2000 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Sedan 1.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A decent car for someone on a budget, but avoid it if you can

Faults:

The interior features of the vehicle were very poorly made and started to seriously falter after only 4 years of existence.

Some unknown reason caused the engine to not perform at its reported optimal condition, and before the car was wrecked it was getting only about 19 miles per gallon.

General Comments:

The car did handle quite well; however, its overall quality was questionable at best.

The seats were quite uncomfortable, and for a person over six feet tall it was quite annoying to drive.

Also, in a wreck the vehicle crumbles and is, in my opinion, not safe at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

3rd Mar 2005, 18:24

I have a '99 Mirage DE sedan and it performs better than I could have expected. It is about 4 years old now and nothing is falling apart and it's handling my modifications very very well. It has surprised me on several occasions with its acceleration and power. I plan on keeping this car until it dies which won't be for a very long time. I have no complaints and would recommend this car to anyone! It's fun to drive, it has plenty of pick-up, and it handles well at high speeds.

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE coupe from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance34490 miles

Summary:

Worth the buck

Faults:

Nothing to say wrong really, but doesn't accelerate well while going uphill. Might have been tuned to the previous owner because I believe that cars get tuned to their long maintained drivers. But its control and stability are exceptional.

Any suggestions?

General Comments:

Simply love it and love the fact that its used in 2Fast 2Furious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

11th Jan 2006, 14:50

The reason the car has some trouble climbing hills isn't because it became accustomed to it's previous owner at all. It's most likely because the DE coupe has a 1.5 liter engine making only 95hp; the smaller of the two motors offered in the Mirage.

26th Jan 2006, 04:43

Yes, I think that might be it as well. I have heard complaints about the 1.5's being wussy. I have the 1.8 and it has good acceleration, once you get the rpms up there.

26th Jan 2006, 11:22

Down-shift man, down-shift!

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance42610 miles

Summary:

Awesome semi-sports car!

Faults:

Nothing to date, except I had to have the Freon recharged.

It has a 100 watt sound system, but the speakers can't take the load.

General Comments:

This is an awesome car.

It can take a beating and keep going.

It was pretty hard to wire for Subs.

I have American Racing rims on it and it looks tight.

It has super-fast exceleration, even thought it has a small engine I step on it and I go from 0-60mph in under 9 seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2002

2000 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Coupe 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

An expensive slow car

Faults:

In the summer (85 degrees and up), the engine will completely lose power for about 2 seconds if you stop on a hill and then try to accelerate.

General Comments:

Unless you are the only one driving this car, it is really slow.

It's really hard to accelerate fast, especially on highways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

6th Dec 2004, 10:03

I think you are wrong. I have never lost power on a hill like that and I race my Mirage and the acceleration is great. I can beat a 98 Firebird off the line and stay ahead of him. I don't know how your Mirage could be that bad.

24th Jun 2007, 18:48

I can sum up most of the problem in one word-'automatic' All of the Mirages (and colts) I have owned have been manual. I drove an auto once and it was a dog. The stick shift allows you to find the limited amount of torque available, the auto would kill it's self trying to find it.

7th Mar 2011, 07:04

My Mirage moves slow off the line as well. You had to do something to yours to beat any car off the line and stay ahead. You can't tell me that it is a fast car because it is VERY SLOW.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews