1994 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Would buy again if I could find one rust-free

Faults:

The motor ran great. However, it did suffer from the broken exhaust manifold stud problem that is common with these cars. I had to get it repaired as part of the state inspection/emissions requirements. So, both sides had broken studs, requiring them to be drilled out of the head (s). It ended up costing over $700, which was mostly all labor. I think costs will vary depending on the mechanic's ability to get the old studs out.

My car had the adjustable shocks, which actually work; you can tell the difference between sport and soft modes. Soft was way too sloppy for my taste, though. I had to replace the rear coil springs, as the truck would bottom out when even sligthly loaded-even with 3 or 4 passengers. I replaced them myself.

Nothing else went wrong. I took the car loaded with women and children on a 3,000 road trip (round trip) in the car when it had about 145,000 miles on it. At first I was a little worried. It ran great. I had a rare 5 speed model with original clutch. No problems, whatsoever. Automatics are said to have weak transmissions. I have at least 2 friends that needed to replace theirs on cars with less than 100k miles.

The car only had very modest power from the 3.0, even with 5 speed. But, it cruised on the interstate fine and got about 18 mpg.

I think the single worst aspect on this and other Pathfinders I've seen is RUST. Structural rust kills the car far before the engine wants to die. So, for those in the salty road states, be careful. Check underneath, in the area above the muffler and catalytic converter. Also, the frame mounts and lower body.

Once they start rusting, they are on life support.

General Comments:

Great rugged-looking truck. No rattles even with 150k+ miles.

I wouldn't recommend this truck for towing because its already underpowered.

High quality fit and finish on the interior. I had cloth seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

14th Aug 2008, 11:18

I have almost this exact same vehicle (94 SE 3.0 V6 Manual 5-Speed) and love it still. Glad to see that the car will still run past 145,000 -- I'm taking it to college 130 miles away from home with me and was a little nervous about highway. Mileage sounds about right, although a mechanic I know said that fixing the exhaust problem can improve it. All in all this sounds very accurate and I'm glad to see that someone else is as happy with theirs as I am with mine.

6th Jul 2009, 12:03

I am in Canada and I just bought my neighbours 1992 Pathfinder and it runs and looks beautiful, 272000 KMs on it and still ticking. Love it!!

29th May 2010, 19:27

I bought a Nissan Pathfinder SE V6 1994 with 58.000 miles... and no problems yet.

1994 Nissan Pathfinder LE 4x4 3.0L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Overall the 1994 Nissan Pathfinder LE has been a great SUV for me

Faults:

Vehicle has started to rust very badly.

General Comments:

Excellent off road vehicle; although, a locking differential would be nice. The vehicle is very comfortable and handles reasonably well for its size and height. Power is lacking and especially noticeable when towing an 1800LB trailer. Fuel economy is quite poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

1994 Nissan Pathfinder 2.7 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

Pretty good wagon

Faults:

Automatic front left hub wore out. Self destructed actually, with fragments getting into the wheel bearing. Had manual hubs fitted, at half the price of auto ones.

General Comments:

This vehicles goes really well once warmed up. A bit slow on the hills though, especially with the boat or trailer on behind. This is my first diesel, so getting used to the "rattle" has taken a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

1994 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.0L - V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L - V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 kilometres
Most recent distance234000 kilometres

Summary:

Pricey, but reliable

Faults:

A few of the manifold studs have come out which is very noisy and takes away some power. It is very expensive to fix this, but it's a problem every Pathfinder owner has to deal with.

Electrical problems are difficult to diagnose with this vehicle, so you'll have to go to the dealer every now and then.

An odd rattling every time my RPM are around 3,000 along with other squeaks and creaks; I can't find the problem.

Gas is a big issue now that the prices have been going up.

Alternator went, as well as the starter.

Sometimes it won't start with one turn of the key.

Having no cup-holder is annoying at times.

If you leave your window open and something is resting on your dashboard, say goodbye to it if you make a turn because it will fly out the window.

General Comments:

The pathfinder has not let me down. I drive it all the time, which is pretty expensive. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone trying to save money because although many things don't go wrong, when something does, it's costs a lot of money to fix. Gas is also expensive, and it goes through a lot.

The vehicle has a nice shape; rugged yet sleek. The chrome highlights really make it look nice. If you keep it clean, and make sure rust doesn't take over, you'll love it.

The vehicle, as any other, has it's problems. The big issue is that the Pathfinder's problems are expensive to fix.

The four-wheel drive is wonderful, but you have to keep using it or it will seize up on you. Once a week I'll put it in four-wheel drive and drive down my street, or if it's raining hard I'll use it.

If you don't have the money to maintain this vehicle, don't bother buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

23rd Nov 2003, 13:47

The four wheel drive will NOT "seize up" if not used, as you say. I have no idea where you get that information from, but it's bunk. Using it once in a while is a good idea, but it doesn't have to be done.

12th Dec 2003, 22:33

My 1994 Pathfinder has been extremely reliable, for which I am very thankful, even though I don't give it the maintenence it deserves. The biggest problems that I've had are with the exhaust manifold studs breaking (anyone know why?) and the four wheel drive is little difficult to engage unless the vehicle is at a stop. It used to go into 4-high at normal driving speed. It does burn a lot of gas for such anemic engine performance, but over all I can't complain too much seeing that in the 6 plus years I've been driving it I've only replaced the timing belt, two manifold bolts, one interior light bulb, one battery, and 4 tires.

1994 Nissan Pathfinder SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Very nice car

Faults:

At 134000 miles the alternator burned up and the doughnut gasket had a bad leak which caused a very annoying clicking noise. Wiring problem that won't let my alarm turn on right.

General Comments:

This is a great SUV. It is great through mud and snow. Very luxurious on the inside. I would recommend buying this car to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1994 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0 petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A good solid SUV

Faults:

Exhaust manifold bolts broke costing a few hundred dollars to repair. This is a recognized problem with the Pathfinder of this era, but no secret warranty (if there is, it's very secret).

Interior dome light would come on intermittently. Repaired, but source of problem was unknown.

A whine (disconcerting rather than annoying) in 5th gear. Too expensive to find out the cause, but no obvious ill-effects.

General Comments:

Very good on road and off-road performance. Well-protected with skid plates for off-road.

Engine is a bit underpowered, including low-end pulling power, but this is not a major problem. Shift-on-the-fly is a bit antiquated and inconvenient. I always stopped to do this.

Minor complaint - lack of cup holders.

On the positive side, the car was reliable, withstood a lot of abuse off road (for a production model), handled well, came with a good options package and was comparatively cheap compared to its Japanese competition - the 4-Runner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

19th Jul 2003, 03:14

I own a 95 Pathfinder and the door ajar sensor inside the hatch door was not grounding properly. After sanding off a little rust, it operated flawlessly.

26th Feb 2007, 17:03

I have read almost all of the comments on the pathfinder and as someone very interested in getting one how many would suggest it or suggest something else.

Thanks for the input I don't have the money to get this wrong.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews