1986 Nissan 300ZX Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1986 Nissan 300ZX 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance346000 miles

Summary:

Excellent!! Nissan should make 10000 more of these vehicles..

Faults:

This is my third 300ZX.

I bought this car from the original owner. The car has 346,000 miles on the original engine and transmission. Change the fluids every 15,000 miles and it will last. Stay with original Nissan parts, and I have tried brake rotors from other companies, and they just don't work.

I am looking forward to turning 500,000 miles on this vehicle... Oh yeah... Still have the original paint on the car.

I have been offered $3000.00 for it... I will keep it until it falls apart.

Poor gas mileage, but a fun car to drive in the summer.

Buy an older 300ZX and restore it, and you will have fun.

General Comments:

This car is fast!!! I wish I could purchase another one brand new... Best car I have ever purchased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

9th Mar 2006, 20:40

Poor gas mileage? Mine gets an average of 26.5mpg! Its totally stock!

15th Feb 2007, 11:22

My only complaint is the gas mileage. I guess it depends how it's driven. I have the turbo model and it goes back and forth to the BART station (I live in the bay area and this is the public transportation) parking lot M-F about 12 miles a day. On weekends it's driven very little. Very little freeway miles. I only get about 16 mpg. I'm at the pump every 2 weeks!

24th Jan 2008, 14:13

I have a 86 300zx turbo and have a problem with the speedometer and gas gauge and was wanting to know if anyone else had any similar problems with their 300, LET ME KNOW.

21st Feb 2008, 14:42

I am the second owner of a 1986 300zx 2+2 non turbo. I LOVE IT! Purchased it in 1997. No major problems. Original paint job is goo (would like to redo). Need tune up. The clutch changed twice during the life of this car. First owner female as well. Well taken care of. Praying about investing in it to give it a tune up. Much like humans getting a physical.

I don't want to sell, but if the right caring person appear... I'll consider.

1986 Nissan 300ZX GLL 3.0L V6 181ci from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 181ci Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129840 miles
Most recent distance139500 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A fun little beast

Faults:

Passenger side window motor died.

Rear wiper sprayer never worked.

General Comments:

This is just an incredible car. For being almost 20 years old, it was the most reliable vehicle I have ever driven. It wasn't the fastest out there being that it was a non-turbo, but it was definitely fun. It handled like it was on rails and was a blast to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

1986 Nissan 300ZX NA 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I will never sell it!

Faults:

Brake Master Cylinder at 138000.

Clutch Master Cylinder 141000.

General Comments:

I bought the car from a neighbor in May. It had been sitting in a garage for about two years. Both of my problems can be traced back to this. The car is great. I was looking for a car to drive back in forth to college, because my 1991 Ford Explorer was constantly giving problems and just sucked gas. This 300ZX is reliable and gets 27 mpg! I love it. It doesn't leak or burn any fluids. Even being 19 yrs old, it turns heads. I really enjoy the interior the most. Its full of features and it has a talking voice! Like most Japanese cars, this one is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

14th Sep 2006, 21:04

Same Owner,

Now at 160k miles. Good gas mileage, no oil consumption.

However, several 20 year old car repairs will be neede in the near future. Shocks, Struts, and a few other things. Also, I have began experiencing the vaccum leaks. Still a great reliable car. Heck its 21 years old!

1986 Nissan 300ZX from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles

Summary:

If it wasn't for the air conditioning and the digital failing I'd give it a ten

Faults:

Air conditioning is out.

Digital dash is out.Could someone please inform me as hos to correct the failed digital? Roman 11@aol.com

General Comments:

Fast and handles like a Ferarri.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

2nd Sep 2007, 18:23

Try looking on ebay for a used dash, I found several to purchase.

21st Jul 2008, 18:48

The digital dash is a common problem with the cars. $1100 upgrade, 100% garbage.

-J.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews