1992 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1992 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A sleek, reliable sports sedan if taken care of properly

Faults:

1. The rear brakes were gone when I purchased it. They had actually seized from not being used. I had to replace the disks and calipers as well as valve that distributed rear brake pressure. Total cost: approximately $1000 (including certification for the carand labour costs).

2. The connecting rod to the windshield wipers had corroded over the years and snapped on a cold winter day. They had to be replaced because you need wipers in winter. To access the wiper motor is so cumbersome that the labour cost far exceeded the cost of the component, Total cost: approximately $450.

3. I noticed an engine coolant leak recently and had the car overheat on the highway from a severe loss of coolant. I had my mechanic inject some fluorescent dye into the coolant so we could detect the leak. It turns out I needed a new water pump. The pump is also cumbersome to reach and replace, so the labour cost of this was high. Total cost: exactly $745.

General Comments:

This is a great car to drive, but expensive to maintain.

The car is quick when pushed, but beware with the heavy foot. My baby is a thirsty beast and you'll pay at the gas pumps.

I'm use to driving smaller cars so I'm a bit annoyed at the Maximas larger turning radius, especially when trying to maneuver through downtown Toronto traffic.

There are several electrical "quirks" with the car. I noticed that my left headlight comes on intermittently when driving. Any clues what the problem is? It's not the fuse or light bulb for sure! Also, the back lights for the control panel and clock are starting to switch off an on during driving.

Besides that, the interior is a dream with stylish, functional decor and very comfy black leather interior. Very sexy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

24th Feb 2005, 21:29

Your post mentioned intermittent left headlight operation. I had the same problem with my 1990 Maxima. It turned out to be the switch assembly in the steering binnacle. I was able to pull the switch apart and burnish the pitted contacts back to proper operation. Took me half an hour. otherwise buy a new switch assembly. regards from Australia. Feb 2005.

1992 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carNissan 1988 corolla

Summary:

Beautiful ride

Faults:

The thermostat went out and it cost me $65.00 to replace had to have the belts replaced, the a/c blew out a week ago, had to replace the water pump and radiator. Started shaking like it was a stick shift that is about to go off if the clutch isn't depressed, My a/c heat control is stuck from warm to hot so summer is a nightmare.

General Comments:

I love my care because being a 12 yr old car it runs like a dream, it costs a lot to repair, but it is a really really dependable car if taken care of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

19th Mar 2006, 23:43

I agree. My 92 Maxima SE has 230,000 miles. It has had a few problems, but it still gets the same gas mileage, and drives the same as it did new. Its been in the family since it was new.

1992 Nissan Maxima 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

It is a good car

Faults:

My problem is that my car consumes 19 L per 100 km.

Please give me an advice.

The current car, 1992 Nissan Maxima, 3.0 L, 4 doors, was a good car until this January 2004 when the temperature gauge on the board stopped to work properly. Practically, almost all the time indicated very close to C - Cold engine. I went to a mechanic who changed the temperature termostat. After that the temperature indicator started to point middle level (as normal) between Cold and Hot, but in the same time the fuel consumption increased. Before this change, the car consumed 8.7 L per 100 Km on highway and 12 L in the city.

I took my car to Nissan dealer for a computer reading, but the Nissan's mechanic told me that he couldn't identify any problem?!?

I was surprised, but I noticed that the car is still consuming 19L per 100 Km.

It is a nice car and I would like to fix it, but I do not know how.

I would really appreciate your help. Please e-mail it at.

sgbirsan@sympatico.ca.

Thanks,

Sorin.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and accelerates very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

12th Feb 2004, 03:50

One thing I suppose that has happened is that your oxygen sensor is damaged, so the engine does not work in a close loop. When your mechanic changed the thermostat, may be some antifreeze solution has fallen on the ox. sensor, so that now it is partially or totally clogged and cannot function properly. (i mean clogged externally of course).Go to an authorized mechanic to test your ox. sensor. consider about replacing it, if your mileage is above 100000 km.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 43 reviews