1998 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1998 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Faults:

Alternator went bad at about 135,000 due to recall. Had to replace breaks and tires about the same time.

General Comments:

This car has been great. I have owned several cars and I think that this has been the most reliable and the best value for my money. I used to purchase european cars because of the hype, but Japanese cars are the much more reliable and a better value. I would buy another Maxima for sure. The American car companies should build cars like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

1998 Nissan Maxima QX 2.0 cc from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 cc Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Comfortable luxurious reliable understated car

Faults:

Airbag warning light activated wrongly.

General Comments:

A beautiful car to own, drive, and look at. The leather interior is pure class. an exceptionally large luxary car. when people travel in it for the first time they generally state that it is a very quiet comfortable car, the six cylinder engine making sure of that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

1998 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles

Summary:

I think this is a great performance sedan, by far the best in it's class

Faults:

The Resonator was blown out along with rusted pipes from the catilytic back. I found this when replacing factory muffler with after market. This happened at about 95k when I realized it. Paint on hood does chip easily.

General Comments:

I love this car! My mom bought it brand new, and I recently got got it off of her when I got my license. She bought a Mercedes C230 Kompressor. It's a great little car, and it's supercharged, but the maxima will give it a run for its money. It handles great, and its acceleration is amazing. This car seriously puts out a lot. Its not too expensive, and it blows away anyone around here. I'm currently working on it trying to make it run 12's or 11's. I'm considering on putting a twin turbo in it, and a 300 shot of nitrous, but factory this is a great car to have, and it lasts forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

1998 Nissan Maxima GLE 2.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Best used car you can buy!

Faults:

Transmission failure - not sure what went wrong. Happened a week after I purchased the car. After much debate the dealership rebuilt at no cost.

Brakes at 80,000 miles - replaced with ceramic brakes, that was a mistake. Stock brakes were better.

Tires at 80,0000 miles - Get a good set and you will notice better grip.

Transmission leak at 120,000 - bad gasket cost $50.

General Comments:

I love my Maxima.

It is by far the best driving and most reliable car I have ever owned.

Has excellent power.

Very comfortable on long trips.

Bose system is unmatched.

Paint is starting to show wear, however the car is 7 years old.

This car seems like it can go another 100,000 miles with no problem.

I would buy another Maxima in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

24th Oct 2008, 19:59

What do you mean you would replace with ceramic brakes? Did they wear bad, bad braking compared to pads?

1998 Nissan Maxima S 3 L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3 L V6 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance60205 kilometres
Previous carDodge Viper

Summary:

I don't think it is a very good car

Faults:

On the way home from the dealership the bonnet flew up I think 3 times of which I had to stop to put back down. After a week of this happening continuosly I ended up screwing it down to the car. The seatbelt broke within 1 month and I now after having it repaired several times just decided to knot it before going out. I've replaced the tires a lot and it has cost me a lot of money. The fuel tank runs out very quickly and almost each time I go out I need to fill it up. Apart from that I was very happy with the car.

General Comments:

Very expensive to run and I wouldn't buy another Nissan ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

28th Nov 2007, 14:23

What's a bonnet?

In terms of a car part.

31st Jul 2008, 16:32

I am surprised, my experience with Nissan has been positive.

For the other comment a hood is referred to as a bonnet in Europe and Australia, and a boot is the trunk.

30th Jun 2009, 06:21

Yeah, my '98 eats tires too. Although I'm curious about the seat belt. Was it the belt itself? Or where it bolts in? I'm pretty sure the seat belts are warranted for life.

9th Aug 2009, 10:20

The negative comments have nothing to do with the actual performance of the vehicle.

Your seat belt has a life warranty on it. Take it to get it fixed. This is an extremely rare problem.

How many times have you had to replace your tires? Tires wear out due to the way people drive.

If your gas mileage is poor, it can be due to a lot of things; one being aggressive driving, which would account for your tires as well.

If these are the only problems you are having with the car, then I would be thankful that's all you have to worry about.

29th Jun 2010, 23:46

Look at his previous car: a Dodge Viper. If he drives this like it's a Viper, no wonder he's flying through fuel and tires! You can't necessarily blame that on the vehicle.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews