1993 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1993 Nissan 240SX 2.4L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Despite it's flaws, I love this car to death

Faults:

CD player broken.

Antenna doesn't go up (missing?), but the radio works fine.

Noisy A/C compressor 1500 miles after purchase.

Very slight oil plug leak.

Corrosion on car seat rails.

Car seat cover loose.

Rear windshield defroster never worked.

Rear bumper's paint is faded (the rest of the car still has original 1993 coat!)

General Comments:

A lot of fun to drive.

Looks great.

Car seat isn't very comfortable; the headrest pushes your head forward (which is good if you're in an accident, but just feels a little annoying).

Has gotten me across the country (Florida to California) and back, easily.

Very quiet with normal driving (extremely low RPM with overdrive left on), sounds beautiful when the engine is revved to high RPM on the highway.

Very tight turn radius.

Ridiculously clean interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

1993 Nissan 240SX from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, Fast, and Reliable

Faults:

Electric antenna quit working.

(happens to everybody I think)

Nothing major, just small fixes.

General Comments:

This car took a bit of "getting used to" but after you get the hang of it, shes the funnest thing you will drive. (unless you get a lotus or something)

The car I had before it was a 97 Cutlass supreme with a 3.1L v6, but the 240 seems to push out the same power, if not more.

Not the best car for the winter, but who buys a sports car to go driving around in the winter.

The back seats... well, that's not its strongest point, but for short trips, its no big deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2003

1993 Nissan 240SX from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Good economy and performance

Faults:

I have replaced the whole cooling system in the last year, but otherwise it has just required normal servicing.

I am most unhappy with the wear in convertible top and body which may be due to previous ownership.

General Comments:

Based on owning this car, I would purchase another Nissan in a heartbeat!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

1993 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

The 240sx is car that has not come close to meeting its potential

Faults:

I have not had any problems at all with this car.

General Comments:

The 240sx is a mild performer with solid torque in stock trim, however it has probably the best potential of any import car. The 2.4 liter engine is very large for a 4 cylinder import.

I highly recommend it for anyone wanting a car, whether they want mild or wild. The rear end does like to kick out on the corners, so be careful.

The interior is the best out there bar none, as long as your friends in the back seat aren't tall.

The exterior looks are excellent in the fast back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

1993 Nissan 240SX SE Convertible 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A very fun in the sun car that handles great

Faults:

Loose cloth on the front seats is the only problem that I have encountered.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. I have no problem driving it several hundred miles on a trip without any worries of mechanical problems.

I love the way it handles and it is fun to drive with the top down on warm days. The back seat room is very cramped, only big enough for small children and that is if the front seats are pushed forward.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1993 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 DOHC L-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC L-4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired93265 miles
Most recent distance97852 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Read this, awesome review; greatest sports car

Faults:

Seat belts were a little pricey.

Seat belt motors are dieing.

Bought the car with 15 inch chrome rims with no wheel keys.

Took a lot of money to fix simple damages.

Easy overheating.

Low red line, if you ask me.

Dash has cracked badly.

Windshield chips are pretty bad.

Other than that 240sx's rock the street.

General Comments:

This car is the best cheap sports car.

Bone stock can nail a modified Civic, easy.

Awesome pickup, especially will 5-speed.

Great with burnout other than the non-limited slip, one wheel smokies.

Around corners is the best place for a 240sx, it sticks to the road, went 94mph around a 75 degree turn, fun!

Comfortable ride now, wait until my air ride suspension from KMW performance.

In car comfort, OK if your in front seat.

Every pulled G forces in a bone stock car? Red line 1st and floor 2nd around a turn, can you say dizzy?

I love showing off for the little supped up Civics.

Kicked back on me at 110 mile per hour.

Never used rev-limiter, I will when I get my B Racing one that makes flames!!

U-turns and rain equals fun.

The 1993 SE Coupe with heads up display is the rarest Japanese sports car! Which I have.

Found a good deal on my baby. $2000 with 6 spoke chrome rims, can't beat.

Carpets hard to clean.

Great for stereos, I'm running 2 10's in bandpass with 800 watt amp and air tight trunk. Wow it hits hard.

My 240sx came in an auction, good luck.

I recommend 240sx's to Civic owners, mostly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

25th Feb 2003, 20:45

Awesome review, man. 15 inch? That's kind of small.

9th Mar 2003, 23:51

15 inch is the stock rim size, so I guess it is "small" for an upgrade. I have 17's, but not actually by choice (they didn't make 16's in 4x114.3) and I think that any larger wouldn't look good or work out. Let's me run 215/45R17 Dunlop FM901's and I stick like crazy on the corners, couldn't be happier. But honestly, for tire choice and price, 16" is probably the optimum diameter wheel for a 240; width, well wider is better :).

14th Apr 2003, 02:15

I used to own a 1993 240sx LE. These cars handle incredibly, but that's about it. My friend beat me in his stock 92 Integra. The 240's have the top speed advantage due to the 2.4L high output, but acceleration is lacking. So don't think this car is fast, its not. I used to think so, but now I drive a 275hp trans am. I know now the error of my thinking...

11th Mar 2005, 17:37

The governor kicks in at 180 km/hr (~110 mph) and shuts down the engine. That is the 'kickback' the original post mentioned.

19th May 2008, 23:56

I have had two of these beautiful cars; a white '91 auto and currently a Sapphire Blue '93 5 speed with HUD.

Their beauty is timeless, and I give a big kudos for how well this car was thought out, from the gauge placement to the locking glovebox and gas tank door. Sure, simple things, but isn't that what we come to appreciate most? Oh, and did I mention the HUD? What a great idea! And you got to love the Tach that sits nicely in the middle of it all. Now that's a true sign of a sports car.

The 2.4L will get up and move especially once the limiter is removed. Here's a secret, now that the SR20DET engine is being imported: lookout! Yep, 300+ HP that will swap directly into your existing 240!

And the best part for last. These babies handle like they are on rails! Drop it and add some 17s and you've just created a monster!

Well, like the ads of the early '90s said... ENJOY THE RIDE!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews