to figure it out, but has happened less than 5 times in 2 years.

General Comments:

Have done every bolt-on upgrade I care to do, which has made driving even more enjoyable.

Added floor and door insulation to quiet the road noise. It has helped, but above 70 it still can be noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2009

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Sedan 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles

Summary:

Gas saver at a cheap price

Faults:

Catalytic converter- expensive if you get it done right. After market is soldered on lasts about a year for about $200 and OEM is bolted on should be lifetime. Manufacturer/dealer price 560+tax and installation $60 = 620+tax. Also had the front struts replaced for about $300 for KYB struts.

General Comments:

Road noise can be excessive above 60 mph. Great handling though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2006

28th Oct 2006, 19:43

I recently replaced the same exact items on mine for the same cost. My mechanic said the same as you said about the catalytic converter. He had to get it from the dealer for ~$560 +tax. I know because I went to the dealer to confirm the order. Also replaced struts on the front with KYB's. After that I had a bad ignition coil. Cost ~$125 for new ignition coil with cable.

So far I've been happy with the car. Great gas mileage. Currently has 70k miles on it. I plan on putting 200k more on it.

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance101500 miles
Previous carIsuzu Impulse

Summary:

Nice little car

Faults:

The inner tie rod ends were sloppy, the A/C compressor bearing squeaked, I think the problem there is the proximity of the compressor to the wheel well, it takes on water from the wheel in the rain, the exhaust manifold cracked, tried to find a used one and most were cracked as well. One of the hyd lifters didn't like to pump up, especially when cold. Replaced the original timing belt and front brakes at 94K, the motor is very easy to work on. lots of room, simple.

General Comments:

The gas mileage and A/C were the best, 38 mpg and even in 100 heat the A/C was ICE COLD, the front seats were very comfortable, and had good lumbar support, something I needed with a bad back. Handled pretty well despite the lack of sway bars. Huge trunk. Has decent power if you get the rpms up some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

6th May 2007, 09:07

I am about to buy one, since I have read all your good reviews about this car.

I will post here my comments and impressions after 3 months of ownership. So that, I can confirm or not the reliability for this little Mitsubishi!

Cheers.

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Coupe 1.5 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance133600 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

You'll get your money's worth and more

Faults:

So far I had my rear oxygen sensor replaced and need the front sensor replaced.

Each headlight has been replaced once.

The battery has been replaced once. So nothing major just yet.

The cloth interior faded a bit from the sun, instead of dark gray is has a hint of blue.

Lights have gone out on my automatic transmission console.

General Comments:

This car struggles to go uphill so you need to get a good speed going when you know a steep hill is approaching.

This car has been so dependable, it is my second Mirage.

Gas mileage is great, and drives great in the snow, too.

Space is tight and there's no leg room in the back seat (in a 2-door).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.8 Inline DOHC 16v from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Inline DOHC 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Original and nimble

Faults:

Shocks need replacing, rotors warped, lost my front wheel splash guards on separate occasions (one in accident, the other in snow), dome light does not always come on when doors are opened, hood hinges rusted tight and one brook (my fault for not oiling), causing the other to begin to break, had hinges replaced for around $65.00.

General Comments:

This car is my baby. I was stupid one night and tried a 90 degree right turn at about 35-40 mph (hey, it was a banked turn, gimme a break) and went into a corn field. The soil was rock hard because it was February in Wisconsin and I broke my front right tie rod and some other stuff (right control arm, windshield washer reservoir) but the car came out of it generally in good condition. This car can take a lickin' and keep on tickin'. The bumper sustained a massive blow, and you can't even tell unless you look closely (tiny crack).

I also love the way this car handles, and how original it looks. It looks kind of like a civic (yawn) but then at second glance you see the mean front fascia, and you are intrigued. The back end is also highly original. I love the taillights. I have also noticed it looks exactly like the foreign Lancer GLI (circa 1995). This car is the shiznite when you put some rims, a kit, and tint the windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

11th Jan 2006, 14:46

The 2000 Mirage you are describing is a 1.8 liter SOHC 16 valve, not a DOHC. There was no dual cam motor available in this car that year.

29th Dec 2006, 13:56

This car was OK, but I had a transmission problems at 80K miles. As I drove the car lurched between 2nd and 3rd gear. (it was an automatic. Interesting enough the problem fixed its self.

9th Jan 2007, 13:14

I have a 2000 DE (1.8) as well, and I have the transmission shift problem between 2nd and 3rd gear, but I would describe is as a mushy shift. The rpms climb as if there were no load, then it will shift. Under half to full throttle it shifts cleanly, but at a higher RPM.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews