1993 Nissan 100NX Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Nissan 100NX NX Coupe 1.6 twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

A bargain sports car

Faults:

The air circulation switch broken!!! My driver and passenger doors have a slight leak. Passenger side door lock broken. My handbrake light stays on when handbrake is off.

General Comments:

It's a great car and it performs well. The T-bar roof is super-cool and easy to remove. I think for a nine year old car it still has a nice fresh look about it. Even on a dull, wet day the inside of the car stays bright thanks to the glass roof.

But I have to say there is a lot of rattles coming from the back of the car and they are driving me mad!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

1st Sep 2002, 17:07

I am having the exact same problems with my 92 Nissan Nx. The passenger door lock is broken so my door is permanently locked and I am trying to slim jim it right now. My handbrake light also stays on even when the brake is down. My air circulator switch is also broken. My passenger side door won't close properly so now there's a dent. I don't have rattling in the back though!!

1993 Nissan 100NX SLX T-Bar 1.6 injection 16V twin cam from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection 16V twin cam
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.... I have owned the car for about two months. It's my first car and it is really great.

Even my air circulation switch hasn't been broken (yet).......

General Comments:

Very nice looking car (with the complete body kit). It handles very good and I love driving in it.

If the roof is off it's even more fun to drive.Real good fun car.

Why I don't buy another Nissan?

They don't make this kind of car anymore.... My next car will probably be faster and also a fun car. No Nissan available so it will be an Honda Integra R or a Subaru Impreza Turbo or something like that. In the meanwhile I'll enjoy driving this car for four or five years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 1999

9th Jan 2001, 21:58

A Nissan 300ZX is a nice nissan that is fast.

Is a Nissan NX1600 the same as a 100NX with 1.6 lt.?

24th Jan 2001, 08:59

Yes, it is the same.

The 300ZX is awesome, especially the newer model WITH targa roof. Too bad the 200SX doesn't have a targa (at least as far as I know).

6th Feb 2002, 16:45

The Nissan NX1600 US model 1992, can anyone tell me the reliability on these?

19th Mar 2003, 06:53

I own a Nissan 100NX and it is a very reliable and fun to drive car. I live in Scotland and my 100NX is done up, I think its one of the nicest 100NX's in U.K.

1993 Nissan 100NX 1.6i 16v twin cam petrol from Cyprus

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v twin cam petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Air circulation switch has broken after being stuck for some time.

General Comments:

Superb car to drive, very fast, t-bar roof is excellent. The car is the best car I have ever known and I will be importing it back to the UK to carry on enjoying it. High insurance.

Any good insurance companies for UK?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

1993 Nissan 100NX 2.0 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol injection
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Air inlet lever always sticks on recycle. Manually pushing wipers down to their lowest position frees it (!).

Flimsy hinges on parcel shelf can break if you aren't careful when removing it.

Front spoiler needs constant touching up in wheelarch area.

General Comments:

Bought "new" in 1998 (dealer's own "project" car, never registered). The dealer removed all soundproofing and fitted lowered suspension with 7x15 alloys/Yokohamas, sports exhaust, close ratio box, and a remapped ECU.

Because the ECU has been changed, the insurance and fuel costs make it almost prohibitively expensive to own and run.

Fantastic performance and marvellous handling: easily the most exciting car I've ever owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998

1993 Nissan 100NX 1.6 carburettor petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 carburettor petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Carburettor problem. The car ran terribly when we bought it. We tried two Nissan main dealers and were told that bad running is a 'characteristic' of Nissans with Hitachi carburettors and Catalytic Converters. We wrote to Nissan UK and they said there was nothing that could be done to fix it. In desparation we 'phoned the local Weber carburettor specialist near Skegness. We couldn't get a replacement carburettor but they said they'd have a go at adjusting our existing carb. The result? For £100 we now have a car that performs like a car should. Fuel economy is excellent and starting is perfect every time. We have covered 10,000 miles in a year in it and it is still as good as when it was fixed by the garage.

General Comments:

Moral of the story is: If you have a Nissan 100, Sunny or something similar with a 'carb.' and a 'cat.', don't let Nissan fob you off with stories of 'characteristics' - it's a fault and it can be fixed!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 1998

15th May 2001, 00:33

Phone number of weber specialist please.

15th Jun 2001, 06:02

Corten-Miller, located in Friskney nr Skegness, Tel. 01754 820341.

26th Feb 2002, 04:52

Hi, I would like to know what they exactly have done to the carb. I live in Belgium and have the same problem. If you can describe me what they have done I would be able to tell my mechanic.

Thanks!

Have a nice day.

Davy_senna@hotmail.com

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews