10th Dec 2002, 18:42

From what I've read the car gets a little squirrely when its wet or snowy. Most rear-wheel drive sports cars are like that though.

The reliability is awesome. One could actually buy a used car at 120k miles and still get 5 years out of it. Maintenence becomes more important though.

17th Dec 2002, 18:43


...Don't buy it unless you've got money to BLOW!!!

21st Feb 2003, 12:23

I am also a fellow Z owner. I'm 18 and I just bought a 1991 300ZX TT and so far it's perfect. Maintenance costs ARE NOT that high, and one of my friends' mom owned a Z and said it was easy to work on. To the convertible Z owner, it is a nice car (it's a Z--it has to be!), but the twin turbo wins every time, without the sort of weird shape the soft top gives the car. Don't get mad, though, nice car! 300ZX's RULE!!!

16th Apr 2003, 02:12

Oh how I enjoy watching those corvette's in my rear view mirror. I've had my 90zx tt since 1997 and it has been as solid as a rock. Routine oil changes and regular maintenance has minimized repairs. To understand this automobile is to drive it, talking about it simply does not do it justice.

29th Jan 2004, 09:08

I have just read the original review and wanted to make one comment. I drive a '90 TT in Scotland, good weather and bad weather, and it has never failed me. The comment regarding everyday use I think is incorrect. Let the car warm up for a few minutes and don't get too heavy on it for a couple of miles and you will have no problems. I use Castrol RS oil and get it serviced regularly. Oh and let the turbos stop spinning after every run.

There is a great network of dealers in the UK to keep costs down so never be afraid of getting your hands on one.

11th Mar 2005, 13:44

TT stands for Twin Turbo.

NA stands for Naturally Aspirated. (Non-turbo)

No need to chastise people who aren't familiar with the acronyms. Inexperienced people often have a hard time breaking into the auto scene. Granted some research could have easily provided the answer, everyone makes mistakes and everyone handles situations differently. Think of how much extra you had to type to belittle him, as opposed to just giving him the answer to the question he asked.

17th Mar 2005, 14:32

Sorry, but I have to agree with the "belittling" comment. This guy thinks he is interested in the Z, but seems to know not even the most basic information about them, so instead of doing the research himself to find the answers to his questions (not all THAT difficult before the internet, maybe involving a trip to--HORRORS!--the LIBRARY). And now, WITH the internet, the answers are only a couple keystrokes and mouse clicks away.

HE could have taken the time spent to post those questions to do his own research, instead of just waiting for someone to tell him, raising the question of just how interested he is in a Z car at all.

23rd Mar 2005, 14:10

Well, here's your response: buy the one you like better, not the one someone tells you to buy. Everybody has their own opinions, but you're the one who is going to be driving it.

My own opinion is that any 300ZX in halfway decent condition is going to be much more distinctive and impressive than an Eclipse, even if not necessarily faster.

You are comparing a rwd sports car to a fwd sporty car.

30th Jul 2005, 02:17

I'm having a hard time believing my eyes. I found a japanese exporter selling a 1990 Z 2+2 TT Automatic T-Tops. Everything I've been looking for in a 300. The only problem I forsee is, can I trust these exporters to send me this car in working condition?

6th Jan 2006, 13:11

I have owned a 1990 TT Z for about 3 years... It was in fair condition when I purchased it, but after some serious time in local shops... the Fairlady is strutting her stuff and turning everyones head. I have a lot of mods on her and she absolutely loves to be taken on an open highway or track. I have loved the VG series engines since my '85 Maxima.. (had a '91 240sx to drift back in the day as well... KA engine) any way... I would advise anyone who has the chance to drive a Z car... a good one... and never look back!

14th Jan 2006, 11:35

I'm also a huge fan of the Z and was looking for a decent one since I was 16, I'm 18 now. I might sound crazy after I say this, but I think there are some people who would understand me, I'm looking for a 2+2 TT version, possibly t-tops too. I know this version is non-existent in the US, but I've seen one go not far away from me, I missed it!!! I haven't had a chance to test drive it, but I did have an opportunity to drive Eclipse Spyder GS-T. Man, I have to say if that car is fast I can only imagine what 100 more horses would feel like!!! Anyway, I hope that I will find my dream car the way I want it, until then all I say is that if you can get your hands on one, I'd say do it and don't turn back. Forget about the money, after all we only get to live once and I think we deserve to own this beast before we go.

9th Sep 2008, 20:16

Hey guys and girls, I always wanted a Z car from when I started being a car nut at the age of 12. Then when the 350Z came out, I was in love. I got my 1st car at 19 - before then I drove my dad's cars.

Anyways, my 1st car was a 1998 Nissan Sentra; I put a bunch of money in it, and it's great. Then I went to college, so I needed something newer to get me there and back, since it was a 2 hours drive every day. So I got a 2007 Ford Focus gfx edition - sweet car, but now I have a place on my own and a garage, and there is a 1987 Nissan 300ZX that is for sale in my area, and I'm thinking about buying it. Anyone got some info on it to make me wanna buy it or not? Thanks.