1993 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1993 Nissan 240SX 2.4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

Excellent machine!

Faults:

Thermostat and radiator at 150,000 miles.

Light dimmer switch at 120,000 miles.

Head light at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has been an extraordinary car. Very reliable and very low operating cost. It averages 34 mpg on 87 octane fuel.

This is the best handling vehicle that I have ever owned. The brakes are also exceptional, and have helped me avoid some collisions with animals in the dark.

The engine is very powerful and responsive, and the transmission is slick and smooth. They did a lot of things right when building this car.

It has over 158000 miles, and everything still works on the vehicle.

The struts are starting to clunk and will need to be replaced in the future. My only other complaint would be the front seat's quality and comfort are lacking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2008

1993 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 liter NA 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter NA 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

If you are looking for a budget sports car, look no further!

Faults:

When I first purchased the car, it was running on only 3 cylinders. Even though, power was still good! Problem was sourced to a faulty fuel injector.

Some of the exhaust heat shielding was starting to rust away. I manually removed it all.

Carpet was in terrible condition, especially on the driver's side.

Hatch cylinders no longer holds the hatch up.

General Comments:

After injector was replaced, the car pulls very hard. Nissan chose to use the 2.4 liter KA24DE from it's light truck for the US/Canadian versions of this car. Even though, the car has decent acceleration. The car's governor will kick you back at 117mph.

Even with stock suspension, this car handles like a dream. Cornering is quick, and confident. There is little body roll, but not entirely noticeable. I eventually replaced the stock struts with after-market adjustable coil-overs. With these, it a whole new car.

Braking is decent, but not spectacular.

Stock petals make it a little hard to heel-n-toe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2007

1993 Nissan 240SX SE Convertible 2.4L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance118500 miles

Summary:

Best affordable convertible sports car ever made!

Faults:

63,000 miles-replaced top and rear curtain.

70,000 miles-replaced factory original brake pads, all 4 wheels.

83,000 miles-replaced valve cover gasket.

90,000 miles-replaced battery.

General Comments:

Currently need to replace struts, all wheels.

Seats need to be repaired and recovered.

Great little convertible, handles great with BF Goodrich T/As, no engine or auto transmission problems, no rust, no paint problems. No ABS brakes, but stops great. A real fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

28th May 2006, 15:52

The Nissan 240sx Convt. is a very reliable car. Although you run into some minor parts here and there, the only major thing that has to be done eventually is the top at like 80,000 miles.. Most of the time it can be done for under a grand, and it looks good redone.

25th Sep 2008, 15:02

My '93 Vert is a great car, I bought for $500 dollars with 31,215 miles on it mint condition. It would stall all the time and she thought it was a blown motor, it turned out I replaced a air/idle control valve and never had any other problems. It is a great car that is easy and cheap to maintain!

1993 Nissan 240SX from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Dash board lights, digital speedometer and odometer do not work!

General Comments:

I love this car and think it is awesome!

I just need to find out why these things wrong with it are wrong!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

1993 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4L Inline-4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Inline-4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85741 miles
Most recent distance92612 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Excellent vehicle for the money (paid 4000)

Faults:

The only problem I've had with the car is when one of the fuel injectors went bad and had to be replaced.

A lot of paint chips on the front.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best handling vehicles for the money.

It has nice pick up for a automatic four cylinder.

Terrible in snow and rain, I ditched it twice in one day.

Seats are terrible for hard cornering.

OK gas mileage, avg 17 city/ 26 highway.

Super reliable, will not die on you.

Does excellent burnouts comparable to muscle cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

1993 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Fun to drive and easy on the wallet

Faults:

There is a small drip from the oil pan.

There are a couple of buzzes and rattles that I cannot locate.

The front seat upholstery is loose and saggy.

General Comments:

This is a well made car for it's price.

It runs well and sounds very nice with a three inch exhaust. The handling is superb, although the ride can be a little harsh over bumps. The gearbox is very smooth, although it is occasionally a hard shift to fifth under hard acceleration.

I have averaged 30 MPG with mixed highway driving, so the economy is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

14th Nov 2009, 16:40

Original poster here with an update. I've had this car for about five years now and it has 176,000 miles. This car has grown on me and has proven to be above average in reliability and low cost of operation. I've had to replace the radiator, one fuel injector, rear wheel tire alignment, and head light switch. I performed every repair by myself and am very pleased with the excellence in engineering of this machine. Every repair has costed me about $100 each, so in five years, I've spent about $400. The gas mileage has averaged 32 MPG with mostly highway driving speeds (55mph-65mph). My only complaint is the lacking comfort of the seats...

8th Dec 2010, 21:04

Thanks for the update! It is great to know how they are holding up after being owned a few years.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews