1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance106849 miles

Summary:

This truck is great!

Faults:

The handle for the glove box broke.

General Comments:

This truck runs great. I have had it for about 9 months and it runs like new. It hauls my jet skis up hills like if they were made of feathers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 2.4L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

By far the best value of any car I've driven

Faults:

It got totaled in 1998, and the engine still ran after hitting a Honda at 45mph, so most of the front end comes from a 95 model.

Replaced the alternator at 150,000

The starter has been going for the past year.

Muffler is broke after the catalytic converter, needs replacing.

Replaced the right front drum at 120,000

Positive tow (whatever that means, all I know is it pulls to the right) since accident.

General Comments:

My 11 yr old truck has out lasted both of my parents Fords a 95 Ranger, and 98 Mustang. The first year I owned it I worked at a ski resort where it got to -60 F. I never had a problem with it, added snow chains and it could hang with much pricier 4x4s. Then Florida in the summer, I did this for 2 yrs, and NEVER hand any problems with my truck!!!

The interior is fairly noisy, due to it being totaled, but it runs like the day I drove it home from the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE 2.4L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance125135 miles

Summary:

This truck takes a beating and keeps on ticking

Faults:

Fuel pump, pinhole sized leak.

General Comments:

This is an awesome truck. After two years of around the yard driving the only problem I've had is the stereo and the fuel pump. The stock stereo and the one my father put in were not up to par for a male teen.

Very roomy driver and passenger seating until people are in the cab, then it can get "cramped".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup xe extra cab 4x2 2.4 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired122476 miles
Most recent distance147785 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

If you need a tough gas saving truck get one of these!

Faults:

Replaced whole cooling system (including water pump) at 145,451.

New tires at 146,985.

New spark plugs & wires at 142,381.

Oil & oil filter changed every 5,000 miles.

Air filter at every 5,000 miles.

General Comments:

This little truck has been a very tough truck. Two months after I got it I loaded the bed with bricks and I'm sure I loaded way pass the payload and it haul it like a semi (with no problem). The 2.4 4cyl engine is a rock solid engine, man I have run this engine so hard that most engines would have given up! And the engine doesn't use any oil. On long distance trips it's a good ride for two, but when more than two adults it get crowded, but most of the time when going on long trips its just me and my girlfriend so its ok.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2005

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup king cab 2.4 i4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 i4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Faults:

Water pump thermostat, fan clutch,alternator, now I think I have a leaky head gasket. front brakes and rotors, never touch the back brakes.

General Comments:

Very tough truck I have beat on it and stills runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab 2.4L 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder. Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance372000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

I bought this truck because it was cheap, but I now know it is also the best!

Faults:

Clutch wore out at 218,000 miles. I replaced it myself and it cost $135.

I have changed the brake pads 7 times and the brake shoes 2 times. I have never replaced a brake rotor or brake drum on this truck.

I changed one alternator at 240,000 miles. it was about $130.00.

General Comments:

I have never touched any of the other normal wear-out items like the A/c the water pump, starter, etc.

The interior is still in great shape. The dash is shiny. The seats are not torn and the carpet is in good shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab 4x4 EX 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Absolutely very reliable

Faults:

The radiator clogged and replaced it. Did it myself cost $200 in parts. Also replaced water pump and fan clutch. Replaced front brake at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Engine, transmission, clutch, rear brake, and all exhaust system are original.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

1994 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Sturdy, tough and reliable

Faults:

After 2 years of ownership, the first major repair was of the alternator (1999). The truck had never been in weather below 30 degrees and this was the year I moved to Buffalo, alternator died in blizzard conditions after being kept in outdoor parking.

I replaced the muffler this year, also.

In 2001 the front driver's side door lock mechanism failed. The door is unable to be opened from the outside once it is locked (key does not work). I have not had it fixed.

Same year, the brakes and back struts had to be replaced. I was told the front rotors were warped and needed replacement, but I did not make the repair.

2003 The gas filter needed to be replaced, which was a very expensive repair because the filter is located INSIDE the gas tank, which had to be totally dismantled to make the repair. This repair was completely my fault, though, due to constant driving on empty (won't ever do that again!). Brakes had to be replaced again, and rotors, thought still warped, were not replaced.

2004 Just had her inspected and found that the front ball joints need to be replaced.

General Comments:

The truck was in excellent condition when I bought it (used) from a co-worker. It had been driven across the US and had no major repairs at 45,000 miles.

This truck has been all over the country with me and has been reliable over all. The only big repairs have been caused by negligence on my part.

Routine maintenance keeps this truck running like a champ, even at very high mileage. My mechanic tells me it should easily last to 250,000 miles.

The vehicle gets excellent gas mileage at an average of 33 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews