2002 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 14 of 23

2002 Nissan Altima 2.5 S from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 S Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Bad year for Nissan Altima 2.5S

Faults:

My Altima is having all of the problems related to the head gasket that is described in the posts on this site. The spark plug in the third spot has gone bad twice in 9 months, the second time actually fusing itself in place requiring that we tow the vehicle to the shop to have it machined out. It has been eating oil and coolant and we have discovered (thanks to the spark plug issues) that it has problems with the head gasket. After a $1200 bill, we still have had numerous problems with oil and coolant consumption. We have contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and they are not yet taking any action, however they may do so if enough complaints are received. I called them at 1-800-647-7261. Please do this if your Altima is having the same problems that mine is!

General Comments:

We loved it until we had all of the problems described above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2007

3rd Oct 2007, 20:01

I too have had this exact issue going on with my Altima as I write. My vehicle has been at the dealership for almost three weeks. Upon extensive research there are many problems with the 02 engine and I do think we should all come together and do something about it. Let's take ACTION and possibly look to see if a Class Action Suit might be a solution.. Nissan is not satisfying any of thes complaints and the dealerships do not seem to care. A reputable Nissan Dealer should not be reselling this model car. Why should they sake their reputation.

2002 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

The car is idling rough; when it starts you can hear water trickling around, and when you make a turn after it is first started.

Now it doesn't want to start. I have been filling the radiator with coolant every other day. I am about to take it to the dealership. I have only had the car 11 months.

General Comments:

The same problems have been mentioned by everyone... SOUNDS LIKE WE NEED A LAWSUIT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima 2.5SL from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Roomy and sytlish, but SUCKS IN PERFORMANCE!

Faults:

I am just another victim in the problem. I purchased the 2002 Nissan Altima 5 years ago. My Nissan engine rattles perfusely and shakes; it is paid for and I wonder why I even went there just thinking like everyone else which is I thought was doing business with a respectable car company. There should be a way that we can take consumer action against Nissan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

I have been very pleased, so far

Faults:

I am having problems with starting the car while the AC is on. The car struggles to crank and there is a knocking noise. When I shut the AC off, it goes away. I have taken the car in for a diagnostics test and they couldn't find anything. Can anyone help?

General Comments:

I have been very pleased with the car, but I am getting worried that something is about to go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima 2.5L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance82250 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

I feel it is a lemon; it should not have had such major problems just after the warranty expired

Faults:

I had no major problems, until late in 2006 when I began to have problems with the heater around 81,000 miles.

I took it back to the Nissan dealership, and was told that the problem was fixed, but then realized that it had not.

Later in June 2007, I took it back to have my WV annual inspection done, get an oil change along with the usual service, get a tail light bulb replaced, at about 81,000, and get the heater/AC problem fixed. The dealership said they did all the previous things, but it would cost several hundred dollars to fix the heater problem. I decided to pass on that at the present time.

I then had a major problem with burning oil, and the engine/catalytic converter needing to be replaced at a little over 82,000 miles.

The next week I unexpectedly had to drive to southern Wisconsin in the Altima. About 400 miles into my drive, I started hearing noises coming from under the hood while I was going at low speeds through Chicago highway construction. No engine lights came on, so I continued on to Wisconsin. That was a Saturday evening.

I picked up my son and we started back to WV, but the noises started getting worse. We decided to stop and stay overnight in Champaine, IL. The next morning (Sunday) we headed to a gas station where I checked the oil and saw very little on the dipstick. This was strange to me, because we had just had the oil changed less than 2,000 miles ago. I added a few quarts of oil and we continued on the drive.

East of Cincinnati, with the car continuing to make the engine noise and with about 100 miles to go, it suddenly accelerated on a hill to about 6,000 RPMs and then barely would run at all. With the help of a police officer, we pulled off the road to a convenience store/gas station near Peebles, OH. There we called a tow truck and learned that there was no oil in the engine. We had to leave the car there and call someone to drive 100 miles to come get us on that Sunday evening.

Then I had to get the car towed to a Nissan dealership in Kentucky, where I was told that the engine was destroyed and had to be replaced. The dealership submitted this job and my name to some kind of Good Faith program where it was denied without reason; with the exception of a few oil changes and tires, all my work has been done at one Nissan dealership. My local dealership would not give me any satisfaction either.

After paying $4700 to have a Jasper reconditioned engine installed, my son headed home in the Nissan (Although I knew it was a lot of money, I felt a little reassured that there was a 75,000/3 year warranty on the Jasper engine.) The "service engine" light came on so my son called the KY dealership who came and picked up the car; they called back saying that the whole engine problem had been caused by a bad catalytic converter, which would cost $800+ to replace. The service manager told me that this was not the first time they had seen this problem in 2002 Nissan Altimas. We checked around and found a business a little closer to home that could replace the catalytic converter for only around $250, but today they told us that they could not do the job after all, due to the catalytic converter being too close to the manifold?

General Comments:

For nearly 4 years, this car handled well, and was comfortable, attractive, and dependable. My son and I are at wit's end in this saga; I can't afford to buy a brand new car, but with all I have now spent on this vehicle, I probably should have done so.

I have been really careful to have all recalls done and to have all the recommended service done over the 4 years I have owned the car. I had done my homework before purchasing this vehicle used, and never dreamed that we would have experienced these problems.

Considering all the posts I have seen from people experiencing the same problems with their 2002 Nissan Altimas, I feel that Nissan needs to do a recall or help owners of these vehicles to make the needed repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

17th Jul 2008, 23:24

For 2002, the Altima was redesigned and used the new QR25DE four cylinder engine -- replacing the venerable KA24DE from the previous model years. Unfortunately the QR did have some teething problems when it was first introduced. Sounds like you experienced some of them. But for anyone considering a 2001 model, this was not a problem on 2001 and prior models. The KA24DE engine is well known for being highly reliable and durable.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 88 reviews