Mitsubishi Space Star Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2003 Mitsubishi Space Star Mirage 1.6 Mirage from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Mirage Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance19806 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A fantastic family car and nimble MPV!

Faults:

Amber engine light illuminated.

Exhaust fumes smelt of egg after long journeys.

General Comments:

The car is cruises wonderfully when it needs to and is quick and nimble when you want to!

The seats are very comfortable.

The suspension is very smooth, but not to springy.

Pulls out of roads quickly for a car its size.

Great boot space for shopping and luggage.

MPV type folding seats which fold into the floor.

Excellent handling for a car its height.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2006

21st Mar 2012, 13:16

Have owned and driven this car since October 2004, and have found it excellent in all ways. I was 80 years of age at the beginning of this month, March 2012, and reluctantly/sensibly have decided to cease driving, despite never having had any major accidents, and am still fortunately fit and compos mentis.

2004 Mitsubishi Space Star DID 1.9 DID from Spain

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 DID Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Reliable family friend. Good value spec

Faults:

Lighter seats stain terribly. Even clean water stains them. Choose black if you can.

Door hinge stops squeaks and squeaks more if you oil them.

General Comments:

Quite a bit of road noise from rear on non smooth surfaces.

Good acceleration / performance, but lurches a bit on bends.

Fits family in well.

We are very pleased except for the interior fabric and squeaky doors. This is a great car for the money, but I was seriously disappointed just after purchase to find out that it actually has a Renault engine. Buying Japanese should mean buying Japanese not French Scenic under the bonnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

12th Jan 2011, 15:58

I wrote this review 5 years and 200,000 kms ago the Space star is still going strong and has never had any significant issues. Unbelievably reliable! requiring only oil/filter changes, pads and tyres, + belts at 100k - just ordered a Mitsubishi ASX and also own a Colt. I don't dare to try other manufacturers any more. If you can get a second hand 2004 Space Star DID with 100k on the clock it should be good for the same again.

2001 Mitsubishi Space Star Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carHonda Shuttle

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

The car arrived at the dealer without the allow wheels and minus all of the

Elegance trim parts. The dealer sourced all of the missing parts and fitted them.

Car ran perfectly for 22,000 miles then developed noisy tappets. The dealer stripped the head off and the vales were coked up to hell. They replaced the valves and tappet gear and decoked the engine - all under the warranty. Turns out that using supermarket fuel is to blame. Since then I've used only Shell and the car runs perfectly. Gives 45 MPG on a run and 38 around town.

General Comments:

Now five years old and still running like new with amazing get up and go.

Has more internal room than our other car (Subaru Forrester)

A little bouncy in the handling dept, but a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

2004 Mitsubishi Space Star id 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is a dream to drive. The only adverse comment is that, even with the seats forward the boot space is poor.

The engine is quiet and responsive and the gears are like silk. The seats are comfortable and hug the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

2004 Mitsubishi Space Star Comfort 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Reliable, well handling car which will pose no problems

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

The car is not quite as spacious as the Spacestar name suggests. The boot is no bigger than any hatchback. The rear seats do slide forward, but this takes away from the legroom of rear seat passengers. However the rear seats can also be collapsed to increase the boot space, which is great if you are carrying bulk items.

There are plenty of storage space around the car, such as under the front passenger seat.

The seats are reasonably comfortable.

The air-con drains a lot of power, this happened with a colt I had years ago.

The handling and suspension is somewhat soft, but overall is more than sufficient for carrying the family around.

Reliability is a strong point for Mitsubishi and is the main reason why I bought from this manufacturer.

The gear change is really smooth.

Acceleration is a little sluggish.

Overall a reliable, well handling car. I'm just not sure why they advertise it as an MPV rather than a hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

8th Nov 2007, 03:50

We have a big problem with our 2001 Mitsubishi space star, they told us when we brought it there was a known problem and they would decoke it for free for the life of the vehicle, that it was a simple job using crushed walnut shells and would take no time at all. Seven years later we came to trade it in and they said it would be £600 pounds to decoke it because it had to be done within the period of warranty, this was never mentioned to us... we feel totally conned, customer service was no help and wouldn't stand by the comments of their sales representatives. We will NEVER buy from Mitsubishi again!

3rd May 2008, 12:14

Did you really wait for seven years to fix something they offered you for FREE?

You are the ones to blame, not Mitsubishi. Some issues with the car have to be fixed in time, otherwise serious complications occur that nobody would be willing to repair for free on >7 y. old vehicle.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews