1992 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 6 of 12

1992 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Superb value for money

Faults:

1. Fuel injectors have required replacement.

2. Both front windows lifter motors have required replacement.

3. Front brake disks and pads appear to be brittle; require replacement more often than I think is right.

4. ABS malfunctioned.

General Comments:

This model represents phenomenal value for money. It was rated a "Best Buy" by Consumer Reports magazine and was one of Car and Driver magazine's "10 Best" in the year I bought it. Its performance, looks, comfort and level of appointments were pace-setting in its class and it seems to have single-handedly created a market for Japanese sports sedans.

Probably the best car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

1992 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Maxima hesitation and stalling

Faults:

I have taken my '92 Maxima to the dealership with terrible hesitation/stalling problems. They say they cannot duplicate the problem, but said that the power transistor might be out of it. I replaced that. I also replaced the ECM unit under someone else's advice. The car still hesitates and stalls.

A few days ago I was entering a highway and had terrible intermittent hesitation problems - cars honking at me from behind - it was a nightmare, and very scary. Took it straight to the dealer and same old story - they can't duplicate the problem and say they have not heard of this before. Doesn't matter if it's hot or cold, uphill or downhill - it acts like it's not getting any fuel and just seems to lose power. Please help! Nissan won't do anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

30th Oct 2003, 21:44

It is the problem of sensors in engine. that is what my technician (with great experience in auto) told me three weeks ago when my 93 SE had the same problem after I bought it. I did a computer scan at the dealer, and gave the report to my technician. He bought the sensor and replaced it. Now it appears that the problem is solved for the time being. I will keep an eye on it for a while.

1992 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A "makes you feel very safe" car

Faults:

The exhaust pipe was rusted in places so had to be replaced within 6 months of getting the car. The engine was making a LOT of noise.

Brake pads were worn through, handbrake no longer works. The brake pads and brakes were replaced. Because of the cost, the left rear brake pad/brake was untouched. Basically, this is what is left that makes the parking brake still work- to the extent that the car will move if the parking brake is down, but it won't roll if you're parked. So it works half-way.

Essentially, when you press the accelerator, the car won't move any faster and in fact, starts slowing down instead. Its only when you press the gas ALL the way that the car jumps into speed. As well, when you're a stop light, the engine flutters pretty badly. This happened a week ago. Later on in the week, I had to stop driving it completely because the car was so irrational and so slow and jerky.

This latest problem is undiagnosed. I am so hoping someone will have been through it and will be able to make a suggestion. The mechanics have no clue what it is. I've had an engine diagnostic run and nothing was wrong. The air flow meter was found to be broken so we replaced it for $330 CDN. But that hasn't helped. The car is still jerking and not moving and shuddering. The "earth" of the car was also checked. It was fixed too. But to no avail. Help!

General Comments:

I love my Maxima. I adore it. Its comfortable, its big, it's a car that really feels like its taking care of you. I'm quite petite physically, so being in the Maxima with its roominess and sturdiness makes me feel 100 times more confident on the road, esp. in Canadian winters, than I ever felt in my Corolla. That car was written off after a collision. I bought my car for $4900 CDN too! Which is a steal. Definitely any and all future cars of mine will be Nissans.

I just wish this problem would resolve itself because its frustrating having to keep sinking money into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

21st Oct 2003, 17:19

Check the cam position sensor.

17th Nov 2003, 11:32

Hey I had the same problem with my car. I was just driving and the car started jerking and would not pick up any speed. Try looking at the distribution cap. Sometimes the screw falls out and the car will not respond.

22nd Feb 2004, 23:23

What I did about the same kind of problem was to use better fuel. My wife usually tries to save money by using ship gas, but the car was jerking, losing power and some times the engine would die while stopping or taking off, so I replaced the fuel filter put a gas additive to the tank and asked my wife to buy gas only of a good brand, and now is working just fine.Also, check the fuel pump, it could not be working properly.

7th Mar 2004, 12:58

My Maxima has a similar problem. I ended up replacing a fuel injector, $500.00. After this I started to put mid to super gas in it and has been good for the most part since.

14th Jul 2004, 18:58

I had similar problem with my 92 SE. Resolved it by using fuel additives from S.T.P.

1st Oct 2005, 11:46

Go on maxima.org and start doing some homework.

That type of problem can be any of the following:

- Air intake sensor (AKA Mass Air Flow sensor).

- Oxygen sensor (AKA O2 sensor).

- Cam position sensor.

- Throttle position sensor (on some cars, generally speaking).

I'm betting that it isn't a fuel injector, unless it is running rough all the time. I'm also betting that the most likely culprit is the cam position sensor.

But don't take my word for it... look for the answer yourself on resources like maxima.org. And if you can't find it there, buy a shop manual and start reading. That's the same thing any mechanic would do (reading the diagnostic steps listed in the manual)... the difference being, if you do it yourself, it won't cost you $80 an hour.

19th Apr 2008, 10:05

My Maxima had exactly the same problem. First I changed the fuel pump, nothing happened, the problem remained. But then I changed the O2 sensors, and everything was fine! The car ran smoothly thereafter.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 43 reviews