2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 29 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107 miles
Most recent distance11888 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good if they can fix it, otherwise JUNK

Faults:

Steering wheel shakes at 45mph and gets worse as speed increases. I have had my car in the shop 7 times and I am in the process of lemon lawing the car. After talking with the dealership, this is an ongoing problem that they do not have a fix for as of yet. My dealership has 8, 2004 maxima's SE and SL with the same problem.

General Comments:

The car would be great if it didn't shake at 45mph and above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

8th Mar 2005, 04:01

Hello.

I also have the same problem with the front end vibration at speeds over 60mph. My car shakes very badly. If anyone ever finds out what the problem is with the car can you please email me at JNic103@yahoo.com so I can tell the idiots at my Nissan dealership. Its been there 4 times and they cannot fix the problem.

Thanks!

21st Mar 2006, 13:05

Yeah I agree with this comments. I rented Maxima 06 while my Toyota camry is in body shop. I like it's power, interior and exterior design, but the fact that it is very unstable in high speeds and fast take offs makes me wonder how could Nissan make such a rude mistake. I drove Infiniti G35 and it is quete different car, very stable on high speeds and steering wheel does not shake. So Nissan obviously made a big mistake for such an attractive car.

2004 Nissan Maxima 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14255 kilometres

Summary:

Misleading faulty, but fun car

Faults:

The hubcaps fell off whenever too much pressure was on them.

Seat belts have started to fray.

Brake rotors warped at 12000 km.

Makes a wierd clunking sound whenever I drive it.

The coils have broken repeatably.

Transmission slips between first and third gears.

Drivers seat not very accommodating for someone 6'1 plus.

General Comments:

A steal at 25000. or so I thought. the constant faults have costed about half the original car price.

I do not recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

19th Oct 2004, 08:01

If your brake rotors have warped please call Nissan and let them know about it. Nissan Consumer Affairs phone number is 1-800-647-7261. The more people that call, the better chance of getting the brakes recalled.

25th Jan 2005, 00:06

Hubcaps? Don't 2004 Maximas have alloy wheels?

30th Apr 2005, 12:32

Your rotors are warped; get a new one or get it turned.

7th Jan 2008, 00:15

Yes no hub caps on 2004 Maximas.

2004 Nissan Maxima SL 265hp from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 265hp Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4800 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Sporty, responsive, comfortable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, thus far. The car is very reliable and fun to drive.

General Comments:

The Nissan Maxima SL is a very nice car. Similar to the Infinity g35, Nissan really has a winner with this car. I have it loaded with every option and the navigation system, which is accurate to the location. Some references are outdated, but overall the computer was worth the purchase. I really like the Bose sound system and comfort of the leather seating. The hp really makes the car respond when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

2004 Nissan Maxima Ti 3.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired46 kilometres
Most recent distance400 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Sexy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Had my new black Ti a few weeks. It's brilliant. Has met all my expectations. I am very tall and so is the family and plenty of height and leg room - more than the Falcon XR6 EL - which I loved to death. This car is something special.

Fantasic vale for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

22nd Nov 2005, 22:43

Plenty of headroom? Most of the Ti models I have driven have the sunroof which seriously compromises headroom. Front seats are horrible for anyone over 6'1" (as highlighted by one of the other reviews). Poor accommodation for tall people is one of the most frustrating (and documented) issues with the current Maxima! However, if you find it comfy, good luck to you!

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1600 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great car, great interior, some irritating interior detail flaws. I'm going back to a Honda next

Faults:

My brake rotors were warped at 24,000 miles. I called Nissan dealer in Burnsville Minnesota. They told me I had to pay to get new brake rotors. They neglected to tell me that there was a factory bulletin that addresses this issue. After doing some info digging on my own, they fessed up and agreed to fix my rotors at no cost. Apparently I'm not the only one with this problem.

General Comments:

My car seems to be making weird clunking sound, and it sounds different everytime and is difficult to reproduce.

My power seems to have decreased tremendously over the year that I've been driving it.

I keep up with all maintenance recommendation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

17th Jun 2004, 10:13

I agree with you, Nissan dealers try to rip you off, wherever they can. I am collecting some evidence so I can share my views on the negligence of Nissan dealers.

19th Oct 2004, 07:58

I have also had problems with my 2003 Nissan Maxima. The rotors were warped at about 34000 miles. I have talked to Nissan and they don't have enough complaints about the problem to recall it. So if you are having a problem with warped rotors on your Nissan please call Nissan and let them know about it so they can recall the brakes. Nissan Consumer Affairs phone number is 1-800-647-7261.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews