1989 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1989 Nissan 240SX from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Summary:

Best ride ever

Faults:

Car needs new engine. engine blew from previous owner (dad).

Interior needs work.

General Comments:

Although I haven't driven my 240 I have driven my friends 240.

I can tell you that it handles like a dream sticks to the floor even while accelerating.

Engine sounds really nice. The roar of the engine blew me away.

Brakes reacted really well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

1989 Nissan 240SX 2.4 SOHC from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

This car is very excellent for racing

Faults:

The alternator went bad at around 180,000 miles.

The clutch started to have a rattle, but after a while it went away.

General Comments:

This is very quick and usually does not have problems. When I bought this car it had no problems.

I have not put any upgrades on it, but it is quick enough already that I do not have to worry about it losing. It is much quicker than a Civic, V6 Mustang, and other various 4-cylinders.

It is not that often to have and import that is RWD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

1989 Nissan 240SX 2.4 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance174000 kilometres

Summary:

Quick

Faults:

Bought the car for 500 dollars.

Needed driver side ball joint.

Tranny output seal.

All new brakes.

Rear Passenger side brake caliper.

PCV valve.

New plugs/air filter.

Hole in floor welded.

General Comments:

Living in Newfoundland the Winters are slippery and this car is no good in snow even with winter studs and sandbags in the trunk.

Bought car for 500 dollars needed 400 worth of parts, but motor in good condition runs well.

Corners like on rails, quick out of the turns.

Transmission shifts nice.

Can wait for summer again to see what she can really do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

1989 Nissan 240SX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles

Summary:

Nissan are great!

Faults:

I bought this car at 190,000 miles from a friend.

The motor was blown from revving engine at 7,000 to 8,000 rpm from drifting.

Install in a new KA24E in it.

Need replacing the clutch and brakes.

General Comments:

It has a good powers, but plenty of torque.

Handles super great. It will keep the 240sx on the rail!

Seats are alright, thinking about put a Sentra Se-r seat in 240sx because it has a better bucket seat.

Other than that it runs wonderful and will not let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2004

6th May 2005, 20:25

How many hp do you have? if you know send me at eleno_valdez@yahoo.com.

1989 Nissan 240SX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance375000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A great car for looks and handling, would have loved a bigger engine

Faults:

I replaced a clutch when I bought the car at 300,000 miles. The slave cylinder has also gone bad, but wasn't very expensive to replace.

General Comments:

I love this car. I am very into small, racing cars. This was perfect for my small budget. It has very good gas mileage and has good acceleration. The handling is awesome. I have driven Honda's and Neons and they don't compare to the 240SX. I would have preferred a V6 to match the sporty look of the car. The one thing I didn't like about the car was the very small backseats. I have a new infant and the car seat doesn't come even close to fitting in the backseat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 12:25

Maybe you should move the front seats up a bit... My friends have fit in the back seat, not really comfortably, but they've fit. I don't see why a car seat for a child wouldn't be able to fit. Glad you love the car though! I do too!

1989 Nissan 240SX XE 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles

Summary:

A nice first car

Faults:

The stereo mutes itself sometimes when I hit a bump. It's an electrical problem though within the CD player itself.

I had to be towed out 3 times this past winter. Not a good car in the snow. Snow tires are highly recommended.

Passenger door stopped locking. For a while I had to have people climb over the driver's seat or in the passenger window if they wanted to get in.

When driving in snow or heavy rain, drive the speed limit or well below it!

Backseats are extremely small. Everyone who sits back there always complains how they are cramped. When someone is sitting behind me, I have to move my seat up (almost so my chest is touching the steering wheel) in order for them to be comfortable. It's basically a 2-seater with lots of trunk space.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and it's great. I've been driving it for about 11 months now and there have been no serious problems. All problems if I had any were extremely cheap to fix.

The car is great on curves. It handles really well.

I highly recommend it for anyone, especially those who are getting their first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 39 reviews