1994 Mitsubishi Pajero Reviews

1994 Mitsubishi Pajero LWB High Top 2.8 liter turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 liter turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Bomb-proof!

Faults:

Replaced front and rear brakes (calipers, discs and pads).

Replaced glow plugs.

Brake pipes are slightly corroded and will be replaced in the near future.

Digital Thermometer/Compass screen is playing up, but (the cause) is more than likely just a faulty wire or loose connection.

General Comments:

What an excellent off (and on) roader!

I've had my Pajero for around a year now and have never had anything go wrong with it. It's just one of those vehicles that day after day you know you never need to worry about whether it will start or not, or if it will break down. It really is bomb-proof.

I took it to Norway not too long back for a holiday for a week and travelled around 800 miles through the huge, snow covered mountains and it never missed a beat. The altimeter on the dash was very handy too.

I have no idea when it was imported and I have no service history with it, but I can tell that it had been well looked after from the condition of the cabin and engine bay.

One thing I would recommend doing (if it is an import) is getting it wax-oiled underneath as they do rust slightly on the chassis because of our harsh salted roads in winter.

The seats are extremely comfortable and can be adjusted in any way. Even the central row of seats and the ones right in the rear of the vehicle have adjustable backrests. There is so much room in these 4x4's. In the boot and when the seats are folded flat you can virtually fit another car in there.

Off road capabilities are second to none. I have taken mine off-roading lots of times in some very harsh conditions including steep muddy inclines and deep water and it just ploughs on through.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2008

13th May 2010, 15:53

Well said, I also have a 2.8 hightop. I love it.

1994 Mitsubishi Pajero Exceed 2.8 turbo intercooled diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo intercooled diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Good safe family car that you can have off roading fun in too

Faults:

The alternator went shortly after I bought it.

The viscous fan developed splits at the base at 45,000 miles.

The EGR solenoids caused black smoke issues at 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is great on and off road. It's well built, but has a few common faults like alternator, black smoke, and diesel pump.

Ive enjoyed the off roading scene that comes with the clubs available for this car so much I started my own club www.plcuk.co.uk

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2005

1994 Mitsubishi Pajero GL 2.8 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance237000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

I have a Pajero to use it, this is definitely not a Toorak tractor

Faults:

Transfer case rebuild. 205,000km. the transfer case locked into low range.

Water pump replaced 235,000km.

Injector pump O ring replaced 235,000km.

General Comments:

I have friends with other model four wheel drives like Toyota landcruisers and hiluxes. I have been 4wding where they have got bogged or needed 2-3 attempts while I wait on the other side for them to get through. I find the torque of the diesel impressive. I towed a Toyota Hilux 15km on a heavy sand track and down a beach at high tide, I did all this tow in 4 low at 4,000 - 4,500 rpm. The temperature didn't rise and the engine ran smoother than ever. My Pajero is the base model GL and has a naturally aspirated 2.8 litre diesel (non turbo). I would prefer a turbo diesel and next 4wd will be. Sometimes you're caught between gears particularly 2nd and 3rd where you're over revving or under revving. Although, a couple of things have gone like the transfer case and water pump and injector pump O ring, though the kilometres suggest more wear and tear. I have a 4wd to use it, this is definitely not a Toorak tractor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

26th Aug 2007, 09:11

That's a great review mate.

About what I need to know from a current owner to a prospective owner.

Thanks.

1994 Mitsubishi Pajero GLS 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance173000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The best value and reliable 4x4 you can buy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned & I have had over 30.

Never caused me any drama's what so ever & I drive it hard.

The only complaint I could have would be the driving position of the driver. For me it is too high & the steering wheel is at a strange angle, its like a bus drivers position.

Nothing else to say, except you can't go wrong if you buy a clean one.

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

24th Jan 2008, 02:13

Big mistake Mitsubishi made by calling it a 4wd! For starters it has an independent front diff, which is highly prone to failure during off road attempts.

Second, the driveline sucks; only lasts 200,000. After that the valve stems and bottom end wear out, which costs too much to fix!!!

Thirdly, too heavy off road to be used seriously with poor ground clearance.

If you really want a good 4wd, buy a Toyota Landy, Nissan Patrol or Suzuki Samurai.

Try hard, waste of time. Trust me, I've owned one!

1994 Mitsubishi Pajero Exceed 3.5 liter V6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Expensive, but well worth it for the extras

Faults:

ABS light came on, electrical, although ABS continued to work. Still yet to repair it.

An annoying rattle develops in the dashboard. I am yet to repair it.

General Comments:

Very comfortable on and off road.

Air conditioning front and rear is excellent.

Drives with no noticeable difference in comfort or road noise in 4WD or 2WD. Shifts between the two effortlessly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews