2002 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 15 of 23

2002 Nissan Altima nissan altima s 2002 2.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Cold Start problem.

General Comments:

To fix this problem, nothing complicated, have the local

Nissan Dealership clean the throttle body, and the problem will be solved.

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

SO SO not worth it

Faults:

I have the whole liquid sound, and they said that radiator thing too, but I put Stop Leak in it, and it stopped all the problems.. it is like 10 bucks at any out store...

I also have my hubby do my oil changes; the Nissan dealer used american oil filter!!

I don't like how the car is always off balance. Make sure you keep up with recalls on your own, as Nissan is not helpful.

General Comments:

I will not buy one again. I am buying an Acura...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima S 2.5L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It looks nice, but the engine sucks

Faults:

I replaced my heater core, my catalytic converter, fuel injectors, and my 02 sensor.

General Comments:

When I bought it, it ran great.

After it hit 85-90k, everything started to go wrong.

When it's in gear and stopped, it shakes like crazy. Put it in neutral and it idles smooth.

It burns oil. I add 2 quarts every 3 days, and have to add coolant once a week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

2002 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I believe the 2002 Nissan Altima should have been recalled

Faults:

I purchased a 2002 Nissan Altima 6 weeks ago. This is a used car purchase with 40,000 miles.

After driving it for only two weeks the check engine light came on. It was driving very rough and the oil light came on.

Checked the oil and it had all burned out of the car, completely empty. Added a few quarts of oil and it began to run smoother. The check engine light remains lit and will not go off. T

The car started to ride really rough and became noisy again in a couple of weeks. Three weeks later there was noise coming from engine and the car was out of oil again.

I keep hearing that this means that you have a bad engine. So, the engine is burning oil and I believe I purchased a lemon. The dealer is doing an oil consumption test on it today. I'll have to wait and see what they say.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

9th Aug 2007, 18:57

Mine too.. go figure..I'm not a fan either and look up the lemon laws state to state..I'm bringing mine back the the dealership I bought it from..I'm so done with this car.. oh and check the coolant mine tends to dump it like a bad habit.

2002 Nissan Altima 2.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Horrid

Faults:

Engine blew shortly after purchasing, due to "honeycomb" pieces breaking off from in the catalytic converter and going into the engine. This seems to be a typical problem with this model.

End-state; Engine replaced. Catalytic converter replaced. Manifold replaced (is a unit with the catalytic converter on this model)

A/C unit broke.

Windows rattle when rolled down.

General Comments:

Unbelievable how cheap this car is. For what is paid for this car, you get penny material for interior. The catalytic converter is a typical problem with these models which should be recalled by Nissan, but, with this problem unknown by consumers, it results in blown engine costing buyers thousands of dollars.

If you read comments on this site about cars, take serious consideration to what they say. Future cars that I buy (will replace the Nissan soon)

I will disregard ANY vehicle with over 20% negative reporting for major cost repair problems. I didn't with this Nissan and it has cost me $2,250 to date. ($1,800 = new engine, $200 = new climate control unit, $250 = new catalytic converter & manifold)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2007

12th Aug 2007, 23:15

I have a 2002 Nissan Altima 2.5s with 46 k miles on it. Today it would not start when the ignition was switched on I smell gas and I hear gas pour out on ground from somewhere underneath the car. What is the problem?

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 88 reviews