1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Hardbody 2.4 NAPZ from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 NAPZ Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

This truck goes head to head with Toyota

Faults:

Sometimes the transmission will grind due to the synchronizers. I just have to drive it nice and it isn't a problem. At one time it was pretty bad, but over the last few months it has gone away and only happens on rare occasions.

General Comments:

It is a reliable truck that is cheap to maintain, has a good strong motor, gets good gas mileage, is really easy to drive and is very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

A good reliable fun truck

Faults:

Where do I start? Most recently the fuel pump went out.

I have replaced every radiator hose, and all three belts.

The truck was in a accident when I purchased it. The front bumper was replaced, as well as the headlights and marker lights. the passenger fender was replaced as well.

General Comments:

Overall, I love this truck and wouldn't trade it for anything.

It has decent power and handles pretty well.

These trucks are easily customized with a wide variety of parts available, and can be easily lowered in the front just by adjusting the torsion bar bolts.

I actually had fun fixing this truck. It has a 4inch lowering kit. A black paint job with racing stripes. I added euro lights front and back, as well as customizing the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SD25 2.5L diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

It will bring you every when you want for nothing

Faults:

Leaking from rear end of transmission at 245 000km.

Expensive center bearing on drive shaft.

Leaking oil pressure sensor.

Hard to find jobber parts (not listed).

General Comments:

This truck us very fun to drive considering the age.

It pulls like a horse, but it is not a fast truck.

Very cheap to run with low maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

2nd Dec 2003, 03:37

I have a Nissan SD25 diesel, I had a problem with the gearbox, it would select the gears alright, but nothing happened. It turns out that a gear that was keyed to the shaft sheared the top of the woodruff keys and was just spinning on the shaft. The mechanic that fixed the gearbox was amazed that it was keyed normally the gear and shaft are one. Because of this l don't have any confidence in the gear box, especially for driving in sand. Could you reassure me with the gearbox or is it a weakness with it like I have been told.

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4Z from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4Z Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired219000 miles
Most recent distance387000 miles

Summary:

Good first truck for a 17yr old like myself

Faults:

The clutch (master and slave) cylinders went out. Blew a head gasket. It also blew a valve cover gasket. And it leaks and burns a little oil. It needs a new set of rings, but I don't have the time to put them in.

General Comments:

It's a very cool truck. I have 235/75 R15's with bullet hole wheels on it and it looks cool b/c its up in the air and that makes the paint job look a little better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113500 miles
Most recent distance131900 miles

Summary:

A good truck for the price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this pickup. Routine maintenance is all this pickup needs. An oil change, new brakes and tires and this truck will run forever.

General Comments:

This is a great truck for anyone wanting to go off road. It's very economical. I get about 26-28 mpg on highway. A lift kit would help if you wanted to go off road. The stock clearance isn't all that great. The ride isn't the best. When there is a strong wind and going up a hill there isn't much more left in the little 4 cylinder. If you're looking for more power try to find a SE. This has the V-6. One thing though I know people that have over 300,000 miles on this same pickup. So this truck will last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2002

1987 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab XE 2.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155555 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

A really reliable useful automobile

Faults:

Now that the vehicle is getting more miles on it. I have noticed more leaks on the ground under the car lately.

The speedometer broke and the transmission is slipping out of first and is grinding when I gear down. The usual wear and tear is starting to be more noticeable, like worn seats and cracks in the dash board. Overall I really like the unit and would purchase a new one when I retire this one.

General Comments:

This little truck is really quick and has loads of torque. It rides like a mid size car and really hugs the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

8th May 2004, 00:01

My speedometer in my 1987 Nissan Pickup went out as well. Now I have modified it to function, but unfortunately the speedometer is reading anywhere between 5 and 15 over.

Have you found anywhere that offers a replacement unit at a good price?

I appreciate your response to ScttPr@hotmail.com.

13th Jan 2011, 17:36

My speedometer is broken too, but here in Mexico, you don't really need it. I just paid for a new clutch though.

16th Mar 2013, 14:39

There are local shops that specialize in speedometers and alternators... My speedometer was stuck on 25 mph and would not operate until I passed 25 mph... I found this small shop, and for $75.00, had it repaired, to include fixing the needle and works great... best $75.00 spent on my '87 Nissan Pickup.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews