Nissan Platina Reviews

2004 Nissan Platina from Mexico

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carNissan Platina

Summary:

Love problems? Buy this!!!

Faults:

Something is wrong with a sensor inside the transmission, that makes most of these cars accelerate themselves, and they cannot be operated until turned off and restarted again.

Plus they are not NISSAN, they are RENAULT with a fake Nissan logo on them, they truly suck!!!

General Comments:

If you love problems, BUY THIS CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2010

20th Sep 2011, 12:38

Every time I fix a part on this car, there is another problem, and no one seems to know about this car. Why will Nissan allow them to use their logo? This sucks. Now I'm left with garbage in my drive way.

Sad in Florida.

1st May 2012, 13:52

I have the very same problems with my Nissan Platina 2003; same transmission problem.

I'm always replacing something on the engine. I have a problem right now. There is a part on the engine under the breather that's leaking the water out. Is that the water pump? Can someone tell me please; the mechanic does not know, and I need to order the part. I've spent more money on this car than I paid for it.

2003 Nissan Platina A 1.6 from Mexico

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Serena

Summary:

I recommend it to nobody

Faults:

I have to change the following:

6 bobbins before 20000km.

Water pump and belt at 40000km.

Battery at 43000km.

Hydraulic direction at 50000km.

2 tires before 55000 km.

Engine support before 55000km.

I never had any accident with this car.

Windows started to squeeze cause of loose supports.

General Comments:

This care is very expensive to repair, but it is fast and comfortable.

I was not told that it has a Renault platform when I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2007

24th Feb 2012, 10:10

It's called Renault Clio, and it sucks. Nissan made a very big mistake with their partnership with the french dog Renault.

2003 Nissan Platina 1.6 from Dominican Republic

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance30600 kilometres
Previous carNissan Platina

Summary:

Runs excellent, while is started

Faults:

This car has difficulties starting, sometimes.

It takes minutes for starting when it fails, but when starts, runs excellent.

Very secure, good safety system.

General Comments:

It should be check by expert mechanics, and is hard to solve the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

15th Oct 2007, 11:27

Where can I find Automatic Transmission for a 2005 Platina.

Help_________________ Please help call Billy 956-459-8449.

14th May 2008, 20:47

I bought my Nissan Platina 2003 in 2004. In one week the gas came out of the air conditioning. It had the first year problems with starting. It stood still after fifteen meters from my house. The coils made this happen. And a car hit me from the left. I lost count the times the Nissan Platina left me standing beside the road.

The aircon broke down in 2007 (evaporator). I had to have the coils changed more than twice in four years. First was a gift by the garage, they changed two of them. I paid more than 1100 guilders (about 550 dollars). I had to put a lot of gas for the aircon.

WHY DO NISSAN does not show any understanding? It is a RENAULT CLIO, but why with so much trouble???

I like the car when it drives, and a whole year with NO problems. WHEN WHEN

Tine Bombeeck from curacao Dutch Antilles.

11th Nov 2008, 15:12

I am the second owner of the car it's a Nissan Platina 2003. I have a big issue with my starter and I can't really find it, and it costs a lot of money in Haiti to get that. What else can I do to solve that issue? I wanna drive my car as I like it.

Could somebody help me find that starter and the automatic transmission please?

My email address is eazyface@gmail.com.

12th Sep 2010, 15:36

Where can I find a transmission computer for an automatic Nissan Platina 2003???

22nd Nov 2010, 14:58

Well just bought a 32,000 KM (20K Miles), 2003 Platina, runs like a charm at first. The dealer gave it the 40K mandatory timing belt change and checkup for free. Only thing I think they forgot to change is the spark plug coils; those have about the same life expectancy as the timing belt, they replaced it for free of course. They also replaced the A/C condenser..

What I still want to fix is the way way low RPMs while idle at mid engine temp. The tachometer says around 400RPMs, which I think it's too low, this causes some rattling while idle, could the engine control computer be re-programmed to up the RPMs?

Yes, spends bit less gas at those low RPMs, but it's too much rattling.

3rd Jan 2011, 12:03

I just got the news about my Platina 2003. They say the timing belt need to be changed at 60000 and I have 72000.

Please let me know if everyone thinks this is correct.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews