1999 Nissan Micra GX 5 Door 1.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reasonable car, but not without problems!

Faults:

The car has numerous scratches and grazes on bright red paint that are impossible to get out even with assistance from high grade compounds.

The gearbox has recently lost the spring on the gearbox which allows the gear stick when resting in neutral to sit in the centre of the box (edges over towards 1st & 2nd gears).

Handbrake is unsure at times, can pull to end of the travel on flat road, yet halfway on hills???

Drivers side electric window has broken away from runners and is now useless.

The drivers door trim is broken and cracked, looks 10 years older than the car itself.

Front number plate is cracked, chipped and in bad general state of repair due to being exposed at the front with zero protection.

Boot lid gets stuck when opening, requires hands to free from the latch.

Remote locking sounds slow and each door locks individually.

Standard radio display has broken and shows partial station's and frequencies.

Drivers wing mirror replaced when it got knocked off, and cost in excess of 70gbp to replace!!! This is manual not electric...

Exhaust has recently begun to blow, and rattles when the engine is switched off, sounds like popping corn in exhaust for up to 1 hour after engine is turned off.

Wheel trims have scars all round, are cracked and buckled, easy to scratch as exposed from the wheels!

Local dealer went into liquidation soon after purchasing the car, and a few years extended warranty disappeared with them.

General Comments:

The Micra feels like it rides on bicycle tyres most of the time which can be fun yet adventurous in corners and roundabouts. The tall sides do not help the handling on exposed roads with cross winds or indeed any winds at all.

Can pick up speed easily if pushed hard, but this enivitably eats your wallet after a time of doing so.

Inoffensive styling is not to everyones taste, generally the elderly, and females favour it, as there is a 'cute' look about the car.

Dash is simply laid out, with most buttons to hand. steering wheel is bulky, but does have airbag inside which is a bonus.

With seats laid down (not flat) storage is quite reasonable, access to the the load space s good with square opening and upright boot.

The all round visibility is fantastic, but interior mirror is a bit on the small side for full rear view.

I like the upright seating position and height of the car, but this tends to be achey on longer journeys.

Insurance and parts are pricier than european competitors. The engine starts first time everytime which is a bonus.

Re-sale value is poor in relation to similar european models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

16th Nov 2006, 06:15

This seems a little unfair... it sounds like you basically have not taken care of your car.

Bottom line is... if you reguarly change the oil and filter the engine will go on for a long time with no problems.

Yes the styling is rubbish and body work not great, but in terms of engine mechanics for the money nothing beats its reliability.

3rd Sep 2009, 16:35

Scratches? Broken wing-mirror? Cracked number plate and damaged wheel-trims? Pushing the car hurts your wallet?

Wow, it's just madness that the above should happen. I would definitely blame Nissan for not looking after your car for you.

20th Sep 2009, 08:27

I think the dealer sold you a bad one, just to get rid of it. I have a 1.3L 16 valve Nissan March, and I would not trade it for ANY car. It's just too reliable (has 177,650 Km on it and still going strong).

Friends of mine have had or have the 1.0 16 valves, and they have never had problems with their ones.

If anyone wants to read my review:

http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/nissan/micra/r123178/

16th Mar 2012, 16:24

I agree with that.

I'm on my second Micra now, and have nothing to report.

First one was a 1.3. Could not fault it.

The one I have now is a 1.0 litre, and it's a really good, reliable, economical car, that is cheap to insure and to tax.

12th Oct 2013, 14:00

It's a good car. I've had 5 in my time, and only one gave up me; first the gearbox, then the engine, but overall it's a good car.

1999 Nissan Micra Equation 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good car let down by its gearbox

Faults:

The automatic gearbox failed at 53,000 miles. It cost £1900 to repair. That was almost half the cars value!

The garage said the gearbox on small cars don't last more than 50,000 miles, so I got rid of mine long before it approached 100,000. I bought a manual one.

General Comments:

Aside from transmission problems, the car was very easy to drive and quite cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

27th Sep 2003, 00:04

My Nissan. 1996 K11/. Now has 220,000 km's Since I purchased it new. It has the 1.3 litre engine.

In Australia it would have cost an additional $1,500 for the CVT transmission (which I did not want anyway). I have have found the manual box to be excellent.

The syncro's are now getting a bit tired and it will occasionally baulk on a fast change, but by and large still very smooth.

Mike.

1999 Nissan Micra Si 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

The ECU failed and left the car stranded at 2000 miles. The radio code was not supplied and the car spent a day off the road to sort this out. It has been constantly returned to the dealer for poor fuel consumption (worst 28mpg, best 34mpg)which remains unsorted after 6 months use.

General Comments:

Rather lack-lustre performance - but then it's only 1.0 litre. The road holding is poor for a modern car being rather 'nervous' and prone to understeer. The petrol consumption is AWFUL for a car of this size and the dealer seems uninterested after having made the sale.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2000

13th Aug 2002, 15:54

We unfortunately owned a Nissan Micra once, it was a complete LEMON it was obviously built on either a Monday or a Friday.

The car had suffered from a whole host of problems -oil leaks, clutch faults, and faulty suspension, my local dealer knew me by first name terms, I have never been so glad to get rid of a car, even though it cost me dearly.

Myself and a friend who owned a Micra also found the fuel economy rather poor.