1999 Nissan Patrol ST 4.2 litre turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An absolutely awesome off roader with reliability and practicality

General Comments:

This car is rocket proof. It's absolutely excellent in every regard. It is incredible off road, and for a 4wd on full live axles, it handles very well on road as well.

This car requires next to no maintenance and is extremely easy to service at home. It is so simple, and it is also very practical, but the performance could be better; although it can be forgiven with 114kw trying to move 2.3 tons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2008

20th Sep 2009, 08:33

Hi My name is Glen, I am trying to decide to buy A Toyota land cruiser 1999 model & a Nissan Patrol same year. Is the Nissan automatic a good towing wagon, I'm looking at 4.2 diesel & a 4.5 liter petrol Nissan engines. What do you think the fuel consumption would be like on the Nissan Patrol, both petrol & diesel. I would be very interested in your comments, & any pointers you might have. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Glen Wilkinson.

22nd Sep 2009, 02:38

Glen,

The original post was over a year ago, so it's unlikely you'll get a response from the original reviewer. Google "GQ patrol 4.2 or 4.5 economy" and you'll come up with many forum discussions on patrol fuel economy. Repeat for discussions about reliability, etc.

People with the 3.0 diesel are getting 12-14L/100km combined, so the 4.2 is going to be 10-20% more.

1999 Nissan Patrol 260 high roof short bed 2.7 turbo diesel from Portugal

Summary:

A good off-road, a bit out dated

Faults:

On the delivery, I've noticed some minor defaults, such as bolts, plastic caps, mirrors and the attachment of the body to the frame. All of these problems were solved by the dealer fast and at no costs.

The air conditioner "died" at 5.000 km, after that, and for almost three years have been repaired and recharged with gas by several dealers. The last time, in September of 2002, finally worked out.

At 90.000 km the bolts of the fuel pump went loose and I've almost lost it.

Vacuum pump at 110.000 km. This result on a damaged servo pump as well.

The head lights commuter had to be replaced three times.

The wipers broke at 120.000 km.

Actually the driver's seat is wearing badly and the rust is attacking the body, mainly the back doors.

General Comments:

The car is a bit out dated, since it was first produced in the late 70's (160 versions). The 260 was built in Spain, and this late versions didn't have the quality of the early 90's ones.

The car has a good performance off-road, with only two problems. It's a little low and the long rear, specially with the spare wheel beneath is a handicap.

This engine, 2.7 turbo diesel (100 hp), is the best suited for this car, not as powerful as the 3.0 petrol or the 6 cylinder turbo diesel, but much faster than the diesel atmospherics 2.8 (4 or 6 cylinder) and much more economical.

The handling is fair, just beware of wet pavements.

The maintenance can't be ignored, as there are many things to be checked, adjusted and lubricated.

The comfort is quite bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2004

23rd Oct 2005, 18:36

Hello.

I have a problem and I need someones help. I own a Nissan Patrol 1998, 2.8 Turbo Diesel inter cooler Engine. The Diesel Pump failed and I can't find a site that sells it on line. Can anybody send me a link to an on-line store that sells this?

My email is griverahn@gmail.com.

Thank you very much.

Gabriel Rivera

Miami Fl.

USA.

1999 Nissan Patrol ST 2.8 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I bought it to last, but it's crap

Faults:

1. Shimmering or shaking throughout the car.

2. Faulty brakes.

3. Gearbox jumping out of third gear.

4. At 60000kms, overheating.

5. Under dash rattles.

6. Seat belt clunks as you change gear.

7. Heat coming into cabin (unable to fix) - their answer, use air-conditioner.

8. Clips to hold rear seats cracked.

9. Faulty tyres.

10. Exhaust problems.

General Comments:

1. Whenever there was a problem, the dealers give you the brush off.

2. I have lost around 20 days off work with no compensation from Nissan, not even another car to get around in. They don't even help you to get home when you drop the car off; all of this is your own expense.

3. In a lot of cases, the problems are still going, and it seems to take them three months to repair the problems

4. Others have the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

21st Jun 2003, 04:34

The 2.8 litre engine is certainly a heap of underpowered you know what.

15th Nov 2004, 07:12

I own a 99 st patrol 2.8td and get a lot of shuttering when you take off quickly at intersections turning 90 degrees, and a lot of turbo lag through gear changes. Otherwise I've done 130,000kms and haven't had a problem. Off road it seems to out do the 80 & 100 series land cruiser. Also on the highway it has better overtaking speeds then most 4x4's I've driven. I have put my patrol through some pretty tuff terrain and it has never failed to impress. All over not a bad truck.

18th Feb 2008, 23:34

180,000km and ours is still going strong. Have replace the clutch and rebuilt the gearbox at 160,000km. We tow a 1.5t boat and it has no trouble towing it. It is not drag car, but goes bloody well if you know how to drive it.

20th Oct 2009, 21:58

I bought a 2000 Patrol new in Queensland with the ZD 30 motor.

Around 25 thousand K, the dual mass fly went, and after much reluctance Nissan replaced it. Brought it back to New Zealand and at 200 thousand k the motor has blown. No3 piston has a hole thru the top, valves had it, injectors worn out already. Possibly the injector pump has gone as well.

I bought this wagon thinking that it would last. No such luck. They are just a pile of crap.

Nissalusioned New Zealand.

1999 Nissan Patrol GU DX LWB 4.2 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A supremely capable off road vehicle straight out of the showroom

Faults:

Dealer fitted winch badly corroded due to being fitted upside down and unable to drain water (no choice as the Nissan approved bullbar only allows the Nissan approved winch to be fitted upside down).

Some dust leakage at the rear barn doors.

General Comments:

+ points.

Excellent off road. Good wheel articulation, good approach and departure angles, excellent LSD in rear axle, live axles front & rear, 1000km+ range on standard fuel tanks.

Reasonable on road. Comfortable seats and driving position, not much body roll, good view in traffic.

Excellent value for money.

- points.

Only one reverse light.

Rear plastic bumper ends are weak and easily damaged off road.

Some rattles and squeaks have developed.

Rear barn doors leak a bit of dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2001