Nissan Laurel Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Nissan Laurel HC34 2.0 RB20E from Zimbabwe

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 RB20E Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24506 kilometres
Most recent distance32800 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

An excellent buy!

Faults:

I bought the car accident damaged.

Had it panelbeated, the engine was intact. So far not a single problem.

Didn't realise I was buying myself a GEM of a car.

General Comments:

In my home country, which is Zimbabwe, this car is a rare breed.

I have noticed that it shares a lot of spares with the Nissan Skyline (RB20E - HR32 / HR33)

Road handling is excellent and very quiet in the saloon even at speeds of 140km/hr.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2005

1989 Nissan Laurel Medallist RD28 (2.8 diesel) from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission RD28 (2.8 diesel) Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired181100 kilometres
Most recent distance184400 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Would be the perfect car if it had been better maintained

Faults:

Interior trim starting to fray.

Injectors work, sluggish performance.

Rear brake drums unbalance at 184,000kms.

Shocks on the way out.

A/C Belt badly worn.

Master Electric Window/Central Locking switch total failure.

General Comments:

Because the injectors are worn the performance is very sluggish and can cause large amounts of black smoke under heavy acceleration.

For a diesel, this car is not very good up hills.

Would handle PERFECTLY with a new set of shocks (Not cheap however)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

1990 Nissan Laurel Club L RB20DET, 2.0L: petrol turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission RB20DET, 2.0L: petrol turbo Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Awesome VIP Drifter

Faults:

Just the normal Nissan things like the radius arm buses.

General Comments:

The interior is dope, vinyl seats looks very much like leather, comfy as.

The handling impressed me, as I went from the more sporty 200sx (s14 Silvia) to the laurel and found it not that much worse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

1989 Nissan Laurel Medalist C33 2.0L Strait 6 RB20 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Strait 6 RB20 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance212000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A mean looking rel

Faults:

Drivers door trim wearing.

Tappet cover gasket oil leak.

General Comments:

I've just purchased this car. Looks the part with bigger mags and lower springs. A really sleek luxurious car.

Expected more performance from the RB20 petrol engine. Considering engine transplant to the RB20DET turbo version. Anyone with any idea what is involved in certifying the turbo please email me. Having difficulty finding replacement springs and struts for the petrol model. Any help email i_luv_wardsbeer@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

22nd Jul 2004, 01:54

Nice choice man, just the same as me, and a good choice from the previous car, good upgrade. If you have done so already, the cat is very very restricting. I was surprised when I removed mine.

9th Dec 2004, 11:03

I have a Nissan Laurel, and it has done 97,000 miles, and it still drives like new. I think anyone who wants to buy one, I strongly advise you to do so, because they are fast, cheap and reliable.

1992 Nissan Laurel Medalist 25 2.5 Gasoline from St. Kitts & Nevis

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance700 kilometres
Previous carNissan Laurel

Summary:

Sport wrapped in a luxury shell

Faults:

My head-gasket blew. I am seriously trying to locate a cylinder head-gasket for my EC-33 RB25 Nissan Laurel.

General Comments:

The car is a great car.

I find it to be very luxurious and drives like a baby.

As for power, my 2.5 Laurel has more than enough power to climb any hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

1990 Nissan Laurel Medallist 2.8 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance176000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

A truly excellent economical luxury car!

Faults:

160000 km - I had to replace the alternator. This is a very costly and hard to find part.

General Comments:

Although the mileage is quite high, the vehicle is still in very sound, reliable condition.

The quality of finish is excellent and has stood up to wear and tear very well, considering the vehicle used to be a taxi.

The colour scheme of the interior is a little dated, but never the less, it is a very comfortable place to be.

The standard equipment is very good, even by today's standards, with ABS and an airbag the only major omissions.

The performance is a little sluggish on hills and when overtaking, that said, the econonmy is outstanding for a vehicle of this size!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

8th Jun 2001, 03:45

I am also a owner of Nissan Laurel 1990 Medalist.

I find the car is great, it's very economical. My model is equipped with the RB20 engine, providing plenty of torque yet maintaining its fuel efficency.

A great car, if you look for performence, they do come in RB25 Turbo as in the hr33 skylines. Also the RB28 Turbo. In sports mode.

However, this car is not suitable for a person who is more than 180cm tall. The head room could be more roomier, it is shallow to provide extreme aerodynamic capabilities.

A good car, but needs more head room.

Tim, Qld, Australia

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews