1986 Nissan 300ZX Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1986 Nissan 300ZX V6 no turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 no turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An inexpensive sports car

Faults:

The climate control system thinks that it is in the Arctic. It blows only hot air all the time. The dealer wants $1200 for a new climate control unit.

The driver's side window works only when it wants to.

General Comments:

This car is fast! It hugs the turns and has absolutely no body roll. It is not the best car for interstate driving, however, driving through the Siskiyu Mountains of Southern Oregon/Northern California is a blast! The cruise control holds the speed either up the mountain or down. For being a 16 yr old car, it still has great performance and gets lots of looks. I love the t-tops!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

19th Apr 2003, 10:46

I agree. Mine has 234000 miles. Same problems--hot air always, driver side window *may* go up, easy to go down. No roll in turns, but speed maxes around 110 mph.

16th May 2003, 14:32

I agree with you on the climate controll.. mine blows out hot air all the time too.. Best way to cure is to push the button to recyle the air... Overall performance is great.

Fastest I have it is around 145MPH.. Handles like a dream.

14th Jul 2003, 10:21

When a wealthy Ferrari owning friend of mine bought one of these he said to me" I just bought a $30,000 Ferrari. I didn't quite believe him till I owned the '86 300 ZX Turbo.

This is truly a special car. I've owned Jags Alfas and other exotic autos and this ranks with the best. Yes there are some faults like the AC (which doesn't exist) and certain little plastic pieces falling off.

Speed, handling, transmission, roadability, cornering are all superb. I got her in 2000 and keep her tuned and shining. She has 149,000 miles and feels like it just rolled off the show room floor.

13th Oct 2005, 20:53

Climate control is not the problem---It is a vacuum hose leak!!!Check the "T" junction to the left side of the battery and the hose connections at the back of the right headlight.

Good luck---I almost sold my 86 because of this very minor problem--Took 1 minute to fix.

1986 Nissan 300ZX from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A dream car

Faults:

There was only a few minor things that have gone wrong with my 300zx.

For example:

I had to replace the transmit-ion. It wasn't that bad though, because I already had the car for 5years.

The only other thing I can think of is that, the wheels came off while driving. This was due too bad installation of the tires by the mechanic.

General Comments:

This car is fast! It handles like a dream. It hugs corners like no other car I have had.

The seats are very comfortable and there is lots of leg room.

However, the air conditioner does not work and the windows are not tinted so, it does get very hot inside!

Also it is starting to wear badly inside, but that's not it's fault. I can't stop driving it!

The performance on this car is like no other. If you want a nice car, but don't want to pay the high prices. I would suggest you for a 300zx!Because once you 300zx, you never go back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2002

18th Jul 2007, 14:48

I have the 300zx. I have had the same complaints with no AC and worn interior. Other than that this car runs like a champ. Any time I drive another car I'm disappointed by the lack of power. My car even talks to me!! "Right door is open" "Fuel level is low"...all in a woman's voice. It's so ahead of its time.

1986 Nissan 300ZX GLL non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance167800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

This car is a labor of love

Faults:

The second day I had the car I blew the engine up. I had a rebuilt engine replace it, though.

The t-tops leak on the passenger side, fixable but costly ($200 +).

The fuel gauge is not accurate and hasn't been the entire time I have owned the car. That too is also fixable but costly.

The drivers side window motor had to be replaced, the brake master cylinder had to be replaced twice, and the radio was great when working but I had to replace that too.

The rear quarter panel windows had to be resealed due to leaks.

The air conditioning does not blow cold air anymore, and during acceleration it blows hot air.

The antenna had to be replaced.

The transmission also had to be fixed.

The parking brake needed to have its cables replaced.

The rear suspension bushings needed to be replaced. The springs and shocks needed to be replaced.

All these things are somewhat expected for a car as old as this one.

General Comments:

I love this car due to its aerodynamic design. I also enjoy the exclusivity of having one of the few Z-31s that are in great shape. As a friend of mine, who used to own a 86 turbo tells me, once these cars start to go bad they just keep on racking up the problems. So if you have the money then get the car; if you don't you may want to think about how much you will want to spend on the car. All in all, I am still proud to call the car my own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

20th May 2003, 01:53

This review sounds like it was written for my car. I have a 1987 Nissan 300ZX 2+2. I had very similar problems with my Z car. It was nice to read this review because now I know some more things to watch for before they go out. Although I've made my share of trips to the local brake and muffler shop, I still love my 300ZX.

1986 Nissan 300ZX Coupe V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

I'm hooked on the 300ZX

Faults:

The only problem I have with the car is that it needs a new coat of paint. And the radio doesn't work and that's about it.

Some other things too, but that's because the owner who had it never changed anything on it. Can't complain, though I paid 600.00 dollars for it.

General Comments:

The car, even though it has those little problems, is fast as hell!! I've gone down 95 south heading to N.Y.C at over 110 and that's without overdrive. The ride at that speed is smooth, the car hugs the road and turns on dime. No shaking or rattling of the steering wheel or the car itself.

Comfortable to drive especially in the summer with the top off!!

The brake power is quick as hell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1986 Nissan 300ZX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87600 miles
Most recent distance107200 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Best used car I ever purchased

Faults:

Idle sensor.

General Comments:

I bought this car in 1998 from the original owner for $2800.00. She is in mint condition and has been completely reliable. The drivers seat is more comfortable than my livingroom recliner! I would recommend this model highly. My only complaint is it's rather weak air conditioning (a problem that plagues most Z's)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2000

3rd May 2001, 10:27

I also have a 300zx turbo and I agree with you.

17th Oct 2002, 10:01

I to indeed have a Z and agree the AC is not that great. Also the radio head unit isn't that great.

31st Oct 2002, 21:51

I agree with the prior statements. BUT what a car!! I've owned some exotic cars and my '86 300zx turbo is certainly one of the best.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews