1994 Nissan Pathfinder 3.0L V6MFI from North America


Nissan definitely needs to come clean on this!!


The frame is definitely wrong with this vehicle!!!

It is very badly rusted through and needs repair I'm sinking the money into the repair of this fine SUV as long as the rest of it doesn't fall apart. Two shops have declined to do the repairs and the local Nissan dealer won't even look or deal with the problem!!

General Comments:

The car handles beautifully for it's age, but, the frame is the worst I've ever seen!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2006

11th Oct 2006, 08:35

Don't throw good money after bad. If the frame is gone, forget about it! Better to spend your money on a newer vehicle than try to fix something that is unsafe.

26th Nov 2006, 05:20

I have a 1992 Pathfinder myself and was just told by the mechanic who did the annual inspection to plan on just junking the truck due to the rusted frame. I've seen a couple of posts showing that the frame can be 'box welded' to shore up its support. I really like my truck and will probably try this route myself.

27th Nov 2006, 16:55

I have a 1994 Nissan Pathfinder, power everything, sunroof. Love it, but got bad news that the frame is too far gone. Brand new frame is $2,000, with free delivery:-). I know I shouldn't, but I'm really thinking about doing it.

5th Feb 2007, 20:21

Any body knows how to check whether the frame has been rotten? I am planning to buy a used pathfinder.

9th Apr 2009, 20:22

I have owned two wd21's, and it is a design FLAW with the rear frame, there is no kind of drainage so it is a natural host for rust. It can be prevented and fixed but too many of these trucks were condemned to the life of a soccer mom, and were never properly maintained!

When buying these trucks, aim for one with owners only in dry states, as I have seen 1989 wd21's from Arizona and such with no frame rust whatsoever...

Don't blame the truck though, they run forever, and get you anywhere including through the Moab!

30th Jul 2009, 07:21

CASH FOR CLUNKERS!!! Just dumped my Nissan with rotted Frame! Couldn't sell it for $500 in the shape it was in, took the $4500 and bought a Ford Escape!!!

1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 from North America


Excellent vehicle except for the rusty frame


About every 100,000kms the exhaust studs break off. If you get the right mechanic they are used to this and can fix it for about $100.

After about 300,000kms the gas tank may rust through.

After about 425,000kms or 12 years the frame above the rear wheel wells will rust through and will no longer pass inspection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE V6 from North America


Transmission Eater!



Expensive exhaust leak (manifold bolts broke off in head)



Water pump.



Timing belt.

Power locks and windows malfunctioned.

Too many small problems to list...

General Comments:

I bought this car used in 1999, it had 58,000 miles on it. I drove it for 7 years and probably put 125,000 miles on it. For the most part it was a pretty good ride with normal parts needing replacement like water pumps and alternators, but replacing the transmission TWO times really chapped my hide. I got totally ripped off on the first transmission rebuild by a large and well known Nissan dealership north of Atlanta. The car was paid off and I did not feel like getting wrapped up in another car payment. I paid $3200 for a factory rebuild, with the idea in my head that the authorized service and high price would pay off in the long run by giving me a sturdy transmission that I could rely on for many years. Boy was I wrong. The transmission only lasted 16 months. I did not treat this vehicle rough at all and the thing wore out 4 months after the warranty ran out. Nissan people were not sympathetic at all. Neither the dealership (which I will refuse to name in order to get this warning out) or Nissan headquarters would cut me any slack and refused to assist me at all. I took it to a local shade tree mechanic and he did a rebuild for $1200. I drove it for about a year (until the 2nd transmission warranty almost ran out) then swapped it for a Jeep Grand Wagoneer, which I love.

Along with the transmission problems, there was an exhaust leak that I never would get repaired due to the cost of the repair. Since the bolts that attach the exhaust were broken off in the head, the entire motor was going to have to be removed in order to re-bore the holes and re-attach the exhaust system. Everywhere I took it for an estimate it was over $500, so I just never got it fixed. Every mechanic I took it to said this was a common problem with all Nissan models. A few joked "they come from the factory with an exhaust leak like that."

I never gave this thing a hard time. I do not know why she hated me so. Our relationship finally ended when the exhaust leak progressed to a point where fumes crept into the cabin - causing a gas smell. Passed out at the wheel one morning while driving to work over a mountainous Georgia Highway that crosses the Appalachian Trail. (HWY 75) Awoke just in time to lock down the brakes and come to rest teetering on a ravine so steep that if I would have continued 1 inch further, I would have surely tumbled downward to my death. Not sure if the gasoline odor had anything to do with that incident, but traded the pathfinder nonetheless.

One thing I can say about the Pathfinder however is the motor always ran good. Never leaked or burned one drop of oil the entire time I owned it. Even after I neglected to change the oil for 6 months one time it still registered full on the dipstick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

31st Mar 2006, 09:25

I have a 1994 Nissan Pathfinder, and despite the fact that it is 12 years old I love it. My Pathfinder has only been in the shop one time for a water pump in the four years I have owned it. When you have an older car you should expect that you should have to do repairs to it. Come on was it really that bad? You drove it fo seven years.