1987 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1987 Nissan 200SX XE Coupe 2.0 L non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 L non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance302000 kilometres
Previous carMG B

Summary:

Best car I ever owned... my buddy for life

Faults:

Door panels are starting to crack due to age.

Brake calipers starting to stick (originals still on the car).

Rear coil springs have started to sag.

Inner fender cover on the driver's side of the engine compartment is rotting out.

Front seats have lost a bit of support over the years.

General Comments:

Great on gas (currently getting 32MPG highway).

Regular maintenance has saved me thousands of dollars over the years.

Mostly all original down to parts, and electronics.

Still has the original transmission, engine, and suspension (except shocks).

Very inexpensive to maintain, however some parts are now becoming unavailable through normal channels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

1st Sep 2001, 20:32

I have the SE model (V6) and I bought it new off of the showroom and still have it 175,000 miles later. Regular oil changes and tune ups have kept her in good shape. I am now looking to get a new car after fourteen years. I only hope that I can find a car just as reliable.

12th Feb 2008, 13:11

8th Aug 2001.

"Best car I ever owned... my buddy for life"

It is now 2008. I still have my 87 200sx. I managed to put 385,000 kilometers before having to rebuild the engine. It is now my summer car and the car still turns a few heads for those who don't know what type of car it is. Can't beat the classic look. Those of you who still have a 200sx in your life, keep cruising. They are fun to drive.

24th Apr 2008, 16:17

=) I have a 87 200SX XE.. currently got 130 mileage and it's been around 20 so years and still runs great.

1987 Nissan 200SX Notchback 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

A great car out of the 80's!

General Comments:

This was a super sporty car that came out of the 80's!!! It handled great (thanks to the four wheel independent suspension).

It was fun and very comfortable.

Handled high speeds great, never shook or rattled.

Very reliable, went on long trips through very hot temperatures and took it to the mountains often.

Air conditioning worked very well, did not bring up the engine temperature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

1987 Nissan 200SX 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

It's a sleeper, no one knows its limits

Faults:

I am 19 so I drive decently hard.

I have had to replace the clutch, fuel injector, brakeline, rear brakes, gas tank, windshield, spark plug wires and the exhaust.

There are self modifications for extra HP.

General Comments:

This is a GREAT car, although I have replaced a lot on it, they were all original parts from 87.

Performance is great, the engine runs like a top and when I pound it to the road it keeps coming back for more. It doesnt even shake when it's up over 200km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

19th Jul 2001, 13:28

I also have a original 1987 200SX, an automatic 2.0L coupe, which has seen 11 winters and still has the original paint, engine and transmission. I am closing in on 302,000kms on my original motor. Like you, this is a keeper, and I still have fun driving it, just like the first day I bought it.

What a great car, each time I take it for a spin, I can't help but open it up a lot on the road, it still has the power.

I think my car will go a lot further as long as I continue to carry out regular maintenance. Good to see your comments, have fun, Nissan sure doesn't make them like they used to... now all plastic and rubber, and overpriced.

My only problem right now is finding new coil springs for the suspension, but I'll keep looking. Take care and happy motoring!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews