2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 27 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima LX from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Not worth having for a long time

Faults:

At around 50,000 I had to replace front suspension.

At 65,000 I had to replace my brakes, then I had a fault, my check engine light would go on. Now I have 89,000 and I have to replace ABS system.

It was not comfortable for the front passenger, and the air control is not something that you can get use to very fast.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, even with the automatic transmission.

It does not eat gas a lot.

For the comfort: I did not like it, the front seats are not comfortable.

The sound system is great, very nice quality.

But the only problem is the fact that it starts to break soon, I only have 89,000 and there is a lot of repairs made on the car already.

Just recently I had a problem with my computer. I have to replace it. It is not covered by the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

14th Dec 2006, 10:58

There is no LX version of the max. Do you mean GLE or GXE? And the car is not bad because the seat are uncomfortable? You did at least sit in the car if not test drive it to discover that the seats were uncomfortable for you?

29th Jan 2008, 20:03

OK, you are from North America, and you have a Maxima LX? What is that? You list your mileage in Kilometers? You drove a Dodge before the Maxima, and are complaining about reliability? Huh??? None of this makes any sense...

2004 Nissan Maxima ST-L 3.5 Litre V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Calais

Summary:

Smooth, effortless powerful luxury

General Comments:

Great car. Has so many standard features. Very luxurious, and powerful.

Would never go back into a Holden again, as the Maxima's build quality certainly exceeds the Calais in every aspect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

18th Mar 2006, 20:48

Good choice of car. The Maxima craps on any Holden or Ford (including the Calais and Fairlane) and has better styling and features to boot. I own a Maxima Ti-L and it is the best bloody purchase I ever made.

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance82350 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Love the car, surprised by maintenance issues

Faults:

Skyview roof had to be replaced under warranty.

Rear speakers had to be reinstalled to eliminate rattles.

Front grille chrome delaminated, was replaced and needs to be replaced again.

Fuel economy sensor stopped.

Shimmy in steering at higher speeds.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car that has great power and is a really comfortable cruiser and at a 10K discount from an A4.

The only complaints I have are a surprising number of warranty issues and a ton of torque steer with the manual tranny (with some aggressive driving).

Good car in winter and even better with a set of Pirelli winter tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2005

2004 Nissan Maxima Ti 3.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Summary:

Smooth, quick, bloody uncomfortable

Faults:

I must admit that I do not own a Maxima, however I have covered thousands of kilometres in them as hire vehicles.

Trip computer always displays a fuel economy of 11.0L/100km no matter what kind of driving I do.

General Comments:

The Maxima's V6 is sublimely smooth. It's performance is more than ample for overtaking and quick getaways from the traffic lights. There is no real evidence of torque steer that I expected in a relatively powerful front wheel drive car.

Handling is soft an compliant, handling almost all road conditions. Although I never gave the car a hard thrashing, it didn't feel as though it would like being treated like a sports car.

The interior is plush and stylish, but I found the front seats to be extremely lacking in shoulder support for anyone over 6 feet. This has caused a great deal of neck and upper back pain of long journeys. I might have been able to adjust the seat for slightly improved comfort if the sunroof had not intruded so badly into the headroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

11th Dec 2005, 04:55

Perhaps your seats are different from the ones in review (different country=different interiors?). I am a tall Aussie and find the Maxima uncomfortable on long trips.

18th May 2006, 21:13

Similar comments have been made in the Aussie motoring press regarding the Maxima's lack of shoulder support, so I'd say it's not just a figment of this guy's imagination. I think the Maxima is a very under-rated vehicle.

17th Jun 2006, 05:17

I'm a 6'-6" Kiwi and would love to own one, but cannot get my knees under the steering wheel. Oh well, back to the Commodore...

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews