1992 Nissan 240SX SE Fastback from North America


A stylish, reliable, performance car


Rotors have warped.

Heat shield Has come loose.

Left Headlamp flicker occasionally.

Driver seat as bad wear from entering and exiting car.

Driver floorboard has hole in carpet.

General Comments:

The car keeps going and going and going. I have driven over 5 1,000 mile trips and 20 500-600 mile trips. I have never had a major problem with it.

Unfortunately the rotors warped recently and are grinding. I am replacing them with performance rotor that are less likely to warp in the future.

The heat shield came loose after a long road trip. I just raised the car and removed it completely, runs fine.

Headlamp used to flicker rarely, due to a loose connection.

Interior showing severe wear and tear from daily driving. Hole in floorboard is from from foot placement/rubbing when on cruise control.

I never want to part from this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

1992 Nissan 240SX 2D Fastback 2.4L from North America


A fast, stylish and very appealing car


The driver's side seat has a rip in it.

General Comments:

I truly love my car.

It turns on a dime.

The handling is excellent.

The only thing I find is that I'll be going along the freeway and think I'm going around 70mph and look down to find I'm going closer to 85mph.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants to go fast and not have to worry about the insurance sky-rocketing, because it's only a four cylinder engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2002

1992 Nissan 240SX SE Fastback 2.4 4 cylinder. from North America


A good looking economical car


Nothing has gone wrong with the car since I got it last January.

The only thing that I had to do, is I had to fix a good size dent that was on the front right side of the sunroof.

General Comments:

I got my car for my 16th Birthday.

It's quick, and for a 4cylinder, has great performance.

The car handles and drives like a dream.

I would recommend the 240sx to anyone looking for a new car, or a first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

1992 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 inline-4 from North America


Get ready for a fast and amazing ride!!!


My gear-box went out after 1 month.

Driver's seat has a hole in the side.

Other than that, I have no problems with the car.

General Comments:

This car is just something special.

I couldn't believe that a 4-cylinder can have that good pick up without any turbos or supercharger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1992 Nissan 240SX SE coupe 2.4L I4 from North America


A quick little car


I had to replace my rocker panels after I got it because they started to rust. About $200.

I had a big problem with overheating, brought it in a lot with no results. My brother looked at it and tightened a cap and it works fine now. Ended up paying about $160 on that.

General Comments:

This car is really nice. I have found that even though it is rear wheel drive with no ABS I still can handle her really well in the snow and ice. I wish she was a manual because then I wouldn't have the lags that I get when she is cold or when she just is started up.

Cornering is great along with the sound. Doesn't sound like any other Japanese car out there.

Took her on two trips over 200 miles, pretty comfortable for both. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

1992 Nissan 240SX Fastback LE 2.4 gasoline from North America


The best Japanese bang-for-buck value


Had to replace the starter and ignition switch due to it being broken into.

Had to replace the rotors at 143,000 miles.

Had to replace the thermostat at 139,000 miles.

Sunroof seal has started to wear badly and whistle.

Leather door panel inserts are coming off.

Rubber-coated spoiler is cracking.

Had to replace the valve cover gasket at 138,000 miles.

Tires wear terribly because I need a cam-kit to correct the camber.

General Comments:

The car may not be a BMW as far as comfort is concerned, but for a four-cylinder it's as fast as greased lightning. In the rain accelerating is a true challenge without spinning the tires a few times, but on dry pavement it's as if it and the road are joined at the hips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 20:16

I have a 92 240SX SE, and I haven't done anything to it but change the oil. It's very dependable and I agree that in the rain it's not very hard to break the rear tires loose.

My mother has been asking me ever since she drove it if she can have it and for me to buy another, but I have no intention to get rid of it.

When I bought mine from a young woman it had 70K, in October 98, I now have 171K and it still runs just as good as the day I bought it. Nice to know that other people are as happy with theirs as I am with mine.

15th Dec 2002, 23:11

I bought my 92'240sx in June 2002 with 68,000 miles on it. Now it is December and I've already put another 10,000 miles on it. I bought it from a dealership and got a 3 year warranty, I noticed it was puffing grey smoke during start up and acceleration. I took it in and it ended up being the valve seals. Well thanks to that warranty I only had to pay fifty bucks and she runs great now. I absolutely love this car and would not give it up for the world.