2000 Nissan Pathfinder Reviews

2000 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.3 V6 SOCH from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 SOCH Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance255000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Great used car; better new

Faults:

I got this car used, and I mean very used, but from one owner for a bargain, since I'm in college and on a tight budget.

Right off the bat, the windshield needed to be replaced, which was $200.

The ball joints and real axle needed to also be replaced, which was $1000.

The ATF fluid was changed, which was $200, along with the oil and filter.

Brakes were serviced, which was about $150.

It came with almost new all season tires, which are good.

I did some reading around, and this model Nissan was made in Japan.

The 3.3L engine has proven to be a little more reliable than the 3.5L in the newer models after 2000.

Maintenance records were not the greatest, but rust proofing was done, so there is minimal rust, and these things rust a lot from what I have heard.

Bumper was damaged by a hit'n'run, so it doesn't look as good.

General Comments:

I like the way the car looks and runs, the gold color is my favorite, it's tough as nails, and the functionality is great, space and comfort. Since I bought this used, I had to clean the seats, but they came out decent.

If you have the money, buy a Pathfinder new, or if used, make sure you know the owner or get the history cleared first. Other than that, these are great SUVs if you don't mind the poor gas mileage, but don't get this if you are trying to save on gas; get a hybrid or a Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2010

30th Nov 2010, 13:22

These are very dependable SUVs that'll go 300,000 miles very easily. Just make sure that the timing belt and water pump are changed every 100,000 miles, along with the cam seals and you will have a SUV that'll last a long time with very minimal upkeep.

17th Dec 2010, 00:56

Thanks for the follow-up comment. I agree that Pathfinders are overall amazing autos, and now with snowfall recently here in Canada, I have tested the 4 wheel drive in the High position, and it didn't slip at all.

I'm saving to change the water-pump and timing-belt, as well as the cam seals and filters for the cabin and engine, since they need to be replaced ASAP.

When I got this several months ago, the air conditioning was not working, which I was told, but I think it's just a matter of replacing the freon or recharging the AC system, which is not that complicated, maybe something I can do myself.

2000 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Best car/truck I have ever owned!

Faults:

Other than typical maintenance, the truck has been extremely reliable and has not given me any trouble at all. Exterior is still in great shape, even though it has never been garaged, and the interior has endured a lot of wear and tear and still looks great.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I have ever owned.

It has been very reliable as well as a great performer.

My only complaint is that the gas mileage could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2009

2000 Nissan Pathfinder LE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance88900 miles
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

Hard to believe an SUV can be so reliable

Faults:

Muffler bracket replaced at 45,000.

General Comments:

Runs purrfect, no complaints at all except I wish gas mileage was higher.

Nice comfortable ride.

Have been on four 3,000 mile trips.

Handles well in snow. We use the 4 wheel drive every winter where we live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2008

2000 Nissan Pathfinder 99.5 SE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Nissan = Rust

Faults:

Rust.

And Rust.

And More Rust.

General Comments:

The body is in great condition because I took care of it.

The engine is still in great condition because I took care of it.

The interior is in great condition because I took care of it.

The chassis is so rusted even though it was in a garage it's entire life?

Apparently BOTH of the strut towers rusted through to the chassis and actually ripped away from the car. The whole front end was inches away from collapsing, but luckily I heard strange sounds and brought it in to the closest garage.

I contacted Nissan directly and they could care less. That is not what is shocking to me. They have a garbage product and they know it so they see me as the sucker who bought it... fine.

I'm still in shock that I spent that amount of money and it will never be driven again.. in just 7 years. I understand that's not exactly new, but it's pretty pathetic and it's a good enough reason for me to never buy a Nissan again.

It's a good enough reason to paint NISSAN = RUST on my new car because that's what I just did this week. I plan to drive it through Times Square at least 3 times a week for as long as I live in Manhattan. It's the least I could for all of the potential suckers out there who might buy a Nissan.

If anyone is interested in telling me your rusty Nissan story you can email me at nissansrust@gmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2007

15th Apr 2010, 18:36

I agree, Nissan = Rust, too bad, other than that it's a great SUV, I own one, I love it, I just hate to see it rust, and rust.

4th Aug 2010, 00:47

I have had several Nissan trucks over the years and have never had any problems with rust. Granted I live in Lake Havasu Arizona, possibly the hottest and most dry spot in the US!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews