1998 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1998 Nissan Maxima V6 from Palestinian territories

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carna na

Summary:

Sweeeeeet

Faults:

The radio display stop working. And the release for the gas tank broke.

General Comments:

I love this car.. I bought this car with 40 some thousand miles, and now it's at 117,000 miles and going strong.. minus all regular wear and tear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2009

1998 Nissan Maxima 1998 SE 3.0L DOCH from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0L DOCH Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan 2000 infiniti Q45, 96 Toyota Paseo

Summary:

The best bang for the buck; truely a 4-door sports car.

Faults:

The mass air flow sensor turned bad at 132,000 miles.

I got new struts ($800) at 131,000 miles.

The rear brake caliber holds the rotor, and all are rusted.

General Comments:

I bought this car with 130,000 miles on it, and only paid $3000 for it. I really don't consider it's high mileage on a VQ engine; I know Nissan engines, and I have seen vehicles with 400,000 miles on them. The engine is virtually bullet-proof. I think Nissan makes the best V6 engine, bar none. I really don't like the transmission; it feels like shifting a semi truck. I guess I need a 'short shifter'.

The car is very fast; it can reach 60 Km/Hr in 6 sec flat. Because of the straight ram air intake, the car is pretty easy to work on.

The only major downfall is the MPG; I get 25 MPG highway, even with a Fuel Saver. I was hoping to get better gas mileage on a 5-speed but I cannot. My Mom's automatic transmission Maxima gets better gas mileage, even without a Fuel Saver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

1998 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

A real sleeper

Faults:

All sensors failed around the 120k mark, otherwise the car was very reliable and a blast to drive.

General Comments:

The 5 speed manual made this car stand out. It was very fast with good handling (sport suspension with 16 in wheels on the SE model) while providing luxury and a nice ride. Not too many sedans at that price could run from 0 to 60 in under 7.0 seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2008

1st Aug 2010, 10:34

I'm sorry for the noob question, but what is a sleeper?

2nd Aug 2010, 19:23

"I'm sorry for the noob question, but what is a sleeper?"

A sleeper is a car that looks slow and sounds slow, but is actually surprisingly fast. Sleepers NEVER look fast or flashy (if they do, they aren't sleepers). They usually are very average looking, but are always faster than they look.

3rd Aug 2010, 13:23

Thank you! Looks like I'm getting a sleeper.

1998 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Bulletproof and ultra reliable

Faults:

Replaced shocks at 200,000km due to soft cornering on mountain roads, which are regularly travelled.

Replaced knock sensor at 209,000km - was occasionally performing like 2.0 litre car and was picked up by on board computer - surprisingly cheap repair at $300.

Replaced bushes on front lower arm mounts - had chewed out, probably due to plenty of travel on country roads with gravel surfaces and lots of potholes and corrugations.

General Comments:

Car is unbelievably reliable - have never had such a reliable vehicle - even the brake rotors are original - a surprise if you knew how hard I drive this car.

Performs very well - strong and quick.

Extremely well spec'd for a NZ new model.

Reasonable fuel consumption for size and performance - long run average 9.5l/100km over 125,000k - can do 800km on a tank when treated gently, or 550km when thrashed.

Still no rattles or clunks in the cabin.

Front passenger seat is uncomfortable on the odd occasion that I sit there - possibly due to the fact that that seat is seldom used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2008

1998 Nissan Maxima SE 3 liters from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3 liters Automatic
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Wonderfull

Faults:

Since I bought the car in 2003 (as used), I had a steady problem. The dash light for Service Engine Soon was on and off all the time, but mostly on. Finally I solved this problem that drives crazy a lot of Nissan owners. If one uses only Premium gas (91 octanes) as prescribed by the owner's manual, the light will go off. As soon as one uses lower octane fuel, the light will come back on. The explanation is simple! The ignition and anti-pollution system on the Nissan has been set for the use of Premium gas and as soon as on uses a cheaper gas, the mixture of air/fuel changes thus signaling the oxygen sensors more carbon dioxide than normal. When one uses the proper fuel the combustion mixture is lean resulting in a lesser CO2 emisssion. It is also possible that the oxygen sensor are burned, but please try first using the prescribed type of fuel before going to the dealer who will gladly replace all 6 coils, oxygen sensors and spark plugs for hundreds and hundreds of dollars and not telling you to use proper gas. That would be unproductive for his wallet!

General Comments:

Great car, as they say as good as a BMW, but much cheaper!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2007

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews