Mitsubishi Space Star Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Mitsubishi Space Star 1.8 GDi Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mondeo

Summary:

Love it to bits

Faults:

Valves Carboned up.

Injectors Blocked.

8 Breakdowns in 6 months.

Fails to start.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable driving position, ours is top of the range with leather seats, these could do with Heaters fitted because they are cold on winter mornings. Rear reclining seats and the seat base slides forward to give more boot room/ excellent sleeping position for the kids on long journeys.

The cabin as a light and airy feel to it due to there been a lot of glass area.

We love the car apart from I think I bought the "Friday afternoon car "

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

4th Dec 2005, 03:12

Make that 9 now I had it back a day and it broke down with the same fault again, the place I bought have finally taken it to Mitsubishi to be repaired, any one wanna buy it?

17th Mar 2006, 16:57

Never buy a car with a gdi engine, fitted to volvo s40s for a short while, nothing, but trouble.

30th Nov 2010, 20:00

The GDI engine *needs* to be run on high-octane fuel. If you run it on the standard supermarket stuff, it will give trouble.

All the direct-injection petrol engines are the same -- look at the Vauxhall 2.2 for example.

2003 Mitsubishi Space Star Equippe 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very good value, functional, reliable and easy to drive

Faults:

Brake pads worn out after 11000 miles- but that was the only problem we had with it.

General Comments:

Feels bigger than a saloon, but smaller than an MPV.

It is comfortable, but not luxurious.

The service we received from our Mitsubishi dealer was absolutely top notch- helpful, professional and friendly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

2004 Mitsubishi Space Star DiD S 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carCitroen C5

Summary:

One to consider

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Purchased 2nd hand from a car supermarket. Main reason was the very attractive price and my disappointment with my previous Citroen.

The DiD S model has the uprated diesel which puts out 115 bhp compared withe standard 101 bhp, and in a smallish car it really shifts. Take care introducing the power in wet weather as the high torque can easily invoke wheel slip.

Handling is not bad, crosswinds on exposed roads don't affect it like some modern cars, but you can go too quickly into corners/roundabouts, where suspension/tyres show their lack of sporting design, it isn't after all a sports car, but lower profile tyres at replacement might be an option.

Miss having no remote key for the central locking.

Some road noise from the tyres especially on poor or concrete surfaces, so turn up the radio/CD. Love having both a sun roof and aircon so you can choose how to stay cool.

The car feels solid, there are no trim rattles although the plastic looks cheap. The driving position and seats are very comfortable. Only suitable however, for 2 passengers in the back on longer journeys, because the centre armrest digs into your back makeing the middle seat uncomfortable.

The paint seems to be soft and is easily scratched /chipped so take care with parking and avoid roadside bushes if you can, mines black so everthing shows.

Because it's a relatively rare car most other motorists don't know what it is and it's fun to accelerate away from tailgating BMWs on the motorway.

Very pleased with the car so far, and averaging 48 mpg of mixed driving conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

27th Feb 2007, 06:25

Update on this car. I've now owned it for nearly 2 years, this morning the speedo passed the 85000 miles mark and still going like a train. Apart from routine servicing I've had.

Front and rear brake pads replaced,

New front tyres - twice

New rear tyres - once

New wiper blades.

Problems.

Sheared locking wheel nut key, happened when I had a puncture, AA couldn't help other than recover to dealer. All locking nuts now removed and staying removed.

Devil of a job getting blown offside sidelight bulb holder out of headlamp unit.

All in all a cracker of a car and still under warranty until May, probably best built car I've ever had in 30 years.

I'm gutted it's not made any more and Mitsubishi don't have a similar style car in their range.

2002 Mitsubishi Space Star Equippe 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Faults:

Minor wheel balancing problems.

The stuck-on 'Equippe' badges have fallen off the side trims.

Otherwise there have been no problems at all.

General Comments:

The car feels very solid and well put together, and there are very few rattles.

The 101 bhp Renault-sourced 1.9 common rail turbodiesel engine is refined and powerful, with loads of torque and gives effortless motorway cruising, but turbo lag can cause a few anxious moments when overtaking.

So far, overall diesel consumption is 47.5mpg, a little short of Mitsubishi's claimed 51.4 mpg, but as most of my driving is either fast on the motorway or slow around town, this seems pretty good.

The 9000 mile service interval is short by current standards. Mitsubishi should do something about this if they want to sell more of these cars.

Engine noise can be rather intrusive at lower speeds, but settles down to a distant hum at motorway speeds, where there is also a fair bit of wind noise.

The seats are firm but comfortable on long journeys.

The car can easily carry four passengers, but the boot is small and there isn't much space for luggage. A family with Granny and two kids could struggle to get everything in.

Steering and handling are good. The brakes are powerful, but feel slightly lifeless.

The CD player is good and the aircon is powerful. It's worth paying the extra for the Equippe specification.

I enjoy driving this car. The diesel engine is a gem and feels as if it will go on forever. Considering the price I paid, it may have to!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews