2006 Nissan Murano Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Nissan Murano SL 3.5L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A great car, better mileage would be good

Faults:

This Nissan Murano is a replacement for the original one that leaked oil the first day I had it home. It has been great car, I have driven it to Florida and back and then to Myrtle Beach from Toronto and had no problems at all. However I am disappointed in the gas consumption, On these trips I averaged only about 20 miles per gal. Around town I drive it carefully and still get very low mileage, about 400km to the 80L tank. (about 13mpg) The dealer said it would improve after a break-in period?? One thing I would like is another speed for the wipers between intermittent and low speed. I replaced the 18" wheels with 20" (265x50x20) Nitto summer tires and have Pirelli Scorpion winter tires on the original 18" wheels. Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2006

2006 Nissan Murano SL FWD 2.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Great car, I will keep this updated

Faults:

The car is brand new.

General Comments:

My wife and I love the fit, finish, and comfort of this car. The rear view camera is worth the money. Plenty of power and did I mention comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

16th Jul 2009, 14:34

I just wanted to update on this car. We have over 22k miles on this Murano and it still runs great. The kids broke the cup holder in the back but was replaced under warranty. The motor that moves the driver's seat back and forth is starting to fail.

8th Feb 2010, 12:50

Here's another update on this car.

The car is still running great.

The rubber seal on the moonroof tore for no obvious reason, but was replaced under warranty. I tried to talk my wife out of buying this expensive option, since moonroofs have a tendency to leak.

The rear camera is a necessity on this vehicle.

Nissan extended the warranty on the CVT transmission. I guess some Murano owners are having problems, but I haven't heard anything specific.

After engine break-in, our Murano SL is getting excellent gas mileage (25 MPG) on the highway.

2006 Nissan Murano SL AWD 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing wrong at this point.

General Comments:

The Vehicle is a dream to drive, and well equipped. So far very pleased. The CV Transmission is something to behold... no shift points. Handles well. Back up Camera worth the extra cost too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

23rd Jul 2006, 19:47

I am a former Nissan Service Manager & had a 2003 Pathfinder as a "demo" vehicle. I just turned it back in and leased a 2006 Murano SL, base model. It has a better powertrain and suspension than the Pathfinder. I love driving it. It is perhaps the best combo car/SUV that Nissan has ever produced. The engine is very quiet, The Back up Camera is a big plus as well. I highly recommend the Murano to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced small SUV that handles well & has a terrific transmission.

2006 Nissan Murano from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carHonda Element

Summary:

Great car, bit pricey

Faults:

Brushed metal interior trim scratches easily, miles per gallon is less than I thought.

General Comments:

Very comfortable seating and solid on highway and in town. Rear seats are easy to collapse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

25th Apr 2006, 10:47

I'd assume an engine like yours would make me drive a little harder than usual. That many horsepower is kinda intoxicating.

17th Jul 2007, 21:34

I think the Murano handles excellent in ice and snow, the reason I bought it. however I had to replace the air conditioning condenser with out ever using my air conditioning. It got damaged by a rock or something, so I replaced it for $1100.00, to find out there is a grille that can go on the vehicle for $150.00 that would keep this from happening again. I figure that something that cheap should be standard. If it cost me $150.00 for the part and labour, it would be a lot cheaper for Nissan to put it on to begin with, saving their customers the extra bill. In fact I find it unacceptable that it is not standard, or your sales man does not inform you. It is pretty hard to make an informed decision, when you're not informed.

2006 Nissan Murano SL V6-3.5 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6-3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Absolutely beautiful in design

Faults:

So far only a ding in the door where as my Kia sportage has been bumped may times and no ding, dent or scratched paint.

General Comments:

I think the Murano is the perfect size SUV.

It handles well and is easy to navigate.

The seats are comfortable, but tilt forward a little making the ride somewhat uncomfortable on the passenger side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews